User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Yorkshire Grey, Fitzrovia, W1

46 Langham Street
W1
W1W 7AX
Phone: 02076364788

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Yorkshire Grey

An attractive street corner local with a bar area at the front which could almost be described as a drinking corridor, leading as it does to a snug with a real fire at the rear of the pub, separated by half screens. (Toilets are downstairs.) It was almost 10pm when I arrived, with a winding down feel, but 10 minutes later the woman sitting in the corner opposite me was served with a monstrously large burger. There is Old Brewery Bitter on the bar, which was in good condition but didn't quite hit the spot like the previous pub (Fitzroy Tavern). Nevertheless I wouldn't mind calling here again when in the area.

On 15th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about Yorkshire Grey

A quick revisit here. Really quiet on late Friday afternoon which felt odd but also reassuring in that we could sup in comparative peace. Good chat with the be-capped barman. Decided to go large and treat myself to a bottle of Imperial Stout. It’s not one of the more obviously memorable Sam’s pubs but it has a certain amount of simple charm. 6.5

May 2014
Fairly small Sam Smiths outlet. A 60s/70s décor look (cream and dark red) at the front of the long front bar room otherwise it’s quite bland and opened-out, a couple of small partitions around the wall tables notwithstanding. A nicer area is to the rear with a large boothed seating zone, fashioned from what looks like old bar snob screens. This area also has an unused fire and dark brown leather banquettes. Apparently there’s an upstairs room but I must have missed the signs, so it remained unexplored. A genuinely friendly barmaid, unusual for Sam's who seem to make a point of employing the grumpiest in the business. Usual SS selection, including cask OBB (decent enough if over-cold). Some of the punters were rather lubricated and sweary. I can’t see much reason to revisit this one unless there’s something magical upstairs. Rated 6

On 20th December 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Yorkshire Grey

Nice little corner pub, somewhat lighter and brighter than most Sam Smiths outlets in London (and none the worse for that). Compact screened lounge area at one end of the bar, and a couple of other small screens breaking up the window line. Wooden patio tables outside in the pedestrianised side alley. As a Samuel Smith's house, there is of course just OBB (£2.90) available from the two handpumps (but at least it does sell the real ale version).

On 7th June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Yorkshire Grey

Sam Smith's pub so the usual selection on offer. Quite a small narrow interior with some tables outside at the side of the pub.

On 20th March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Yorkshire Grey

Popped in here again the other Saturday evening. Was quite quiet on this visit so was able to get a comfortable seat in the seating area at the back well described by Rex below.
Cannot really improve on the comments of the previous reviewers, who have brought out all the main salient points.
It is a small attractive corner pub and it is a SS house with the benefit of Old Brewery Bitter on pump.
I’ve always found it a relaxing place for a pint and as I do like OBB on pump, I therefore like this pub, especially when you consider it is only a hop, skip and a jump from the madness that is Oxford Street.

On 11th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Yorkshire Grey

I liked this small Sam Smiths establishment and I found both of the barmaids on duty to be very friendly and I was served promptly.

OBB is on hand pump and although I’m not its biggest fan it was still as good as the pint I had later in the highly regarded Dover Castle up the road.

I though it pleasant enough in here, but I can imagine it getting uncomfortable if too many people are present, not that I have ever been into a rammed Sam Smiths pub before.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Yorkshire Grey

This is another Sam Smith’s pub, in an area where they are not exactly in short supply. However, the Old Brewery Bitter was on handpump but the pint I had was not good. The pub itself looks very attractive, both inside and out. It looks good from the outside, with some well-tended hanging baskets and an attractive frontage. The leaded windows also look to be original features. Inside there is a main bar which is fairly Spartan, but nonetheless quite attractive in a Sam Smith’s kind of way, leading to a slightly more comfortable seating area at the back. There are some snob screens at the back, between the main bar and the seating area. They look good, but may well be modern reproductions in keeping with Sam Smith’s policy of retaining, and in some cases restoring, their pubs’ original features. But placed between two areas of the pub, like some sort of screen, they must be a decoration instead of being where they might originally have been placed above the bar counter in order to afford drinkers there some measure of anonymity.
This is a pretty decent little pub. But it could be a very good pub if not for the fact that it is a Sam Smith’s pub and thus denies drinkers a decent ale choice.

On 3rd November 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Yorkshire Grey

Nice pub owned by Samuel Smith. All the usual ales & lagers. Outside seating area down the right hand side, which is on a paved area. Bit narrow by the bar, but has a comfortable seating area at the back.

On 8th January 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]