User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Hope Fitzrovia, Fitzrovia, W1

15 Tottenham Street
W1
W1T 2AJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Hope Fitzrovia

A first for us here and I have to agree with most of what has been written below, especially the negative aspects: adjectives such as bland, impersonal or dreary apply. We also didn't take to the large TVs facing one another blasting out football, though at least they provided some illumination in the gloom.

The lavatories are downstairs and really are a bit grotty - poorly maintained with graffiti.

A friendly barmaid and on offer: 1 clip reversed, Woodforde's Wherry and Redlight and Brew House's American Hop which was good and priced £2.20.

I really don't think I can recommend this place and won't be returning. The Carpenters Arms across the road is way better.

On 30th March 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1513 recommendations about 1493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Hope Fitzrovia

Very compact pub with a second bar at first-floor level (although this is generally just used as a seating area to supplement the meagre amount of furniture downstairs). Also has a limited amount of space out on the pavement. Unremarkable decor, but there does appear to be a burger menu (although this seems to be a bit optimistic since there is little prospect of people finding somewhere to sit and eat). Four handpumps on the main counter, with Doom Bar, Landlord, Tribute and Proper Job (£4.30) on offer this time.

On 21st November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Hope

Just off the main drag. Interior as described below. 4 real ales.

On 23rd August 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Hope

This is a small, single room street corner pub tucked away behind Goodge Street station. The roughly square shaped room has bare floorboards and minimal seating, mainly comprising a few high tables and stools under the front windows. There is a large open space between the seating and servery which runs along the rear wall, allowing for plenty of much needed vertical drinking space during busier periods. The walls have mainly been painted a rather drab shade of grey, although the wall behind the servery is bare brick, whilst the left hand wall has wallpaper depicting various London landmarks. There were a couple of TV screens facing each other on opposite walls, both showing a football chat show whilst loud music played in lieu of any sound from the TVs. A corridor on the left hand side of the pub has stairs which lead up to a small second bar. The room is carpeted with a long banquette and a few small tables, whilst the walls have been covered with another type of wallpaper which also depicts famous London buildings. There’s not a great deal of interest up here, but I did spot an old window pane bearing the Whitbread logo and a couple of Yorkshiremen were settling down to watch their team play a rugby league match on the room’s only TV screen.
The upstairs bar is ale free so you’ll need to get your drinks from the main bar downstairs. This bar had four hand pumps dispensing Harvey’s Best, Sharp’s Doom Bar and Castle Rock Harvest Pale as well as Thatcher’s cider. I gave the Harvest Pale a try and thought it was pretty well kept. It was very busy at the bar and the staff did an excellent job of keeping things moving to avoid long waits.
I thought this place lacked a bit of character and would have been almost anonymous were it not for a half decent selection of ales. I wouldn’t complain if I found myself here again, but you can find more interesting places to relax over a pint in the surrounding area.

On 11th October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Hope

Small corner pub with high ceiling. Despite its size there were 2 Sky Sports screens, though the sound was low volume.

High tables and stools to one wall, lower benches to the other. Lots of glazing allowing lihght in, the bar is against a brick wall. Nice feel, slightly trendy, friendly service.

3 real ales, slightly warm - Castle Pale, Sharps Doom, Harveys Sussex BB.

On 26th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1347 recommendations about 1324 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Blue left this review about The Hope

I visited this small and spartan corner pub on Thursday evening. The beer selection and quality seem to have improved markedly since the below reviewers’ visits. The four ale pumps were fully populated with Windsor and Eton Knight of the Garter, Wye Valley HPA, and Woodforde’s Wherry, and I had good pints of each, and a fourth beer which I can’t recall. The barman who I took to be the landlord and the barmaid were both friendly and efficient and managed very well on what turned into quite a busy evening. This was a good boozer for a few rounds with a group whether sitting or standing, and I’d happily come back here.

On 21st May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 271 recommendations about 270 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Hope

They had Doom Bar (at £3.10 a pint), Courage Directors, GKIPA and London Pride on. According to a sign outside this is an Enterprise Inns pub. I didn’t eat here, but the menu was reassuringly basic, with mains at around the £7 mark, and sarnies at £4.25. The furnishings were simple and fairly Spartan, consisting of banquettes round the sides, accompanied by small stools and small round metal pedestal tables. The middle of the room was empty. It seemed a bit Celtic to me, with both the banquettes and small stools upholstered in green, a green painted ceiling, and Irish folk music being played a bit too loudly for my taste. There was no decor on the walls except for chalkboards (wine lists and the like) and a small advertising poster for the World Cup. The decor on the walls in the stairway leading down to the gents was more impressive than anything in the pub itself, consisting of painted wooden boards of a steam train, and “The Cricketers”. This seemed to be a very basic pub, although I didn’t visit the upstairs bar, so it might have been better than the main bar. There was only one other punter in during my visit, drinking a pint of lager and reading his newspaper. I found this pub to be somewhat impersonal and characterless. On the plus side however, the Doom Bar I had was OK, and it might represent a less crowded refuge at times, but I doubt whether I’ll bother to visit again.

On 16th May 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Hope

I visited here one evening last week and there were two barmaids on; one was talking to a guy at the bar, and the other was cheerfully but very slowly serving the two blokes in front of me. Whilst at the bar I had plenty of time to note that Pride, Adnams, Landlord and Doombar were all available along with a very limited lager selection. The Landlord was on good form and the barmaid let me try it before I ordered a pint. I'm not sure why, but I'm never one to look a gift horse in the mouth.

The pub also has the ability to show Sky Sports and Setanta on its small plasma screen.

There isn't much wrong with this place and I'd pop in again if passing.

On 3rd November 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3930 recommendations about 3906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Hope

A former favourite of mine from some years ago, but I hadn't been in for a while. Six pumps but only two on yesterday, Pride and Wooden Hand Brewery's Cornish Buccaneer. A decent brew but served slighly hazy. This is a smallish street corner bar with a wooden floor, panelled wainscotting with seating around the perimeter of the L shaped bar area. A further room upstairs remains unvisited by myself. A better beer choice would up this a mark as would a good clean and tidy as things are a bit shabby it must be said. I'm not sure what the Jolly Roger flags are for. Stand Up is advertised on Tuesdays at four quid.

On 7th September 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Hope

Used to go in this pub in the 70s and happily it hasn't changed much.Very small single bar with up to four real ales on.Just around the corner from Goodge Street station.

On 4th November 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]