User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bar snacks with Delboy20 on the Pub Forum

The Carpenters Arms, W1

12 Seymour Place
W1
W1H 7NE

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about The Carpenters Arms

Busy pub on Tuesday evening. Bar in the middle with five real ales but nothing of any strength.

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1382 recommendations about 1381 pubs]


Mark Davey left this review about The Carpenters Arms

A mate of mine has just taken a flat round the corner from the Carpenters and its now his local. Really well kept mainstream brews and nice chatty staff make it a decent place for an after work pint or a couple on a Sunday lunch. well worth a visit. They had Harvey's and Atlantic on the day we visited, both perfect.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Carpenters Arms

Closest GBG pub to my hotel.

Amazing locals feel to a place just off one of the busiest high streets in any City in the world.

Decent pint. Football. Darts!

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2doSoWX

On 23rd September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Carpenters Arms

An easy five minute walk from Marble Arch tube station, the Carpenters Arms is a pleasant traditional boozer and sister pub to the Market Porter in Borough Market. The pub has a single room layout with bare floorboards and a central U-shaped servery with a dark wood bar back, pump clip collection and large pillar midway around the counter with a decorative capital. The right hand wall has plain tiles with a decorative border and there is a nice mosaic tile floor which bears the pub's name in front of the entrance. Low back padded banquettes run underneath the modern, frosted front windows whilst there is a drinking ledge with high stools and the day's papers along the left wall, with some decorative lamps and another entrance with a disused curtain rail. To the rear, a long button backed banquette and standard chairs run under some carpentry themed wallpaper which has been enhanced with a collection of carpentry tools. The room extends slightly to the rear in a space with tongue and groove panelled walls with lots more tools on display, a dartboard and a few additional comfy seating options. Several screens throughout the pub were showing the evening's Premier League fixture with the commentary just about audible. The pub doesn't offer hot food, but I did notice pork pies and scotch eggs advertised on small blackboards.
There are six handpulls on the bar, but only three of them were in operation on this visit, offering Harvey's Best and Bonfire Boy and Wychwood Hobgoblin. I went for a pint of the Best, which was in pretty decent shape. There was a good mixed crowd in on a Saturday early evening and I found it a relaxing spot to read my paper and watch the football.
This is a nice, welcoming pub of the sort where you can easily settle down for an hour or two. A stronger ale line up might make the place a more essential destination, but it remains a strong option should you find yourself in this part of town.

On 23rd November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2157 recommendations about 2157 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Carpenters Arms

Quietish side road pub close to Marble Arch and not far from Oxford St either. Plenty of external flora, large windows and it looks inviting. Internally it’s a fairly tight layout, the main room wrapped around the curved bar with an extra area beyond (darts here). There’s a small amount of historic tiling to the right of entrance as well as some nice raised burgundy leatherette seating. I also spotted some mechanical prints of some old contraption. Six pumps, four beers from Truman's (fair), Ringwood, Harveys and Sunny Republic. Decent little place I’d be happy to re-do.

On 7th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3643 recommendations about 3631 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Carpenters Arms

One of the better pubs in this area for beer choice. Nice friendly pub when quiet. Been here numerous times but like Moby cant say I have had a great beer. My Vale -Good King Senseless was okay.

On 21st December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 858 recommendations about 847 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about Carpenters Arms

A very nice looking pub of the traditional persuasion,one U shaped room with the bar in front of you as you walk in from either door,there were four beers available,Cottage Nimrod,Okham Inferno,the other two slip my mind for as soon as I saw the Inferno my choice was made,unfortunately this is where the positive's end,this was my second visit to the Carpenter's
the first being two years ago and unlike the previous review I haven't had a good beer yet,in 2010 in a group of three we tried four different beers between us and not one was sensibly drinkable, I can understand one being off as long as it is changed when noticed but not four,and on this occasion to add insult to injury there was a lack of concern or comprehension from the Eastern European barmaid.However giving the pub another chance yesterday I was sorry to find that although drinkable the my beer was not in good condition with the slight smell of apples,a green pint,poor cellarmanship? Its a shame because this could be a very nice pub,maybe it is but not in my two experiences .Poor beer=poor pub.

On 8th September 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1157 recommendations about 1146 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about Carpenters Arms

Excellent pub with fine selection of ales - I've never had a bad one here. Well worth seeking out if you've had enough of being dragged around the Oxford Street shops - she can always call you on your mobile when she's had enough of shopping! (Well, that's what I do!). Only pub worth visiting at this end of Oxford Street now that The Mason's Arms has gone.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Carpenters Arms

A popular and friendly pub that’s a little off the beaten track, even though it’s just a stone’s throw from Edgeware Road. It’s essentially a single room affair with a U-shape bar counter, although there is also a protrusion to the rear that can be curtained off for semi-private events.

There are large, dual aspect windows, with leather bench seating arranged in rows perpendicular to the windows at the front. The flooring is dark reclaimed boards and there are a number of old photographs of the pub on the wall along with a large selection of beer mats.

There were three plasmas dotted around showing the cricket, although the sound was off. There was also a board detailing some upcoming premiership matches. All the barmaids seemed friendly.

Beers on this occasion were Jimmy Riddle, Cottage Evening Star and Slater’s Craic. There was also a fourth pump on the bar, although this was not in use on our visit. The solitary cider was Strongbow, unfortunately.

On 28th March 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1593 recommendations about 1534 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Carpenters Arms

A rare real ale oasis in this part of London with a wide selection available. Six handpumps had RCH Pitchfork, Sambrooks Wandle, Harveys Sussex Best, Oxfordshire Ale's Back in Time and Slaters Premium Bitter and Haka on. I tried a Haka and didn't move off it which probably says much about its quality and keeping.
Pleasantly buzzing on a Saturday evening I'd imagine it gets very busy during the week post work.
Well worth seeking out.

On 26th October 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 636 recommendations about 635 pubs]

Page: 1 2