User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Victoria, W2

10A Strathearn Place
W2
W2 2NH

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Victoria

Fuller’s pub located on a corner giving the interior a quirky shape. Proper old style fixtures and fittings with many ornate features and a real fire.

On 23rd October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Victoria

A brief visit found the pub thankfully much as it was last time. Drank a very good pint of Dark Star Hophead in a little recessed area which had some old picture tiles on the wall. Only 7-10 minutes from Paddington station and really should be the default ‘one before the train’ stop-off if you can make time, it’s such a beauty – and great beer too.

October 2014
Architecturally interesting wedge-shaped Fullers outlet (CAMRA heritage listed) with a stucco-esque exterior. A nice bit of Victorian-era character inside - full-length wood panelling, outstanding ornate servery (including brass spirit dispensers and mirrored bar back), impressive gilded mirrors, gorgeous fireplaces, etched windows etc (see the comprehensive reviews below). Full Fullers range on the pumps, my ESB (usual bell-weather beer for whether it’s a *really* good Fullers outlet) was fair. Pretty busy on my Saturday evening visit, we had to sit outside and even then it was leaning against a wall (I wasn’t aware of there being an upstairs area, which from reading other reviews sounds pretty good - if and when it’s open). Well-worth a visit but best to pick a quiet time in order to soak up the interior properly. Rated 8

On 10th September 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Victoria

Great Sunday lunch venue. I have been twice in 2017 and the food has been beyond great both times, especially the roast beef. That along with a decent selection of Fullers brews makes the Victoria my new favourite Sunday lunch pub whilst in London.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Victoria

A big Victorian corner V shaped pub owned by Fullers. It's genuine and pleasant with some good original features like a gorgeous barback, fireplaces, a decent ceiling and panelling. There's also some tiling, inset miniatures and mirrors. The staff and beer are quite good too.

On 12th June 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Victoria

I always score high when visiting a National Heritage pub and the Victoria is an extremely good example. My Pride was in tip top condition, which also made my visit a good one. We called on a Sunday afternoon, so the pub was moderately busy with locals. We sat at the far end of the bar and soon struck up conversion with one of the local gents. The funny memory I have from here is that the gent we were talking to asked if we lived round here, ha!

On 8th February 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Victoria

This Fullers house, located down the backstreets between Paddington and Lancaster Gate stations, is a fine example of a well preserved Victorian era pub. Consisting of a single room interior in an unusual shape created by the building’s corner position, it’s difficult to pick out the pub’s star attraction. The wood panelled walls, some of which have faded military themed images painted on them, are certainly in with a shout, as are the series of large, elaborately decorated mirrors. The windows have some excellent, intricate etching except for the one in the front corner which has a modern Fullers logo. At one end of the room is another period feature – a fireplace decorated with images of Victoria, Albert and their children, with another large mirror above. For me though, the highlight is the servery, which not only boasts a wonderful bar back with more beautiful glasswork and a clock dating it back to 1864, but a counter with high integral lamps and some wonderful brass water dispensers, the likes of which I can’t recall seeing in any other pub. The room, as might be expected, is bare boarded and has seating areas at either end with a narrow stretch between, running past the servery. Seating comes in the form of banquettes, sturdy benches and low stools and with space at a premium, it’s not unusual to find yourself sharing tables with others. There is some modern floral wallpaper in places which has been partly covered with various pictures of Queen Victoria. Signs pointed upstairs to the Theatre and Library bars, which I didn’t explore, and plenty of customers had spilled out onto the pavement where additional bench seating can be found.
Five Fullers ales were available on my visit – London Pride, ESB, Chiswick, Discovery and the seasonal brew, Sticky Wicket (£3.95). Having worked my way past the almost impenetrable line of bar blockers, I was eventually served a lovely pint of the Sticky Wicket by a very friendly barmaid. Plenty of people were enjoying food in the main bar and portions looked pretty good.
This pub is well worth seeking out as the interior is a real treat. It was packed both inside and out when I visited and seems rightly popular. It’s not a part of town I find myself in often, but I’d happily make some effort to return.

On 21st September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Victoria

Situated on a street corner north of Hyde Park, and only a short stroll from Paddington Station, is The Victoria, a pub so named because, allegedly, Queen Victoria dropped in here on her way to opening Paddington Station.

An unusual looking curved white washed interior with a slight Art Deco look leads into a smallish single room which is perhaps smaller than we might have expected. It’s a Victorian pub which features a fine ornate wood and mirrored bar back behind a curved bar counter and, on the far wall, further large decorative and gilded mirrors. The bar counter has brass fittings with globe lights and several brass water dispenses for diluting spirits, no longer in use obviously.

The area immediately in front of the bar is narrow with room only for bar stools and not tables, but the area opens out at the curved ends of the bar to provide traditionally furnished seating areas and banquettes around the edges. Of particular note is a fine fireplace above which is a framed print of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. Opposite the bar, at its narrowest part, are some wooden framed prints of old soldiers which, unfortunately, are now starting to look rather worn and faded. The Victoria
features in the CAMRA publication of London Heritage Pubs.

A spiral staircase leads to an upstairs Theatre Bar which has some fittings from the Gaiety Theatre. Also upstairs, and opposite is The Library, a smaller room which retains the look and atmosphere of a gentleman’s club. Returning back to ground floor level, the spiral staircase continues downstairs to the gents toilets – do mind your head on the way down.

The Victoria is a former Bass Charrington pub, although there’s no remaining features to remind us of this. Now a Fullers pub, it’s been a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular for many years and has also won Fullers Pub of the Year awards.

Well worth seeking out

On 1st February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Victoria

Well worth dropping into this classic Victorian boozer to see the interior alone and it's a comfortable and pleasant place to be.
Beer: Fullers Pride, Chiswick, Discovery and ESB. The Pride was ok but no more than that, slightly disappointing for a Fullers house.
Visit to see the building rather than for a session.

On 26th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Victoria

The highlight is the classic Victorian interior and it's listed on part 2 of CAMRA's national inventory of heritage pubs.Other posters have described the ground floor accurately,I would add that its worth popping up the ornate stairs to visit the Theatre Bar ,with a single handpump for London Pride and The Library with high backed leather chairs.Both are used for private functions and may not be accesible.The food looked good but we focussed on the ale which was OK without being memorable.Worth a visit to see the interior but not my choice of pub for an evening on the lash despite attractive barmaids.

On 25th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Victoria

Almost art deco from the outside, this is a smart corner pub. The bar follows the corner round with seating opposite as you follow it round. Very London interior, bare boards, high ceiling, lots of etched glass and dark panals/wallpaper. Family portrait paintings also on the walls.

A Fullers house, the beer is well kept.

On 13th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]

Page: 1 2