User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Serendipitous Moment of the Week with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Fitzrovia, Fitzrovia, W1

18 Goodge Street
W1
W1T 2QD
Phone: 02076360721

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


john gray left this review about The Fitzrovia

Warm and inviting.Lots of fairy lights around the windows.Nice hubbub of conversation.Cask Trumans -swift .Landlord and 2 GK duds.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 859 recommendations about 848 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Fitzrovia

Originally the Valiant Trooper, this pub was rebuilt in the mid-1930s and became the Fitzrovia in 2002.

As described below, with a flashing games machine and sport TV with the sound off, thankfully and plastic laminated menus and a slightly touristy crowd who probably thought this was the apotheosis of the Merry Olde London Pub.

Service was fine, providing Truman's Swift, Moreland's Old Golden Hen, GK Abbot and London Glory at a hefty £4.50 and it wasn't at all nice; perhaps it's supposed to taste that way.

I'd give the pub an extra point for the disabled WC, but the unjustifiably high beer prices, electric distractions and overall impression mean that I won't be returning.

On 29th March 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 843 recommendations about 830 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Fitzrovia

A one roomed Taylor Walker pub where we found the majority of customers sitting out front, along the seated pavement area. Four ales on, with Truman's Lazarus costing £4.60 a pint.

On 4th August 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2586 recommendations about 2586 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Fitzrovia

As described below a by the numbers Taylor Walker pub. 4 real ales and food served.

On 23rd August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2498 recommendations about 2445 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Fitzrovia

They had on London Pride, Head in a Hat Titfer, Truman’s Blindside, and London Fields Love Not War, the latter a stonking £2.08 for a half. This place is very typical of a Central London Tatlor Walker pub. There’s a straightforward interior to this single room pub – tall tables/tall stools on the bare-boarded right hand side of the pub, and normal tables and chairs on the carpeted left hand side. The usual Tayler Walker pub grub menu is available; and TVs were (muted) showing the cricket. There’s an easy access toilet on the ground floor

The pub itself is quite unremarkable, but the ale selection is OK, with a couple from London microbreweries on during my visit. And the 10% CamRA discount (although not advertised in this pub) makes the prices a bit more palatable for those of us who are members.

On 1st March 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2420 recommendations about 2343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Fitzrovia

I quite like this pub and it always seems to be busy when I venture in. Deuchars, Pride and bombardier were available on my last visit along with a range of standard and premium lagers.

I've found the staff to be friendly and it never takes that long to be served no matter how busy.

Definitely recommended if in the area.

On 3rd November 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3337 recommendations about 3317 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Fitzrovia

Very crowded and noisy on an early Tuesday evening, but the overall atmosphere was reasonable (i.e. people wanting to be there, rather than thinking that they ought to be seen there). Unfortunately the Batemans Rosey Nosey was conditioning and the London Pride was nothing to write home about, but will try again next time I am in the area.

On 19th December 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5108 recommendations about 5108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Fitzrovia

Yes It is now called The Fitzrovia.

On 4th November 2006 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2023 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Fitzrovia

This picture is a bit out of date, the pub had a make over a couple of years ago and is now an Irish pub with green paintwork and a new name. Very nice inside though.

On 22nd October 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 738 recommendations about 709 pubs]