User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Green Man, W2

308 Edgware Road
W2
W2 1DY
Phone: 02077237980

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about The Green Man

As described below with 3 real ales on

On 30th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2645 recommendations about 2588 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Green Man

Corner pub located beside the Bakerloo Line Edgware Road station, madeover inside to look like a gastro-pub but with a restricted burger-based menu. It also operates as a hostel using the upper floors but certainly isn't seedy as such places often are. With tennis on a large screen at one end and the open kitchen at the other, there was plenty going on, and there was a good atmosphere with a mostly young crowd. Disappointingly, only Sambrook's Session (£4.60) was available from the trio of handpumps, because it otherwise made a better impression than I was expecting.

On 29th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Green Man

A first in here the other night and the evening's final pub of our mini crawl.
A pub by this name dates back to 1720 but was rebuilt in 1867 with much external finery such as pink granite, all of which can be seen from Paddington Green Police Station, Britain's highest security police station which looms over the pub to the west. Internally it's not big. There's no bar back as such and it has a nasty square section tubular steel hanging gantry. It's modern bare boarded with a grey colour scheme with some dark wood wall panelling to waist height. The walls are decorated with eclectic prints and furniture is mixed. The Kaiser Chiefs wafted out over the gramophone at a level which was a little too loud for comfort. Clients seem to be a bit transient which is no surprise given the slightly depressing area, along with some possibly lapsed Muslims (this area is pretty much home to the UK's biggest Arabic community).
Ales: Hogsback's TEA, G2 Brewing's Orion, Truman's Runner, Sambrook's Wandle and Wimbledon's Copper Leaf at an increasingly reasonable £2.20 a half and in good nick.
Although it was a surprise to find five ales in a pub in this area, on balance this was the low point of our evening's mini crawl and despite the good selection of ales and relative value for money, this place just isn't my thing - as John says: a bit bland but also in a location that I avoid when possible, though I consider the Publove ethos admirable.

On 1st March 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 929 recommendations about 916 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Green Man

Not a great pub but nice enough anda bit bland with decent cask.Open plan kitchen at the front.Wimbledon -copper leaf,Exeter -lighterman,Beer Monkey -blond rogue and Dorking red india on cask

On 25th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 913 recommendations about 901 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Green Man

On my visit there were 6 real ales on, most of them local. The chelsea blonde was in very good form and was £3.30 a pint. A fairly good pub for real ale.

On 14th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2037 recommendations about 2018 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Green Man

Next to edgeware road tube. 3 real ales and food served.

On 1st November 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2645 recommendations about 2588 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Green Man

There was only Greene King Abbot Ale on, with another pump unused during my visit, and although I saw a barman pulling it through, the clip wasn't turned round to the front. It was possibly GKIPA. The Abbot cost £1.75 for a half, which is a bit over the top I would say. Externally the pub looks really attractive with its original brown marble pillars and facing still remaining in all their glory. Inside it’s a different story, with the only remnants of its no doubt glorious past being the cast iron columns complete with ornate scrolled capitals, and the pillars in the bar back. Heavy metal being played at high volume (and what other level would it be played at?) destroyed any hope of a quiet drink. Furnishings consisted largely of tall tables coupled with what looked like very uncomfortable tall and narrow solid wooden stools, but with a few normal tables and chairs. Edgware Road isn’t the best place for pubs with its largely immigrant population, and this one fits the area perfectly, being pretty characterless. I doubt whether I’ll pay a return visit.

On 24th October 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]