User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Pontefract Castle, Marylebone, W1

71 Wigmore Street
W1
W1U 1QA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Pontefract Castle

02/01/15

Called back to the Castle and sampled two excellent pints of UBU Purity. The couple of kids that we had in tow had chips for lunch, which were excellent. Sat upstairs this time to keep the monsters from the punters. Will call again.

04/09/12

Popped in for a pre lunch pint on the Sunday before August BH. Sampled a couple of brews, which whilst drinkable were a little cloudy. Sat outside on Wigmore Street, soaking up the August sun and chatting with friends. Great little corner pub, well worth a visit, the cloudy beer is a first for me here, having called several times before and been more than happy with the state of the beer. Will probably call again as the pub is not to far from a friends gaff.

On 6th January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Pontefract Castle

I wouldn't deliberately drink in this area but have been forced to do so on a couple of occasions following a film at the Odeon and a meal. This is just off the tourist route and is certainly one of the better pubs in the area, but of course that's not saying much. In short, worth a minor detour if you're stuck in the area with no hope of escape before last orders.

On 8th February 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Pontefract Castle

One block north of Oxford Street, the Pontefract Castle is a pleasant, functional Nicholson’s pub. A relatively small main bar has bare floorboards and pastel shaded walls, but thankfully there is enough dark wood, especially around the servery, to give the place that unmistakable London pub feel. The servery is on the rear wall and boasts an attractive curved bar counter. High tables and stools fill the space opposite and much of the rest of the room, with a few sofas and pouffes set up on the right hand side. My evening visit saw the place lit by some nice ornate lamps above the bar, but there are some decent sized windows which should make it bright enough during the daytime. Downstairs is the ‘St Christopher Cellar Bar’ – packed on my visit and playing loud music, seemingly as part of a private function. Meanwhile, a spiral staircase leads from the main bar up to the ‘Top Bar and Dining Room’, which I failed to explore. Hot food is served in the dining room and I also noticed a good bar-snacks menu with a few tempting offerings. A decent soundtrack played quietly enough in the main bar, certainly a lot more restrained than downstairs, although a few people preferred the tranquillity of the benches available outside in the adjacent alleyway.
As is often the way with this chain, an encouraging ale selection was provided, with options on my visit consisting of Roosters Nectar, Oakleaf Hole Hearted, Nicholson’s Pale Ale, Holt's Mild, Inveralmond Ossian and something enigmatically labelled ‘Cornish’. A very friendly barmaid poured me a pint of the Nectar which was top notch – easily the best pint I found during a crawl of the surrounding area.
Whilst there is nothing particularly exciting or unusual about this place, I thought it was a comfortable spot for a well kept pint or two and could well imagine myself sneaking off here in order to escape the Oxford Street hoards.

On 23rd September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Pontefract Castle

Quite a good Nicholson's, with seating on four levels (although if you want decent beer, you're better off staying on the ground floor). Spiral staircase. Five of six handpumps were on during my latest visit: Doom Bar, Pride, Brains Rev James, Orkney Dragonhead stout and Sunny Republic Shark Head (£3.90).

On 2nd September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Pontefract Castle

A pleasant enough and good sized corner pub from the Nicholson’s stable. There’s limited seating in the downstairs bar although plenty of space for vertical drinking. There was a spiral staircase leading to an upstairs bar and restaurant area, although we didn’t check this out. There were also three or four small tables in the pedestrianised street outside.

Being a corner pub there were large, dual aspect windows and this gave a reasonably light and airy feel to the place. The wood panelled bar had an impressive carved wooden backdrop and a good range of pumps, all sporting a notice outlining a brief description of the beer and an invitation to try before you buy.

There was a decent looking “pub grub” menu at what appeared to be quite reasonable prices, although we didn’t eat on this occasion. Staff all seemed friendly and helpful.

A blackboard listed around 25 beers, with the current offerings being ticked. Presumably these are rotated around regularly, although there may well be other guests as well, as not all the ones currently on appeared to be on here. On this occasion they were Adnams Lighthouse and Broadside, Doombar, London Pride, Leeds Best and York Brewery’s First Light. Ciders were Aspall’s Suffolk and Strongbow. There were also about seven lagers to choose from, if that’s your thing.

On 28th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Pontefract Castle

A street corner Nicholsons house, this one had all six ales on the go (Landlord, Pride, Doom Bar and three guests) and the ones I tried were pretty good with decent staff serving, which is a rare combination their places. It’s less obviously ‘Olde Worlde’ than Nicholson’s usual pubs. It’s situated over a number of levels, with spiral wrought iron staircase leading upstairs, whilst downstairs there’s a cellar bar with similar wrought iron gates. The layout looks to be aimed mainly at the ‘stand up and drink’ post-office crowd, with tall round tables with barstool style seating on the ground floor.

Based on this visit I’d say it’s worth a stop and I’d visit again.

On 30th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pontefract Castle

A large Nicholson’s house sitting on Wigmore Street, a fairly short stroll from the completely dry Oxford Street.
It is on several levels as previous reviewers have commented but best to get served in the street level bar before exploring as this is the one where the beer offerings are.
Although the usual traditional wooden decor, I find the Ponty not as dark as other Nicholson houses and for me it’s a decent place for a pint when escaping from the madness of Oxford Street.
Six hand pumps with the usual Pride, Doombar and TT Landlord. But then there was St Austells Tribute and the Thornbridge Wild Swan and the latter was a good pint.

On 25th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Pontefract Castle

Pretty good pub, beers still as below, food etc. Can't say I'd make a special journey, but if you are looking for one in the area you could do much worse.

On 23rd February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Pontefract Castle

This is a decent enough pub with nice bar staff and there was a decent drinks selection of Doom Bar, Landlord, Tribute, Pride and two guests alongside a range of standard and premium lagers on my visit.

The music was a bit loud for my liking, but I would go back here again if passing.

On 30th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Pontefract Castle

Small bar downstairs with a eating/drinking area upstairs and a cellar bar.A good selection of real ales.

On 23rd December 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]

Page: 1 2