User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Green Man, Fitzrovia, W1

36 Riding House Street
W1
W1W 7EP
Phone: 02075809087

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Green Man

Dating from the mid-18th century but rebuilt in 1899, the place seems unchanged since Rex’s review with, some tidy heritage details gaining it a place on CAMRA’s historic interiors’ website as being of Regional Importance, though there’s now a white shiny tiled bar back; isn’t there one everywhere? More importantly, there’s some Minton-style tiles to an entrance which you certainly won’t find everywhere.
However, the heritage was hard to make out as it’s a bit gloomy and the music was very loud, playing to a young crowd and possibly very gay too.
There were two ales ‘coming soon’ but too late for me, otherwise it was Doom or Neck Oil at a wincing £3.35 a half.
The pub is ok but the way it’s run lets it down. Even the website falls short, claiming it’s in Marylebone when it’s resolutely in Fitzrovia. The heritage value lifts the grade a little, but there are just too many negatives to recommend it.

On 9th October 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1316 recommendations about 1295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Green Man

Very football oriented pub but nice enough.Very busy. GK-yardbird and Hogsback-tea on cask.Small and intimate with upstairs area as well.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Green Man

I reckon that this pub must have improved a bit since the previous reviewer's visit over a year ago. There were three ales on - Doom Bar, Darkstar Hophead and Purity UBU. I had a pint of the UBU which was in excellent condition, but at what I regard as an overly expensive - even for London - price of £4.55 a pint. Main menu meals are from £11 upwards (chicken, ham hock pie, red wine jus + seasonal veg) to the sirloin steak +++ at £14.75. Sunday lunch is £14.50, and there was a Wednesday meal advertised giving you a burger (loads to choose from) and drink for £11. The drinks included Doom Bar, but didn't say if it was a pint or a half.

This one retains plenty of original heritage feautures. They included what looked like a Lincrusta ceiling, Victorian bar counter, some etched/cut glass glazing, tiled flooring on the left that would have led to a separate room on the left. The slightly more elaborate fielded panelling around on the left of the bar counter indicates a room division. The best feature for me is the surviving glazed screening at the back that would have separated the rooms at the front from what would probably been the lounge at the back.

The pub is now fairly modernised, being bare-boarded with a few normal tables and chairs at the front, and the inevitable tall tables/tall stools along the side. The room at the back on the left beyond the surviving screenwork looks a more elegant and lounge-like area, perhaps more for relaxation than dining. There was some music playing, but not too loudly, whcich was quite "retro", including Chuck Berry and his contemporaries from the 50s and 60s. I also spotted board games on a shelf by the front window, surrounding a vase of flowers. I thought it was a friendly enough little pub at lunchtime, which seemed to be catering for young professionals lunching.

On 16th October 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Green Man

An unremarkable pub popular with University of Westminster staff. Fairly bare and scruffy interior which is quite small. Three on ales on; Purity UBU (cloudy), Summer Lightning (had bits in it) and Doom Bar. Camden and Meantime on keg which I was forced to switch to. Useless barman wouldn’t know a decent pint if it hit him between the eyes. Quite a lot of cider though if the state of it is on-par with the ale I wouldn't bother getting excited. Avoid this sorry excuse for a pub when there are places like the Golden Eagle and Masons within a few minutes stroll.

On 12th July 2015 - rating: 3
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Green Man

Smallish, 'J'-shaped bar with traditional furniture but pleasingly light decor. Orchard Room upstairs (not visited). Green and white awning at the front, with a few patio seats underneath. Busy, but well staffed. Cider is the main thing here, with two on handpump (located behind the bar) and numerous bottled offerings available. However, for the beer lover, there are also three real ales on tap - Doom Bar, Wandle and Mad Goose (£3.80, served in a jug). Overall, something a bit different, so worth a visit if in the area. (NB - Review dates from August 2012.)

On 3rd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Green Man

This is a small quirky pub that had a twenty-something clientele whilst I was there early one weekday evening. They ranged from local workers to cider loving students so there was a good mixture of conversation. I spotted some DJ equipment in the corner so there are obviously music nights here, but there is no sport and I don’t even remember spotting a screen.

I found the barman in here to be very friendly and even though it was busy I was served as soon as I got to the bar . Pure UBU and Doom Bar were the ale choices as the Pride was off, but there was a standard and premium draught selection and I counted seven draught ciders – although the A-board outside boasts eleven along with fifteen bottled ciders.

I’m not sure that I would return here as my Guinness wasn’t the best and I think that there are more comfortable pubs in the area.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]