User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Towns that disappoint and surprise with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Thornbury Castle, Marylebone, W1

29A Enford Street
W1
W1H 1DN
Phone: 02074022189

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Thornbury Castle

Fine side-street pub located a short distance over the A501 from Marylebone station and definitely one of the best pubs in the area if waiting for a train. Very traditional interior with a 'U'-shaped bar set a right angles to the street, with a further small 'L'-shaped seating / dining area set up a couple of steps at the back. 3/4-height wood panelling and a selection of old prints complete the pleasing effect. It's GBG 2019 listed, and there was a decent selection of real ales from smaller breweries - such as Amelia from Park (£5.10) - available from five of the six handpumps.

On 29th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5622 recommendations about 5622 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Thornbury Castle

Very close to Marylebone Station,this street corner boozer has quite a small interior and just a few benches outside to cope with any overflow.It has a single room,but this is broken up by columns to the rear and with bench seating around the front the overall experience is of a traditional boozer.However Thai food is served,and many punters were partaking.
There are normally 4 or 5 ales available at this 2019 GBG listed pub,but on my visit just Rebellion Peacemaker,Tring Citra Session and Three Sods Mon Cheri IPA (in good nick but £5.10pp ???).The barstaff were quite indifferent and the guv'nor was taciturn bordering on rude,he certainly wasn't full of the Christmas spirit.
OK for a quick one if using the station,but certainly not the complete package.

On 21st December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1961 recommendations about 1961 pubs]


hondo . left this review about Thornbury Castle

Tucked away down a side street. Quite a plain wood panelled interior( some rugby memorabilia)with 6 real ale taps 5 on during my visit.

On 23rd October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2574 recommendations about 2518 pubs]


Danny O'Revey left this review about Thornbury Castle

Lovely pub, well laid out open plan but with certain areas and levels. Good beer, good pub

On 1st October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1205 recommendations about 1182 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Thornbury Castle

A first in here the other day and I too was rather taken with this traditional dinky place, just a few yards from the mayhem of Marylebone Road.
The pub started life as the Princess Royal with the current name dating from the 1850s; it was rebuilt in its current guise in 1938. Inside, it’s a generally split area, quite compact with a slightly raised area to the rear. There’s a traditional bar with spirits dispensed the old-fashioned way from optics, which greatly speeds up serving times as staff don’t have to arse about with stupid little metal spirit measures. Above, there’s an unusual frosted glass and wrought iron pot shelf. To the walls there’s fine ¾-height bare English oak panelling; paintwork is simple and white with décor comprising some framed, signed rugby shirts – this pub is big on rugby. The floor is mainly carpeted and there’s a lino bar apron topped with a brass footrail. Furniture is conventional, with a couple of high, circular tables affording a fine view of the contents of the glass-fronted tall chiller cabinet in the middle of the floor. Despite my early arrival – 5.30 pm – the pub was heaving, probably drawn by the multiple TVs showing the sport, albeit with the sound down.
The pub is run by a very friendly landlady, the bar top presenting six ales with the day’s selection and tasting notes on the pub’s website - nice touch.
Ales: Tring Brewery’s Lorenz, Little Beer Co’s Little & Often and Little Haka, Windsor & Eaton’s Last Drop, Rebellion Brewery’s Visionary and Gold at a rather stiff £2.50 a half which though very nice indeed, is a very pricey for a backstreet locals’ pub, especially when you consider the somewhat up-itself Royal Oak across the road is cheaper.
This is a very nice pub indeed and a rare find in central London. The other customers and I too were untrammelled by the lack of Electric Soup on cask, though for me there’s no place for TVs in my perfect pub, hence the mark.

Closed at weekends.

