User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Wheatsheaf, Fitzrovia, W1

25 Rathbone Place
W1
W1T 1JB
Phone: 02075801585

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Wheatsheaf

A friendly and cosy little pub with good leaded windows and a comfortable feel. One room with the bar at the side and a small dining area behind. An upstairs room was signed also. Three handpumps offered London Pride with Golden Best and Knowles Spring from Timothy Taylor.

On 17th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Former William Younger pub in the brewer's Tudor style, retaining much stained glass in the front and side windows and on the bar gantry (with the overall effect being a bit spoilt by the modern glass front door). Inside, the small rectangular bar is divided by a low partition in front of the rear seating area. Not a lot of furniture, but there are also a couple of benches out front and a standing area in the side alley. Traditional dark-wood furniture and decor. Upstairs function room (not visited). Three handpumps, offering Landlord, Tribute (£4.55) and Bombardier Burning Gold on this visit. Overall, not a bad option if in the area.

On 30th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I used to be a regular in here when I worked in the area, so haven't been for nearly thirty years when we drank bottles of the blue labelled Newcastle Brown Ale 'amber', which was discontinued in the late 1980s.

Unsurprisingly nothing at all seems to have changed, except that the TV has lost a lot of weight! Lovely example of brewers' Tudor, built for William Younger by John T. Quilter in 1931 with beams, leaded lights and nogging below the window. Sadly, despite our mid-weed, late evening visit, there was no-one in the house. The East European barman told me he was about to close - 10.20 pm - so we had a swift one and were off.

Beers on: Sharp's Doom Bar, Brain's SA and St. Austell's Proper Job (£4.25) which was fine.

I'd come here again as there's a great 5-pub (formerly 6) mini-crawl around here.

On 3rd April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 987 recommendations about 972 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Interior as described below. 3 real ales served.

On 23rd April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2649 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Wheatsheaf

This classic example of an inter war Brewery Tudor pub that has probably fooled generations of tourists expecting to find some kind of historic Olde Worlde tavern with all its medieval charm. It’s an easy mistake and with its passageway down one side you can just imagine aw orld of old stagecoaches passing through.

The interior is quite traditional and whilst knocked through, it does retain front and rear sections. The main bar is at the front wioith bare floors and little in the way of tables so stool at the ledge opposite the bar is probably the best you will get when it’s busy. The rear section is carpeted and has a couple of banquettes around a central marble fireplace. There is also a small strip of seating on the pavement and an upstairs room that appears to be more for functions than general usage. There is a TV in the rear section and a background montage of chart stuff that was barely noticeable. The most eyecatching feature is the latticed glazing with its coloured glass and heraldic shields. Scottish brewers Wm Younger also get in on the act with their name spelled out within the glazing.

The 3 ales are hardly an inspirational choice, Abbott, Greene King IPA and Doom Bar, but at £3.25 for the Abbot, they don’t appear to be stupidly priced. I didn’t notice anything in the way of food availability, the only Marketing gumph being a wine list on the table.

The pub can get very busy with office workers towards the end of the week but seems pretty relaxed away from peak times.
Previous visitors include the likes of Orwell and Dylan Thomas (if there isn’t a pub around here that they haven’t frequented, I haven’t fopund it).

I quite like the place and would happily pop in now and again although I don’t tend to wander around here as much as I used to and it never made any lasting impressions on my previous visits, probably due to its unadveturous ale range.

On 10th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Wheatsheaf

I quite liked it in here as the bar staff were very friendly and the Hobgoblin was very nice. The staff were dressed up and they were enthusiastically hanging Halloween decorations around the pub.

I would visit again if in the area.

On 31st October 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Wheatsheaf

They had GKIPA and Hobgoblin on tap when I was in there at the weekend. I was given short measure, but my glass was readily topped-up on request. I had the Hobgoblin which was excellent. This was clearly previously a Younger's pub, retaining all the very attractive original leaded and stained glass windows on the front and down the long side of the pub. Seating is a mixture of stools by ledges in the main part of the bar, and a handful of tables and chairs at the back
This is a rather nice little pub, but what makes it a bit special for me is the original Wm. Younger's windows and décor – even without the tartan wallpaper that many of the Younger's pubs used to have!

On 25th October 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Wheatsheaf

Small, low-ceilinged, attractive old pub with plenty of stained glass and leaded windows. Two hand pumps and the London Pride was in good nick despite my being their first customer of the day. Don't imagine it's a big sports pub but they do have a couple of screens and were happy to put the rugby on when a group of guys dropped in on their way to Twickenham for the England v Ireland game.

On 21st March 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]