User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Hammersmith Ram, Hammersmith, W6

81 King Street
W6
W6 9HW
Phone: 02087484511

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Hammersmith Ram

Not much to add to the descriptions below. Only Youngs Original and Special on when I called. I went for the original at £5.50. I didn't really take to this pub. A couple of odd characters didn't help. It opens at 10 which is a plus if you are about early. Little beer choice and twice the price of the Spoons would make it a quick visit for me!

On 27th April 2023 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1671 recommendations about 1570 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Hammersmith Ram

Originating in the 18th century as the Great Angel, taking the name of the Builders Arms in 1966 from a former local pub, the current name applied in 1996, to a building rebuilt in 1930.
It’s now a very modern affair internally, with walls of rough white plaster and some bare brick, with exposed RSJs. What is original, is the use of coarse compressed chipboard applied to the whole ceiling; this is the same stuff used to board pubs up; hideous (see photo). A good impression of the pub’s interior can be seen on the website’s gallery, except of course the ceiling, for good reason. Furniture is ‘zoned’, there’s a dartboard (possibly decorative), pot plants and hanging ferns for décor, with lighting coming from hanging metal lamps and sconces with filament bulbs; customers were mixed and in a fair number.
An unsurprising ale choice amounted to Special, London Original and Winter Warmer at £2.65 a half and quite nice, once warmed up, somewhat ironically.
This is a bland pub, not helped by the ceiling. Is it better than the Salutation? Probably, but it’s downhill from here as you make your way back to the Tube.

On 30th November 2021 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2009 recommendations about 1975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hammersmith Ram

Just what you would expect from a Youngs town-centre pub - nothing too exciting, but a well-maintained establishment with reasonable beer. However, the bar staff aren't always too clued-up about who to serve next and which sort of glass to use for each drink. Although it is a reasonably-sized pub, the layout is a bit cramped because the narrow frontage leads to a long, thin building with two main rooms joined by a narrow-ish opening located just where everybody needs to stand to get served. A few small tables can also be found at the front. Four handpumps in each half of the bar, typically offering Ordinary and Special plus one or two others, e.g. Proper Job and Twickenham Grandstand (£5.15, ouch!) on my latest visit.

On 22nd April 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Hammersmith Ram

The structure of the pub is pretty much as described by the previous reviewer, but it sounds as if the decor has changed quite dramatically since then. The interior has nothing of heritage value in it now that I saw. It's clearly been extended to the rear, with a smallish outside drinking, and presumably smoking, area to the side of the building. The furnishings are a mix of sofas, banquettes with cushions, and some cheap looking tables with metal framed chairs. There's also a tall table at the centre of the room at the front wrapped round some pillars, with a pile of games at its centre. There were eight tall stools accompanying it.

The dark wood panelling and false ceiling beams appear to have been given the heave-ho. Everything is distressed looking, including the floorboards and window frames - although the bay windows on the left facing Angel Walk are still an attractive feature. Of course there's plenty of exposed brickwork of the appearance suggesting that it was never intended to be seen by human eye. There was also a new one on me - a chipboard ceiling in the front room. I've never even seen that even in an Antic pub.

This is still a Young's pub apparently, which is a good thing bearing in mind the ancient Young's signage on the exterior. Predictably the beers included Young's Bitter and Special, with a couple of guests in Wimbledon Pitbull, some rugby themed 4.5% ale, and St Austell Proper Job at £2.50 a half. I thought that I had misheard the barmaid at first, but she confirmed that I hadn't. Being a Young's pub they do food at weekday lunchtimes. The "Venison and apple burger, Peri Las blue cheese, mayo, tomato, little gem lettuce, fries" is 13.50, and the steal & Young's ale pie, seasonal veg and gravy is 15 (or £15.00 presumably).

I didn't take to this place much. I didn't like the prices (I know, I am in London), nor the modernist decor. I suspect that it might have cost a fortune to make a place look like this.

On 12th March 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Hammersmith Ram

This is a very long and deep pub, presumably extended to the rear. Due to this and despite windows to the side as well as each end, the interior is rather dark, areas of the walls have dark wood panelling and there are a number of fake blackened ceiling beams. The pub is basically one continuous space but is partially separated into what feels like three distinct sections with the bar running between the front and middle areas. I did a bit of tooing and froing between the front and middle attempting to understand the best spot for getting served as the barmaid appeared to randomly select people and go from one spot to another but I did get there in the end. The beers are from Youngs, nothing to excite, just Ordinary Bitter, Special, London Gold and Bombardier on during my visit.
There is an extensive food menu which never suggests freshly prepared, "Wee Bites", "Sarnies", wraps, baked spuds, mains, separate burger menu etc. Bangers and mash £8.45, BLT £5.50. Wines are listed on a chalkboard over the bar.
Decor includes various old portraits, cartoons and caricatures. Various tools and a stepladder were lying around too but I doubt this was some sort of modern art exhibition. Flooring is wooden of differing types and the seating is mixed with standard issue, plain wooden benches and sofas being the main options.
At the far rear doors lead to a small patio area with seating and some cover.
I didn't really take to this pub but I struggle to describe why as there is no one thing I can point too and blame, it just felt a bit below standard in many areas. When I lived not too far away in the 80s this was a solid if unspectacular Young's house called The Builder's Arms, I think I preferred it back then.

On 10th February 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Hammersmith Ram

Fairly comfortable long, narrow Youngs pub - if somewhat tired and grubby around the edges. Service was a bit slow even though there were very few customers at the time of our visit. Nevetheless the beers were well kept and the three different ales we all sampled were spot-on, if a tad expensive. OK for a pint if passing but I wouldn't want a session here.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Hammersmith Ram

Once a regular pre-Odeon (as it was) haunt when it was known as the Builders Arms, this Youngs pub has undergone some significant changes internally but is still a pretty decent place that has resisted the temptation to get over-trendy like some of the neighbours.

The original 2 bars have been opened up into 1 long knocked through bar albeit with 3 distinctive areas. The décor and furnishings are still quite pubby although the great sofa invasion has infiltrated into the central section along with a few potted plants. The King Street end is the most basic with bare floors and rugs and several theatre posters on the walls (the Lyric Theatre is virtually opposite). The far end is a bit more dining orientated and there is a cosy recess with some settles and a fine brick fireplace. Outside is a small terrace with a canopy.

The service can be a bit slow when it’s busy but the customer base is generally from the no-nonsense end of the market and the place is usually a hassle free environment. My main problem with the place is that Young’s rarely venture beyond their own range of ales which I find quite dull and the Ram is no different. Prices are also a bit steeper than I would expect and I wouldn’t make the place an extended session but it is still fine for a quick few before moving on which is pretty much what I have been doing here for many years.

On 4th May 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Hammersmith Ram

This is how the Salutation should have been, a far more pubby feel even if has clearly been tinkered with a bit. Interior has three distinctive areas with wood tones in abundance. Usual Youngs range and good Winter Warmer was had but at £1.73 for a half I would expect a gold-plated pint glass. This same beer was selling for a pound in the Spoons just down the road! Worth a stop if you happen to be nearby for a swift one.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5185 recommendations about 5168 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Hammersmith Ram

I had a few pints in the Ram on the Thursday before Good Friday and it was surprisingly quiet, especially as Hammersmith seemed quite busy.
I hadn't been to the Ram for about 7 years, but it was as I remembered it and is still one of the few pubs in Hammersmith that I do not have to be dragged into kicking and screaming.

If you are unfortunate enough to find yourself gasping for a beer in Hammersmith you should check out the Ram, or better still get on a bus and go somewhere else!

On 11th April 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5303 recommendations about 5271 pubs]