User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Nellie Dean of Soho, Soho, W1

89 Dean Street
W1
W1D 3SU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

A basic but decent pub and I found the beer range to be a little less exciting than I was expecting maybe due to being visited during the Christmas break and festive offerings taking the place of more interesting guest beers.My Timothy Taylor's Landlord was in good condition albeit a little ordinary tasting. Worth a look if passing by though.

On 30th December 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

Attractive Soho corner pub, but will a distinctly cramped interior so probably best tried at a quieter time of day otherwise you may find a hundred people standing out in the road (and not just the pavement) outside. There is also an upstairs bar (with no real ale), but this is largely taken up by a pool table. Young crowd. Five handpumps, with the regular Doom Bar, Pride and TT Landlord supplemented by Redemption Trinity and Cronx Kotchin (£3.60) on my last visit.

On 19th January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

There were five ales on in here – Timothy Taylor Haversake Ale, Cottage Brewery Carnival Ale, Adnam’s Ghost Ship and our old chums Doom Bar and London Pride. Food menus are on rolled up sheets stuck in a glass on the tables – and the prices are jolly reasonable for the area. Sarnies are £2.90 a throw, with main meals between £5.50 and £7. The pub standard of sausages and mash is £5.50.

The pub looks good from the outside with masses of foliage flowing from the hanging baskets. There are more plants inside on the shelf under the windows. Inside it’s a tiny one-room affair downstairs, and although I saw a sign pointing to further seating upstairs I didn’t venture up there. The toilets are downstairs, down a narrow and dangerous flight of stairs which would give those in the Nell Gwynne a run for their money. Furnishings in the main bar are grubby looking banquattes and small stools, combined with round metal framed tables. There was a mix of punters in on Wednesday afternoon – two or three regulars at the bar, and some tourists that had advisedly, and probably only temporarily, escaped the hell of Oxford St.

I liked this pub a lot. It seemed a small oasis among the many bogstandard pubs that this area has. A couple of Victorian cast iron pillars and a Lincrusta style ceiling added to the attraction for me. With five ales on, including a couple that I had not seen before, this pub is definitely worth a visit.

On 20th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

September 2012 - seems to be an improvement here & happy to m,ark up to a 7


Small Soho boozer, slightly subdued lighting and tee lights on the tables.

Bar along far wall, benches on the opposite with round tables and stools opposite and a pool room upstairs.

Its ok, but I think there are better examples of small pubs in this area. The beer was good though, 4 real ales, and therefore a place to probably include on a beer crawl. With the beer, probably a 6 1/2.

On 26th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

This is a small and, in many ways, typical Soho back street boozer. The simple rectangular room has wooden flooring, red and cream walls and pew and low stool seating arranged around its perimeter. A long row of bar stools along the bar counter were fully occupied, making it very difficult to get served. The room is brightened up somewhat by the large number of potted plants that stand on the window sills and these are complimented by a nice floral display in the hanging baskets outside. Music played quietly throughout my stay whilst TV screens were showing muted Super Bikes coverage. A sign pointed to an upstairs seating area which also has a pool table, although I didn’t get to explore the room myself. Menus on the tables list some simple pub grub at sensible prices, although I didn’t notice anyone eating, despite my lunchtime visit.
The beer choice was Wells Eagle IPA, Sambrooks Wandle (£3.60), Taylor Landlord, Sharp’s Doom Bar and Fuller’s London Pride. I gave the Wandle a try and was pleased to find that it was in good condition and it slipped down very easily. The staff were very friendly and dealt with the problem of lots of people blocking the bar very well.
This is a nice enough place to stop off for a quick pint, although I’m not sure that there was enough of interest here to make me want to stay for a session. The place has a good deal of character and should be included on any crawl of Soho.

On 7th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2538 recommendations about 2538 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

This is a street corner pub, just off Soho Square at the Oxford St end of the district. The main bar on the ground floor is a small affair, basically furnished with the bar on the back wall and leather covered banquettes around the two external walls, plus stools at round Britannia type tables. There are pot plants on the window cills and small bottles containing a few daffodils on each table. the textured patterned ceiling may be original, certainly it has some vintage, but there isn't much else of note. Two TVs were showing live Premier League football on Saturday afternoon, courtesy of some Greek channel, to a vaguely interested group of punters. Upstairs is another bar with a pool table taking centre stage; there is a big screen up here but this was muted with the juke box playing.
Five handpumps, not a bad range, Pride, Sambrooks Wandle, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Redemption Pale Ale and Meantime London Pale Ale (£3.60...not bad for this area). Tasting notes on the pump clips. Food served, a group of lads were enjoying hearty looking plates of sausage and mash. It didn't look much from the outside, and it is a basic sort of pub, but I thought this place was alright.

On 22nd April 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

A two storey pub on a corner in the back streets of Soho, Nellie Dean's is a basic, bare-boarded pub with tv, gaming machines and basic pub grub. It folows the local pattern of having a bar dowstairs and restaurant (well, the room where the food is served) upstairs. It's a bit shabby, but the greeting is friendly and the food is a fair price. There were 4 ales on - I had Harvey's Sussex which was in decent condition. Worth dropping in for a pint or a snack, or including in a crawl.

On 29th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2574 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Nellie Dean of Soho

From 1988 to 1991 this was our office local and we'd go here virtually every night. The barmen were Irish and the Guinness was excellent. There was also this ghastly resident terrier which would attack all and sundry - it would venture out into the street and all would pray that it'd get hit by a car. We'd get plates of complimentary Cheddar cheese and order a Cornish pasty before playing pool upstairs.

Ian Hislop was a regular pre-HIGNFY, and I once sat next to Peter Cook at the bar who seemed a bit Brahms. That said, this pub was a bit downmarket; I visited it many years later and little had changed minus the awful hound. I doubt I'll go again as there are far better pubs in the area.

On 27th March 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 996 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Nellie Dean

I had a very enjoyable night playing pool in the upstairs bar last week with a few friends. The pool table is in the middle of the room and you have to constantly ask people to shuffle out of the way for some shots, but we got too meet some colourful characters. The staff were generally pleasant and the offerings of IPA, 6X, Courage Best, Deuchars, Hoegarden, Staropramen and standard lagers seemed to be flowing well. No real ale is served upstairs, as is the case in most pubs, but the staff were pretty fast at knocking the drinks out in the main bar which has a plasma screen and an old TV, although these were both off during my visit.

The walk down to the toilet is treacherous as the ceiling does not clear the steps by more than 5.5 feet, so mind your head after a few beers.

I liked it in here and would gladly return.

On 17th December 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]