User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Queens Head, Soho, W1

15 Denman Street
W1
W1D 7HN
Phone: 02074371540

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Queens Head

A pretty small pub tucked behind Picadilly,there are some original features ,a good bar back and fine mirrors at the rear with a Barclay Perkins mirror to the side.There is a bench seat and two brittanid tables to the front,with bar stools running along the wall and high tables at the rear.It wouldn't take many punters to fill up inside.
There is a restaurant on the first floor,while bar food is offered downstairs starting at £3.50 with pies £10 and cheese a speciality but pricey at £8 for two, £12 for three.Flatscreens were playing BBC News on mute,while the muzak was well chosen and enjoyably not too loud.
The bar supports 6 handpumps but was only offering on my trip London Pride,Sambrooks Wandle and Dark Star APA (£2.50 half NBSS 1.5,musty).
This is quite a charming little place but let down by bad ale.I can't understand why it's in the 2020 GBG.

On 6th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Queens Head

Just around the corner from Piccadilly Circus and right next door to the Piccadilly Theatre, the Queen's Head is a typical Central London pub with the somewhat rarer distinction of being a free house. The pub has a compact ground floor bar with a long narrow single room arrangement, plus a first floor restaurant. A porch leads you into a bare boarded room with the servery down the right hand side. The bar has a standard dark wood counter and mirrored bar back, which catches the eye thanks to some nice old Guinness memorabilia (perhaps retained from the pub's days as a Scruffy Murphy's Irish pub) and a number of old signs along the top listing 'Ales', 'Wines, 'Spirits' and 'Stout'. A more sophisticated list of the drinks available can be found on a blackboard on the opposite wall which hangs above a drinking ledge and is flanked by various certificates and a fine old Barclay Perkins mirror. Limited low stool seating can be found to the front of the room under the modern frosted glass windows with the pub's name picked out on them, whilst high tables and stools are squeezed into a tight space behind some chunky structural pillars in the rear left corner. The walls have been covered with light, decorative wallpaper which jars somewhat with the dark wood panelling that predominates through much of the room, especially to the rear, where there is a good deal of standing space under numerous plain mirrors, a nice painting of the pub and a rather excessive chandelier. Stairs lead up to a dining room with its own bar which also hosts occasional comedy nights. Music played in the background during my stay, but the noise from a pretty busy post-work crowd rendered it pretty much obsolete.
Five cask ales were available on this visit - Fullers London Pride, Robinsons Trooper, Twickenham Naked Ladies, Sambrooks Wandle and Dark Star Hophead. Keg taps offered beers from the likes of Beavertown and Sierra Nevada and I noticed a pretty good range of craft bottles and cans in the fridges. My pint of Hophead cost me £4.10 and was a little below par, but the pub has found its way into the 2017 Good Beer Guide, so I may have just been a bit unfortunate.
This is a good little pub that I don't recall noticing previously, despite surely having passed by many times. I found it to be a friendly place with a nice buzz about it and a pretty good range of beers in traditional surrounds. It makes a good pre-theatre venue and is a useful bolthole should you find yourself in the area.

On 18th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Queens Head

Decent traditional pub which for some reason I have missed during earlier visits to Soho. A couple of 4.7% real ales which went down nicely.

On 18th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Queens Head

A small but perfectly formed traditional boozer with a decent beer range,quite rare in the surrounding area. Five pumps featuring Twickenham Naked Ladies,Darkstar Revalation,Tiny Reble One Inch Punch,Robinsons Trooper and Fullers London Pride. Good Pub.

On 24th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Queens Head

Went to most of the Good Beer Guide pubs in soho and this was the best beer.

Very good pint of London Pride.

Nice boozer.