On 8th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 904 recommendations about 891 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Thornbury Castle

I too was taken by this small side street pub with its wood panelling throughout and small raised seating area at the rear. Clearly a strong rugby union connection from the memorabilia on the walls which always enamours me to a place. But a decent range of well-kept beers increases that further, especially when the Rugby theme is followed through to the beer choices and for my inaugural visit Vale Brewery Lock Prop and Barrel, Windsor and Eton Last Drop, The Little Beer Company Little Haka, By The Horns Hop Air Balloon Session IPA and two from the Marlow Rebellion Brewery in the form of Gold and Visionary were available. The two I tried were very well kept but as others have said they were not the cheapest pints I’ve experienced in London.
The pub was being well patronised with early evening commuters and it emptied out a bit as they disappeared towards the nearby Chiltern line station.
I am more than happy with a range of six beers from 3.9% to 4.4% and like the majority of reviewers on this site believe there are a lot of other things that go to make a good pub other than the strength of the beer it serves. And as this pub ticked several of those other boxes I am happy to rate the Thornbury Castle in line with the majority..

On 1st March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1634 recommendations about 1583 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Thornbury Castle

One room with bar to the left. Six hand pumps, one reversed. Unfortunately nothing above 4.5% ABV.

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1412 recommendations about 1410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Thornbury Castle

Lovely little back street pub with friendly guvnor with a good knowledge about the beers he sells.Restricted to the Enterprise range and accordingly expensive.I tried 4 of the 6 cask beers and was impressed. Vale,Dorking,Rebellion,Little beer co,and 3 Sods beers on.

On 3rd June 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Thornbury Castle

Just a short walk from Marylebone station, down a relatively quiet side street, this is a very pleasant and smartly presented pub offering a good selection of ales. A pump clip-lined porch leads you into a carpeted room with the servery over on the left hand wall. The bar has a simple wooden counter with a decorative ironwork gantry and a broad mirrored bar back. Banquette seating is available along the front and right hand walls supplemented by some particularly comfortable padded chairs. It's an attractive space thanks in no small part to the fine wood panelling which covers much of the wall space and these have been decorated with old Guinness adverts, a nice etched glass mirror and a whole host of rugby themed items including photos, rugby balls and some signed England and Wasps shirts above the bar. A fridge stands in the middle of the room against a structural pillar and has a large model ship on top plus a couple of Wasps gnomes. To the rear there is a raised seating area that looks like it is well suited to those wanting food although I only saw one group eating throughout my stay. This area is furnished with standard tables and chairs, a nice grandfather clock and a collection of beer bottles. The day's papers were available from a rack near the front door and it was refreshing to have no music playing in the background, although there were a few TV screens dotted around the room, all showing a muted BBC news channel. I didn't see any evidence of a beer garden, but a few picnic benches have been arranged outside on the pavement to the front of the pub.
There are six handpulls on the bar, two of which were off on my midweek visit, but I was still left with a very good selection comprising Dorking Pilcrow Pale, Rebellion Zebedee, Purity Gold and Vale Just Like That. I opted for a pint of the Pilcrow Pale which was in superb condition and must be an early contender for best kept beer of the year, but I had to pay £4.65 for the privilege. The bar staff were all very friendly and welcoming and I made a point of complimenting the landlord on his beer as I left.
I've always struggled to find a reliable pub in the Marylebone area but I have a feeling I may have hit upon a winner in this place. I found this to be a very welcoming pub with a good atmosphere and excellent beer - so much so that I really didn't feel like I was drinking in Central London, which is a great compliment in my book. My only real gripe would be the price of the beer, but I guess that is Enterprise and Central London for you. A cracking pub and one I look forward to returning to.

On 3rd June 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2290 recommendations about 2290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Thornbury Castle

Well described by RR below and by far the best beer option this close to Marylebone and Baker St. It's a very nice pub, untouched by corporate branding, enthusiastically run with an ever changing range of beers, carefully selected to cover various styles and strengths. Tasty looking Thai menu.

There's a very keen rugby following here, so if that's your sport you will find easy conversation.

Well worth seeking out.

On 1st May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 457 recommendations about 449 pubs]

Page: 1 2