User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The One Tun, Fitzrovia, W1

60 Goodge Street
W1
W1T 4LZ
Phone: 02072094105

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The One Tun

I haven't been in here for a good 25 years when it was an office local so can't really remember it. A late Georgian pub, it is bare boarded with white tiles to the walls - indeed, as Mr. Man points out, the pub isn't tatty so perhaps has had a scrub. There were a fair number of locals, office workers and tourists in, mainly it would seem to watch the football, which, with four screens, dominated proceedings to the exclusion of all else. A dartboard could be seen to the rear.

On offer: Truman's Blindside, Twickenham's Grandstand, London Beer Factory's Beyond the Pale, Young's Bitter, Gold and Special at £2.20 a half.

This isn't a bad place, but I can't abide sports pub - which this most certainly is - when looking for a convivial evening so I won't be back unless there's a power cut.

On 30th March 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 980 recommendations about 965 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The One Tun

One room with a large central island bar, distressed boarded floor and wainscoted walls with a row of tiles above. Seating was a bit limited, some high tables in the front windows plus a drinking shelf along a side wall. The opposite side has a few small tables, all taken at 5pm on Tuesday. An outdoor pavement area takes the overflow.
I didn't get an impression of anything being shabby or tatty so perhaps there has been a spruce up, there is still a large Bass mirror and there is also loads of framed bits of stuff all over the walls.
There is a fairly rare central London dartboard behind the bar to the rear which is not only usable but had a trio of lads playing.
A Young's house, Bitter, Special and seasonal Schroodge St, probably the same one they serve all over but locally named, they also had Redemption Urban Dusk and Rock the Kasbeck. Food served, I noticed a specials board which offered pheasant pie, mama's meatballs and regular fish and chips.
I'm sure that somehow despite living in London for nearly 30 years that I have never been in here before, anyway, I quite liked it and would use it again if in the vicinity.

On 10th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The One Tun

As the only open pub that we found in the area on a freezing New Years Day evening, the One Tun was very welcoming. A decent pint of Youngs bitter was served and enjoyed in a busy little pub. Others have mentioned the tatty appearance and attempt at a trendy makover, however, these are minor downs when all you want is a decent pint. No problem calling again.

On 6th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The One Tun

This pub has been given a makeover since the last time I was in and, unusually for a Young’s house, it looks much cheaper and tattier than I remember. There are a couple of tall tables/tall stools at the front of the room, some booths on the right, and a couple of normal tables and chairs on the left. There’s a dartboard and fruit machines and the like at the back behind the central island bar. A couple of nice mirrors (Bass and Finches) are on opposing walls, plus the usual old black and white prints. Wi-fi and a quiz on Tuesdays are advertised.

I was the only customer when I was in there soon after 3.00 PM, when the staff were busy sorting glasses and collecting menus from the tables (lunch is available from 12.00 to 3.00) and it had the feel of a pub about to close. But I wasn’t asked to leave, so I guess it was just the lull before the post-work storm.

I do remember this as a nice cosy pub, which it doesn’t seem to be any more. I don’t think that I will be making this a regular haunt.

On 7th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The One Tun

There is something rather sterile with the refurbished layout that seems to have stripped out much of the original character of this place. However, the atmosphere is fine, with friendly and attentive bar staff. The single room is dominated by a large central island bar which leaves relatively little space for seating (and thus, like many central London pubs, many of the customers spill out onto the street). A total of 12 handpumps adorn the bar counter, but many of these are duplicates so there are usually just three or four Wells & Youngs ales on and sometimes a guest beer too.

On 19th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The One Tun

Something of a rarity these days - a Young's Pub that hasn't been given a seeing to by the modernisation squad. There's not much else of note about this place really - it serves the regulation beers from an island bar, has the regulation Young's 'high' seating (is it just me who dislikes it?) an a dartboard at the back. Fitzrovia as an area is getting more upmarket so you wonder how long this will last. One thing I would recommend is coming here for a pint either before or after a meal at Barrica next door, which serves probably the best tapas I've had outside of Spain.

On 17th August 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Castro-Garcia left this review about The One Tun

Young's Bitter, Special, Bombardier on tap

Bottled: London Ale, Ram Rod, Double Chocolate Stout, Kew, Waggle Dance

Nice atmosphere, only pub I saw celebrating St George's Day a while back.

On 16th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 22 recommendations about 22 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The One Tun

Youngs Special and Ordinary were available along with Bombardier, Fosters, Kronenburg and Heineken during my recent visit. The barmaid was extremely polite and friendly and she served me in between another large order. It's not difficult, but seldom seen anymore.

The pub itself is nothing to write home about, but the service I received and the Bombardier I knocked back would make me return.

On 3rd November 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The One Tun

Not a bad place, bit empty when I visited, but it was on a Monday at 16:30. Sells food all day and has the usual Youngs ale plus Bombadier. One of the customers kept dropping the name Saatchi into a conversation she was having.

On 8th April 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The One Tun

A decent enough Youngs pub situated in the heart of Fitzrovia. Set out in a traditional style with a circular bar, wooden division screens, a few snugs, large mirrors and a few prints. Dart board area at the back and a basic TV for sport (they advertise a big screen but I didn't see it and it is hard to imagine anywhere practical to have it). Fruit machine / quiz machine. Quiz night on Tuesday. All things considered, a bit bland but decent Youngs beers and pleasant enough for a couple after work.

On 11th January 2006 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]