User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Fantasy Pub Jukebox with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Three Greyhounds, Soho, W1

25 Greek Street
W1
W1D 5DD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Three Greyhounds

Eye-catching mock-Tudor Nicholsons pub on a small corner plot, so not much seating in the main bar but there is also an upstairs dining area. NPA, Pride, Hobgoglin, Siren Broken Dream (with another beer from that brewery having just run out as I arrived) and Old Rosie cider from five of seven handpumps on this visit.

On 4th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5144 recommendations about 5144 pubs]


john gray left this review about The Three Greyhounds

Sought this pub out after seeing it in a sunday magazine.Stunning I thought .Nice small interior with good beers from Sambrookes,Purity and two from Thornbridge

On 18th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 859 recommendations about 848 pubs]


Pub SignMan left this review about The Three Greyhounds

This is a pretty cosy little Soho boozer run by the Nicholson’s chain and set in a fine mock Tudor building in the heart of Soho. The pub was apparently once an ironmongers back when the area was known as the French Quarter, before becoming a fully licensed premises in 1846. The pub has a compact ground floor room with exposed floorboards and a tidy dark wood servery along the back wall. The high, mirrored bar back has a number of dusty old books tucked away in between the various bottles, giving it a slight feel of an old apothecary’s in the right light. Bench and chair seating is available over to the left, with high tables and stools in the front section of the room and regular tables and chairs to the right, all under lovely old lattice windows. The fake beam ceiling ties the interior in with the eye-catching mock-Tudor exterior and some low level lighting gives the place the right kind of atmosphere, despite the tourist masses descending on the place in the hours before a show at the theatre over the road. I spotted a nice dresser over to the left, displaying various beer-themed books and bits of breweriana, whilst the walls have been decorated with old sports pictures and ironmongery tools, as a nod to the building’s former use. Quite loud 80’s pop music played throughout my visit and countless people were walking in off the street to use the toilets, which the bar staff didn’t seem to be fussed about.
Six ales on the bar – Shipyard Steam Beer, Fullers London Pride, Nicholson’s Pale Ale, Rudgate Instant Pleasures, Sharps Doom Bar and Inveralmond ThaiPA – were joined by a cider from Thistle Cross. A friendly barmaid served me a pint of the Instant Pleasures, but the quality was sadly lacking and in hindsight I could have probably returned the beer.
I quite like this pub with its contrived appearance which somehow seems to be quite a good fit for an area like Soho. The beer quality places a big question mark over this place for me, especially when you consider how many other pubs there are in this area to choose from, and I think I would need to be satisfied that this was an excpetion before I consider a revisit.

On 24th July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2220 recommendations about 2220 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Three Greyhounds

4 storey mock Tudor exterior. This Nicholson's pub has quite a small bare boarded interior. 6 real ales and food.

On 25th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2502 recommendations about 2449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Three Greyhounds

Small corner pub, standing out because of its Elizabethan style exterior. Airy inside, wood floor, small round tables & stools. They have real ale but mine was not of great quality.

On 2nd July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1119 recommendations about 1096 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Three Greyhounds

worth a look won't be disappointed

On 6th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Three Greyhounds

A very eye catching pub, which tends to draw a lot of tourists. It's not really the type of pub I would sit down and relax in for a while, what with the volume of people toing and froing through the one corner entrance. The Adnams Explorer was reasonably priced.

On 7th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2603 recommendations about 2603 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Three Greyhounds

There were six ales on when I was in on Wednesday afternoon. They included the excellent Windsor & Eton Knight of the Garter (£1.90 a half), as well as their “house” ale, Nicholson’s Pale Ale brewed by St Austell. The usual Nicholson’s pub grub menu is available of course.

I think the “brewer’s” Tudor exterior is quite striking, although of course it’s not as old as the look is meant to appear. As is usual with Nicholson’s outlets, there is plenty of dark wood and bling around the place, like gilt framed mirrors and chalkboards.

The ale selection’s good, and the prices aren’t excessive by Soho standards. It’s a nice little bijou place, and I’d be happy to drop in again.

On 19th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2424 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Three Greyhounds

The current building dates from 1910, but the mock Tudor exterior with black timbers, herringbone brickwork and leaded windows give an impression of much greater age. Inside it is very compact, beamed ceiling, typical Nicholson's wood polished floor, generally regular seating at small tables but one high version in front of the bar set around a column.
The pub is on the edge of Soho, now a vibrant part of the West End but once a rural hunting ground, from which the pub name is taken.
As is usual with a Nicholson's outlet, the beer range is very good, 6 handpumps, Gadds No5, Caledonian Flying Scotsman, Downton Chocolate Orange Delight, Highland Brewing Co Scapa Special (£3.85) Pride reversed and one unclipped.
Busy on Sunday afternoon, plenty eating decent looking grub. Certainly a good choice in this area, I'd drop by again.

On 7th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1666 recommendations about 1644 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Three Greyhounds

Revisited yesterday as part of a crawl through Soho - decent (albeit small) Nicholson's corner pub, mock Tudor exterior but little of merit inside. Decent welcome and a good range of six ales - I had the Hook Norton's Hooky Bitter which was a very nice and well-kept ale.

On 23rd March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]

Page: 1 2