User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2020 Spring crawl: Preston on Friday, 17th April with Spinko on the Pub Forum

King & Queen, Fitzrovia, W1

1 Foley Street
W1
W1W 6DL

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about King & Queen

Dating from 1767 and rebuilt in 1903 for Watney's, my experience pretty much mirrors that of others below, except that the carpet may have been replaced.
This is very much a locals' boozer, off the beaten or touristy track, in the shadow of the Post Office Tower.
The manager here took pride in looking after his ales, making sure that there was a goodly amount of pull through and checking clarity; service was friendly.
One unused pump then three ales available: Tribute, Brakspear's Gravity and Ghost Ship at £2.50 a half and very nice too.
This makes for a decent stop in the area, away from tourists or office workers.

On 13th October 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1305 recommendations about 1284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about King & Queen

A one-room street corner local with little to distinguish it from hundreds of its type in London. Some effort has been made, by covering the wood panelling above the bar and on the front wall with numerous portraits of kings and queens of England, The bar itself is a dark wood affair with hooks but no rail. Five hand pumps with nothing to excite: Adnams Ghost Ship, Marstons 61 Deep, Ruddles Best and St Austell Tribute. The Ruddles was in good condition, but it's not a particularly pleasant tasting beer, or perhaps the bad taste in my mouth was being charged not far short of £5 a pint. (Luckily I only had a half.)

On 15th January 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about King & Queen

A good looking street corner boozer,with quite a small interior but a worn and comfortable feeling.The carpeted interior has a high bench under one window and a lower long bench under the other window.A column breaks up the rear into a small snug,while the bar curves around the right wall giving lots of points of access while bar stools don't lead to blocking.It's all very traditional and thankfully the sports flatscreens were turned off when nothing was on.The pub grub menu seemed very good value mostly under £10.
There are 5 handpumps serving on my trip St Austell Tribute,Brakspear Gravity,Banks's Sunbeam,Adnams Southwold Bitter and seasonal Sloe Storm (NBSS 2.5 ,an indistinct brew).This rather mainstream ,low ABV ale selection may limit the appeal to beer hunters but the authentic atmosphere is worth enjoying,sadly this facet has been lost in so many London pubs which have gone corporate.The K & Q hasn't and is a good 'un.

On 14th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2198 recommendations about 2198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about King & Queen

The ales on here were Banks Park Brewery Sunbeam; St Austell Tribute; Breakspear Bitter (£2 a half); Adnam's Southwold; and Hobgoblin Golden IPA. This is a decent enough selection. Very simple menus were put out on the tables at noon, explaining that a full kitchen service is unavailable at present, but offering a range of sandwiches, mostly at £3.50 - £4.0 a pop.

The carpet's seen much better days, as has the upholstery on the banquettes and the small stools. The tables are all square dark varnished affairs, and there are no sofas or tall tables/stools. There are miscellaneous plaques and framed cigarette cards above the brick built fireplace, but the best feature for me was the array of framed portraits of various kings and queens above the bar counter. And they were all "real" kings and queens - no Elvis or King Kong here. The only heritage feature that I noticed was the large capitalled pillar in the centre of the room.

This struck me as a real, comfortable, and welcoming pub. It looks the sort of place that's far enough off the beaten track not to attract too many tourists. Although I was in at very early doors, one or two punters that were known to the landlady turned up - regulars presumably. I was once told by a chum that any pub that had Breakspear's Bitter on must score highly - that's a 7 for me.

On 16th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2590 recommendations about 2504 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about King & Queen

Attractive corner pub, with a compact bar dominated by a slightly curious black-painted counter shaped like an ice hockey stick. Traditional furniture and decor. Old brass-look NCR manual cash till also a feature. Adnams Southwold, Mansfield Bitter, Tribute and the curious Banks's Botanical (£3.80) available from four of five handpumps (with a reversed Brakspear Bitter clip also noted) on this visit. Overall, not a bad place to stop if in the area.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6612 recommendations about 6612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The King & Queen

A proper corner local in an area that doesn’t necessarily look like it would need one. The exterior is striking in that it has a large corner tower, visible from quite some distance down the road. Four ales available (Adnams Bitter, St Austell Tribute, Doom Bar and Dartmoor) priced at a slightly high £3.40. The two I had were both of a good standard, though judging from other reviews elsewhere the quality of beer has improved considerably in recent years, so much so that it is now in the Good Beer Guide (2010) for that area of London - not bad for a former Watney’s house (their old sign is visible on the exterior). I also spotted a good range of whiskies. The single bar layout looks like it has literally come out of the Watney’s mid-70’s catalogue in terms of décor; it also smells a bit musty, need to get the upholstery cleaned methinks. Some bits of old Victoriana remain - the old looking brass till behind the bar made me smile and there’s some nice tile work in the tiny gents. Pictures of old kings and queens are hung around the walls along with rugby paraphernalia which looks to be often shown of the big screen (switched off during my visit). Piped radio filled the otherwise quiet atmosphere on a grim weekday afternoon.

I thought this was a worthwhile visit and would recommend it for a pint.

On 30th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The King & Queen

A pleasant street corner pub in the shadow of the Telecom Tower, it has its own rather gothic tower built over the corner entrance, shown in the pictures above. K and Q picked out in gold on the door glazing. One room downstairs with the bar on the end wall. The central now closed door clearly shows the original two room format. Decor consists of a random mix of kings and queens through history, including a framed playing card set, and rugby/cricket pics/memorabilia. Rugby seems to be an important element here with TV fixtures advertised.
Plenty of seating with banquettes around the perimeter, small square tables with stools plus taller stools at the bar. The bar itself has those little hooks, useful for hanging your coat or bag. A room upstairs is available for hire, and has an interesting selection of old brewery mirrors. A free house now but the old signage and the adjoining photos suggest a previous Watney Coombe Reid house.
St Austell Tribute, Adnams Bitter, and Purity Mad Goose, with Deuchers reversed on the fourth pump when I visited.
Good beer quality and despite earlier reviews, it was spotlessly clean, well worthy of a look in. The pub features in the 2010 GBG

On 19th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Castro-Garcia left this review about The King & Queen

Often looks too busy as a walk past, when I did brave this one it was worth it - Adnams Southwold Bitter, St Austell Tribute, Mad Goose (off)

On 14th January 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 22 recommendations about 22 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The King & Queen

Oh dear, a strange one this!

Its a bit basic inside with benches set in straight lines and doesn't seem to have a nice feel about it, as though it was put together quickly.

The service was appalling and the two ladies behind the bar obviously didn't want to be there. To top it all a bloke in a suit walked in behind me, talking loudly on a mobile, and still got served before me without stopping his conversation & obviously well known there.

Seems to confirm review below, it was that kind of place.

On 13th November 2009 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The King & Queen

This is a very good pub with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Adnams, Tribute and Deuchars were available during my visit along with John Smiths, Carlsberg, Fosters, San Miguel and Guinness. My Deuchars was very good.

There is plenty of seating and you have to walk yourself through it to get to the bar. There is a big plasma screen and most of the customers seemed to be in their twenties.

I would recommend this pub and I would be glad to visit it again myself.

On 16th December 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]

Page: 1 2