User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Fitzroy Tavern, Fitzrovia, W1

16A Charlotte Street
W1
W1T 2LY
Phone: 02075803714

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Fitzroy Tavern

A man at the bar was querying with the (foreign-born) barman whether the seemingly original internal features here were merely reproduction, turning to me to confirm his view that it wasn't like this five years ago. I had to inform him that this was my first visit, but I have to say, if it's not original then it's a painstaking and careful restoration. I went in through the corner entrance, labelled "Public", which shares a very small section of the bar counter with the other rooms, one to the left and two (I think) to the right, the first one being separated by a glazed screen of about six foot in height. If you find yourself in the wrong room, you can put it right by either leaving the pub and entering by another door, or by descending to the toilets and following signs to the other side.

As well as the usual range of Sam's keg and bottled beers, there is hand pull Old Brewery Bitter here, and on the occasion of my visit it was in excellent condition. There was a decent crowd in for a Monday evening, which is not surprising with OBB at the equivalent of £3.50 a pint, compared to almost £5 in other pubs in the area. I would certainly include this one on a return visit to Fitzrovia.

On 15th January 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2658 recommendations about 2505 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Fitzroy Tavern

A rather wonderful recreation of a Victorian boozer. Multi-roomed and you can't move between most of them. Instead you need to go outside and use another entrance or, as I later discovered, go down to the traps which traverse both ends of the building like an underpass. The layout upstairs; to the centre and right is the etched glass and wood bit, and to the left is a darker and quieter area which houses the locals who are less fussed by the ornateness elsewhere. Cask OBB available here and so, the following week, would be the Stingo. Went for a Strawberry beer in attempt to complete the whole Sam’s set. I liked it here but it is a place where you need to time your visit well as there aren’t really that many seats and service at the single bar, encompassing many areas with no visible sight line, can be variable.

On 20th December 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Fitzroy Tavern

This pub has just one an award for best refurb but this style of pub leaves me cold.Tastless half of old brewery bitter.Cheap but not cheerful.

On 13th April 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Fitzroy Tavern

This used to be an office regular 30 years ago, so I can’t recall it at all well. We usually went here in the summer as it was one of the few pubs with substantial outdoor seating. You had to be wary though, as an elderly local man had an eye on your pint and if you put it down for a second, he’d grab it and start gulping. After that, you wouldn’t want it back.
The pub has a rich history of being patronised by the likes of Dylan Thomas, Tommy Cooper and Kenneth Williams. And Albert Pierrepoint. Recently refurbished to great acclaim, with the wrought iron pub names reinstated which are visible on Google from 2008. Apart from the fantastic etched glass to the picture windows and the superb ceiling, the whole interior looks brand new, I suspect because it may well be brand new, judging by the construction photos on the pub’s Facebook page. There are some partitions with glass infill, a lino floor, the name in mosaic tiling to the entrance floor with the walls and part of the ceiling clad in t ‘n’ g, all stained a shade of Ronseal brown; even the chiller cabinets appear to be integrated into the pub’s 'Victorian' fabric. Lighting comes from some Victorian-style brass lamps. There are a few glass-fronted cabinets full of 'period' household items such as a box of Elastoplast, circa 1950.
Friendly staff and Old Brewery on handpump at a cheap £1.60 a half though too cold.
I may be missing something here and require a return visit: I love my historic interiors and I applaud their restoration, but it just seems to lack character, unlike the recently restored Princess Louise, another member of the Sam Smith's stable.

On 31st March 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1001 recommendations about 986 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Fitzroy Tavern

Standard tidy Sams pub with the usual stuff on the bar.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Fitzroy Tavern

Sam Smith's pub with a central island bar serving the usual own label selection.

On 11th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2756 recommendations about 2699 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Fitzroy Tavern

Cheap and cheerful, but although I don't even drink OBB out of choice, I am still offended that it doesn't serve any cask beer. Even if only a few percent of the clientele wanted to buy real ale, there would ample demand to justify installation of at least one handpump. I can't image why Sam Smiths persist with this approach for some, but not all, of their central London pubs (it just seems pig-headed to me) so - as always - had to make do with a nice pint of Extra Stout (£3.40). Apart from that, it has attractive island bar layout plus a separate Writers & Artists Bar downstairs (never visited).

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]