User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Angel in the Fields, Marylebone, W1

37 Thayer Street
W1
W1U 2QR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Angel in the Fields

Wasn’t much looking forward to my revisit so my chum could tick it off as part of our Sam’s Challenge but things seem to have improved. A former Henekeys pub, the neo-Gothic fittings remain with the floral-themed stained glass windows being the star; and visiting during early afternoon meant that they were better appreciated. The downstairs bar is really quite small but has had a spruce-up in the last 10 years, and the appearance of burning logs in the large stone fireplace helped immensely. Interesting cross-section of Sam’s punters – students, soaks, North Americans and faded bohemians who no doubt were minor celebs in the area 50 years ago. No cask OBB here, but my Man in a Box was the best example I've had. Worth a look-in.

September 2010
A two floored Sam Smith’s outlet located five minutes away from Oxford Street. As with many Sam Smith’s pubs in London there’s a bit of heritage factor about the place, in this case the wood panelling and ornate ancient-looking stained glass windows downstairs public bar which otherwise feels very drab and small – not helped by the uncomfortable seating – most depressing. The lounge bar upstairs is a rather nicer looking affair and should be quite cosy. However it wasn’t because the staff had propped open the downstairs door so cold air was blowing up the wind tunnel stairs and into the room; there was a fire there but it doesn’t look like it gets used much which is a shame as this room could be a real selling point. There’s a dartboard available, although you’ll be lucky to get near it most evenings. Drinks-wise, it’s the usual Sam Smiths selection (excluding their token real ale of OBB) and cheap prices so you takes your pick. I did notice in here that fridge wasn’t particularly well stocked – I couldn’t locate any of their Oatmeal Stout for example. To be honest I didn’t enjoy my visit and I doubt I’ll go back again now I’ve seen the windows. Rated 5

On 11th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Angel in the Fields

Sam smiths pub that is maybe a bit rough round the edges compared to some of the other pubs they have in London. Quite a dark interior lightened a little by the stained glass windows. Didn’t visit upstairs.

On 3rd October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2756 recommendations about 2699 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Angel in the Fields

One room Sam Smiths pub with the bar to the left. Nothing unusual on the bar itself. I found it bit gloomy because of all the dark wood, unlike Tris C below.

On 23rd July 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Angel in the Fields

Another first here the other night to what was originally and presumably quite satisfactorily called the Angel and I hadn’t made the mental preparation necessary when entering a Sam Smith’s pub, safe in the knowledge that their beer isn’t great, even if you can get it on cask. True to form, and proof positive that a Tadcasterman is never wrong, it was OB Business as usual for just £1.60 a half. However, what a lovely pub. As mentioned, there’s plenty of traditional dark wood, wonderful stained glass, an interesting mottled red lino floor, simple furniture and most impressive of all, a centrally located stone fireplace burning real logs – I love the smell of wood smoke in the morning! There’s also a dartboard though given its location, I suspect that our guardian Angel, AKA Health & Safety [in the Field?], may well prevent its use.
A rare example of a traditional pub in Marylebone, this is a very nice hostelry indeed and I’d happily spend a winter’s evening here, providing I can get pints of Oakham’s from the Prince Regent Deliveroo’d here.
Note the early closing on Sundays.

On 27th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 999 recommendations about 984 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Angel in the Fields

Handily located on a main thoroughfare in the heart of Marylebone, this is a marvellous old Sam Smith’s pub with the sort of well kept traditional interior you come to expect from this company. You enter into a corridor with a door to the bar on the left and a staircase up to the restaurant in front of you. The bar has a linoleum floor with a large U-shaped servery on the front wall stood under some pretty huge barrels which are perched up on the bar back, high above the attractive dark wood counter. The room is furnished with hard bench and low stool seating, which runs around the perimeter, leaving a decent space in the centre of the room for vertical drinking. The highlight of this room, for me at least, has to be the beautiful stained glass windows depicting various plants and flowers, which run around two sides of the room. When backlit by the sun, as they were on our visit, they look magnificent and turn a pleasant room into an exceptional one. A large stone fireplace dominates the back wall and the room is finished off with dark wood wall panelling and rustic ceiling beams. Upstairs, the restaurant comes as a relative disappointment, with its small, plain servery tucked away in one corner, modern carpeting and standard tables and chairs set up for dining. However, there is still plenty of attractive dark wood throughout and the windows bear a quaint leaf motif. The fireplace here was lit, which was welcome on a cold autumn day and the lone barmaid/waitress dealt admirably with an ever-busier room all on her own.
As with a lot of Sam Smith’s London pubs, this place doesn’t bother with the keg version of Old Brewery Bitter, so I gave their Stout a try instead, which was a pleasant enough change. We stopped by for food and found our choices to be pretty tasty but probably a bit overpriced for what they were.
This is a really attractive pub with an interior that is well worth taking a little time out to explore. The place obviously won’t suit all due to its reluctance to serve cask ale, but unlike most Sam Smith’s pubs, it did seem able to attract a wide range of customers and had a comparatively lively, vibrant feel to it. I wouldn’t race back having now enjoyed the interior, but wouldn’t rule out a return entirely.

On 3rd January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Angel In The Fields

A traditional Sam Smith’s pub on the Marylebone High Street, it consists of a single downstairs room with dark wood panelling on much of the walls and another room upstairs although we did not investigate this. Food is offered here apparently, but we did not check the menu.

The pub sits on a corner plot, but the side road is not quite a right angle, and consequently the bar has a slight wedge shape to it. Stained glass windows are on two sides which is an attractive feature, and this together with the wood panelling and dark brown paint on the ceiling lends it a traditional Victorian ambience, although the red lino like floor covering could perhaps be improved. A small bay window is an unusual feature between the stairs and the bar. A fire-place was at the rear, although whether this is still in use I am unsure and there was a darts board in one corner.

Beers on tap were the usual somewhat uninspiring keg range from Sam Smith’s and consisted of their Old Brewery Bitter and Sovereign. The solitary cider was also their own Reserve.

On 1st April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Angel In The Fields

Square-ish corner bar, most notable for the decorative stained and etched windows. Dark wood panelling and furniture. Darts in one corner. Lounge bar upstairs (not visited). Adopts the annoying Sam Smiths policy found in many of its London pubs of not having the cask version of OBB, so resorted to the Extra Stout (nice enough, but hardly the cheap pint it once was at £3.40). (NB - Review dates from July 2012.)

On 17th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Angel In The Field

This is a Sam Smiths pub with old ornate windows that are worth a look, but there is no Old Brewery Bitter on hand pump leaving only limited draught products.

Staff were very friendly, but this is not the best example of an SS pub.

On 30th September 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3587 recommendations about 3566 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Angel In The Field

This is an attractive and comfortable looking Sam Smith’s pub. But it still only has the keg version of Old Brewery Bitter, which is a shame as it looks to be a pretty decent pub. I doubt whether it will be getting my custom.

On 9th May 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]