User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Virtual Great British Beer Festival 2020 with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Blue Anchor, Hammersmith, W6

13 Lower Mall
W6
W6 9DJ
Phone: 02087485774

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Blue Anchor

Riverside pub, featuered on the end crdits of Minder, its a magnet for people wanting to drink by the river. Beer is ok.

On 1st July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Blue Anchor

Curiosity brought us to have a look inside this pub, especially the rear lounge area, as it had been used in the TV drama New Tricks on several occasions. This was a friendly and laidback sort of pub, with a nautical theme. Four handpumps with three beers on our visit, which were TT Landlord, Purity UBU and the house beer named Blue Anchor surprisingly, and was brewed by Nelson.

On 24th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Blue Anchor

Dating from 1722,I warmed to this pub with it's traditional exterior,pleasing interior and situation right on the Thames towpath,benches outside for good weather.The curved front window has a drinking shelf with some old handpumps attached,while to the right side there is an impressive Courage mirror,while elsewhere wood panelling exists.The serving bar is to the front while there is a discrete rear snug around the back.I glanced at the food menu as cooking smells were wafting about and it looked interesting with acceptable pricing for the area with mains £12-16.
The bar supports 4 handpumps offering house Blue Anchor Bitter brewed by Nelson,Portobello APA(in good shape) while clips for TT Landlord and Purity Mad Goose were sadly reversed.Had all options been available that would have been a decent selection.
I would return for the friendly welcome and traditional feel,well worth a stop on the Thames Path.

On 13th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2058 recommendations about 2058 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Blue Anchor

Small but very popular (i.e. cramped) pub in a fine spot on the Thames just west of Hammersmith Bridge, so getting a seat outside on the river terrace (not easy) is a bonus. The interior is semi-traditional, with rowing memorabilia being the main feature. Landlord, Purity Mad Goose and Wimbledon Copper Leaf red rye (£4.80) available from three of the four handpumps on this visit. Pretty good, but go at a quieter time if you can.

On 22nd April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6086 recommendations about 6086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Blue Anchor

A prominent spot on the Thames just a few yards away from Hammersmith Bridge, this may be familiar to viewers of BBC’s “New Tricks” as the sleuthing detectives would often retire here after successfully solving the case.

Although quite traditional looking from the outside, it is perhaps a little more contemporary internally than I had imagined with sanded wooden boards on the floor, cream paintwork on the walls and a deep salmon shade on the ceiling. Elsewhere was khaki green paint on the timberwork and some dark wood panelling to the left. A small snug at the rear was a cosy spot with lemon yellow walls and an old tiled fireplace with a wood burning stove. Several stools were along the front of the pub to sit at the window and make the most of the outlook. As befits it’s location, various nautical artefacts were dotted around including a couple of whole canoes on the ceiling, a few old drawings of the river, various oars in all shapes and sizes and even a couple of anchors. For a change, there did not appear to be a glass display case with a selection of knots. A further room was upstairs, although we did not investigate this.

Beers on tap were Nelson’s Blue Anchor Ale, Truman’s Blindside, Five Points’ Railway Porter and Wimbledon’s Copper Leaf Ale. The solitary cider meanwhile was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 11th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Blue Anchor

A well located riverside pub,an L shaped room with a fair amount of dark wood in evidence and the previously described rowing paraphernalia, three beers were on from the four handpumps, on a Monday lunchtime visit, Exile Urban Fox, Portobello APA and Cronx Nektar. I decided to try a pint of the latter which turned out to be rather unremarkable, what was remarkable was the £4.80 I was charged for the pleasure.
The Anchor may have potentially a more interesting beer choice than The Dove just along the river, but doesn't share its charm and at these prices for a frankly ordinary 4.5% beer I don't intend to be back too soon.

On 1st October 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Blue Anchor

Originally licenced as The Blew Anchor in 1722, this former Courage house is the oldest pub on the Hammersmith river walk, The Dove's licence dating from only the 1790s! This is quite a traditional pub with some lovely dark wood panelling and fine Courage regalia stating that wine is delivered direct from the docks. Furniture is mixed and not surprisingly for the area, the walls and ceilings are covered with rowing paraphernalia, such as sculls, blades, propellers, rudders and the like. There wasn't any music playing but noise levels were high due to the acoustics and the pub being rather full; the crowd here seemed much older and I don't know if they are perhaps from local rowing clubs.
Ales: Mad Squirrel's American Pale Ale, Nelson Brewing Co's Blue Anchor Ale, Binghams Brewery's Twyford Tipple and Wimbledon Brewery's Tower SPA at a steep £2.30 a half. This beer is described as 'Fruit, floral spice and orange on the aroma lead on to a full, rounded middle palate. It is completed with a satisfying bittersweet finish.' Perhaps my half was off, but to me it tasted of stilton, a similar taste I experienced in a pint of Hopback's Winter Lightning a few months ago.

Beer query aside, in many ways we preferred this to The Dove and it's certainly streets ahead of The Rutland next door. I'd certainly head here if in W6 and would have given a higher rating if a dog hadn't been wandering around underfoot and my half hadn't tasted cheesy.

On 22nd April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 959 recommendations about 944 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Blue Anchor

As it was empty of customers you can see its a bit tired décor wise but still an interesting pub.4 beers Nelson -blue anchor ale, Portobello -star,Sambrookes -junction and my Itchen Valley -belgarum which was good.Nautical but nice.

On 2nd February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Blue Anchor

Decent and regularly changing ales which are kept well but dispensed by somewhat miserable staff. In my opinion marginally better than the Rutland Arms next door, although probably even more expensive, if you can put up with the more mature members of the rowing club next door who seem to noisily dominate the bar. As with the Rutland Arms, why come here when the Dove is just along the riverbank?

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Blue Anchor

I usually stop off here when doing this bit of the Thames path as, along with the Rutland Arms next door , there is usually a beer on worth trying.
The pub has already been well described by previous reviewers and my feelings are in line with theirs. Best visited on a pleasant sunny day and if you can get a seat on the River Terrace.
Four hand pumps going and along with the ubiquitous Doombar these included Sambrook’s Wandle and one from the Oxfordshire Ales microbrewery on my last visit.

On 9th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]

Page: 1 2