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2dAN8k3

On 30th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Queens Head

Small narrow boozer with side bar (nice old wooden bar back here), head further to the rear for nice wood-inlay mirrors, large chandelier and mounted clock. Wallpapered throughout. A Soho pub, so inevitably gets rammed most of the day, especially after work. Apparently there is a second room upstairs but in the melee I didn’t spot it. Five pumps, four on; Dark Star Hophead (very good nick), Robinsons Trooper, Sambrooks Wandle and Pride (same as the selection from the previous reviewers visit). 2 quid a half for Hophead, about standard for the area. Also a collection of craft-style bottles. There’s a blackboard with a beer list, prices and tasting notes which is something I heartily approve of. Wi-Fi. Was a Nicholsons and lately a freehouse - has been in the Good Beer Guide the last couple of years. I liked it here and would make a point of dropping in again next time I’m off to Mildreds.

On 19th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Queens Head

There was a decent ale selection on in here - London Pride, Doom Bar, Darkstar Hophead, Sambrook Wandle, Robinson's Trooper, and Magic Rock Ringmaster (£2.15 a half). I didn't see any menus on Monday lunchtime, but if they don't do food it would be a bit surprising in this area.

This is a very small pub. There are just two round copper-topped tables by the window, with a settle and three or four chairs; otherwise furnishings are a couple of tall tables/tall stools at the back, and a few tall stools at ledges around the sides. I guess that this leaves plenty of space for vertical drinking. A previous reviewer mentions an upstairs room, but I didn't see it. The bar back looks an ancient piece, and at the back are a trio of mirrors framed by wooden pedestals, and surmounted by an ornate shelf. There is little in the way of decor, but I couldn't miss the gilt framed mirror on the wall above the stairs leading down to the toilets, and on one of the other walls there's a print of an 1855 painting of a dog show at the Queens Head Tavern, then in the Haymarket.

This was another pub that was quiet (less than 10 punters in) on Friday afternoon. It was also quiet in that there was no music, or TV on, to disturb those that were engaged in conversation. This one's quite good for the area, which is obviously busy with tourists at this time of the year. It's probably much busier in the evenings, but I found it a welcome refuge from the hordes (can I say that, or am I dehumanising them?) of tourists. The ale selection's pretty good as well.

On 11th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Queens Head

Small, tidy pub, wallpapered walls. Not much room for seating, but its a fine drinking den. Near theatres and Shaftesbury Avenue.

6 real ales

On 2nd July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Head

Surprisingly compact bar with an upstairs dining room (not visited) and traditional London pub furniture / decor in the Taylor Walker mould. Five handpumps, offering an unnamed 3.8% "Session" beer with hand-written label, Pride, Wandle, Hophead and Robinson's Trooper (£4.10).

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Queens Head

Situated just off the northern end of Piccadilly Circus, the Queens Head dates from 1738 and until the Piccadilly Theatre next door was built in 1928, also occupied much of the site of its new neighbour.

The current building is fairly reflective of a typical West End pub, smallish, a little cramped and with a fairly traditional feel to it. At the front is a small snug section with tiled floor and a few battered leather seats and round metal top tables. The bar runs along the right hand side and opposite is a ledge with high chairs. It opens up a little at the rear where a lowish chandelier may give concern to visiting basketball players and a series of mirrors make the place seem a bit more spacious than it actually is. A few pictures of Queen’s heads are on disply to reflect the pub’s nameand an elegant Barclay Perkins Stout mirror will please breweriana enthusiasts. There is a TV well postioned over the entrance porch and piped Dire Starits music playing on my visit which may or may not please some people. Upstairs is a lounge that is available for hire and also hosts regular comedy evenings.

The beer range wasn’t particularly extensive or interesting with 2 ales available (Pride and Doom Bar) and a third unused pump. At £3.30 for the Doom Bar, prices can be considered pretty reasonable for the area although the quality of the pint wasn’t the best I’ve had albeit drinkable.

The pub was quite empty for my early evening visit but was starting to fill with theatre goers as I left and I suspect that this is its prominent trade. It is a decent enough place with a bit of character for a quick pint but it doesn’t really have enough to make it stand out from a dozen or so pubs within 100 yards.

On 4th October 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]

Page: 1 2