User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
It's been a long time with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The Barley Mow, Marylebone, W1

8 Dorset Street
Marylebone
W1
W1U 6QJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Barley Mow

Attractive, old-fashioned (in a good way) London pub with a 'U'-shaped layout featuring some traditional 3/4-height wooden screened booths to the left of the central counter. With limited space for more furniture at the front and the right-hand side, and only a few tables in the rear 'VIP Room', many of the punters were out on the pavement as is usual in these parts. Traditionally decorated with a fine display of pump clips too. Four of the six handpumps were in use on this visit, with real ales ranging from Doom Bar, XT 4 Session Amber and Windsor & Eton Corker! and Over the Moon mild from Dark Star (£4.90).

On 29th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Barley Mow

Having been pleasantly surprised, a couple of Mondays ago, to see a dartboard hidden behind the bar, and in use, I returned yesterday with friends for a comedy throw/keenly competitive game of tactics.
We waited until other customers had vacated the area, and were moving a couple of tables to enable play, when we were curtly told that the board was only for use by a team on Monday nights, and ‘had we asked permission?’..
Seriously? Can we use a dartboard in a public house? The board should carry a sign denoting ‘not for public use’. We didn’t buy another £18 round, I won’t be back.

On 25th November 2018 - rating: 3
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Barley Mow

Quirky interior with some wooden booths/snugs. 6 real ales.

On 23rd October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2729 recommendations about 2672 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Barley Mow

Bar in centre as you come in. Booths to the left and open at the right and rear. Six real ales - nothing above 4.5% ABV.

On 16th July 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Barley Mow

Nice little pub a short stroll from the main drag. If you are visiting for a trip to Wembley and want to avoid the crush of the Globe and the Spoons it is worth popping in here and the nearby Beehive. You can actually get served and get a decent pint!

On 7th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Barley Mow

Tucked away down one of the many side streets in Marylebone, this is a lovely heritage pub with a very unusual interior for Central London. You enter into a fairly straightforward main bar area comprising an L-shaped space with a dark wood servery on the rear wall. Banquette and low stool seating is available along the front and right hand sides and the walls have tongue and groove panelling decorated with pump clips, a nice Fullers mirror, a fine portrait of the pub and a TV screen which was switched off in favour of a drab selection of pop music. Over to the left, some attractive mid-height panelled screens along the end of the servery have been used to create two private snugs, each with their own door, accessed by a passageway down the left side of the pub. The snugs are pretty basic with simple seating, hooks for coats and bags and access to the servery but not much else. It’s also perhaps a bit misleading to describe them as ‘private’ – most people will be able to poke their head over the top of the panels to have a look inside. To the rear left there is a final small seating area, again with bar access, in a smartly carpeted space with comfy, if somewhat limited, seating. This seemed like a very pleasant place to enjoy a few drinks, especially as the front part of the pub was packed out for someone’s work leaving do. There is no garden but a decent sized area had been fenced off to the front of the pub, creating the usual London al-fresco drinking scene.
There were six ales on the go here on my mid-week visit – Black Sheep Bitter, Fullers London Pride, Gales Seafarers, Sharps Doom Bar, XT2 and West Berks Mister Chubbs. I also noticed a few Camden beers plus London Pride on keg dispense, although I wasn’t able to figure out if the latter was available for the same price as the cask. The bar staff were friendly and dealt well with the large crowd at the bar, serving up a rather nice pint of the Mister Chubbs in the process.
This is a lovely old pub with a very interesting layout thanks to the little snugs down one side of the building. It was a bit of a spur of the moment addition to my crawl, but I’m certainly glad I popped in. It’s a great place to have a nose around with some decent beer and friendly, welcoming staff and I’ll hope to give it another go at a more peaceful time in the near future.

On 5th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Barley Mow

This pub is in the Camra Guide of National Heritage Pub Interiors, so well worth a visit. The main attraction here is the two drinking boxes attached the bar on the left hand side and the small snug at the rear. The pub interior is small, but the added tables and chairs out front adds the space. We went for the West Berks Mister Chubbs and the Fullers Olivers Island, which were well kept.

On 4th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Barley Mow

A pleasant enough pub a couple of blocks away from Marylebone High Street, it doesn’t have quite the Victorian grandeur of some other central London hostelries, but is nonetheless quite traditional and has no doubt remained unchanged for some time. It has an attractive appearance with a number of hanging baskets outside, and there is also some outside seating although according to a notice on the door the times that this can be used has recently been restricted due to complaints from local residents.

The pub consists of a larger bar at the front and a small snug at the rear. The front bar has wood flooring and two tone wood panelling on the walls, along with a number of beer mats and an old Fuller’s, Smith & Turner mirror. An interesting feature was two enclosed wooden booths to the left of the bar counter where you could sit in private but still access the bar to get your drinks refilled. The snug at the rear had a carpeted floor and included a couple of shelves of books that could be swapped. A notice advertised a Saturday quiz night, although by the time we arrived at 9:30pm there was no sign of it and the pub was fairly quiet. Food is apparently offered on lunch times and a small board offered a selection of burgers, wraps, chilli and pies at around a fiver.

Beers on tap were London Pride, Kings, Dark Star Festival, Oscar Wilde and Gale’s Spring Sprinter. The solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Barley Mow

Nice traditional pub if you like this style.Weird Tardis style wooden boxes dominate the left of the bar.Grotty toilets.The beer choice makes up for faults with 5 handpumps and the 2 beers I had from Mighty Oak and Sharps were good.Friendly staff.Worth a revisit soon.

On 21st December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Barley Mow

Located down a small road off Baker Street, this is worth a visit to see the two unique wooden Victorian drinking boxes attached to the bar counter, both with little doors affording almost complete privacy. Externally the pub is also nicely kitted-out, with an impressive floral arrangement and some outside seating which is pleasant; you feel quite removed from the bustle of central London. Other parts of the interior are perhaps less historic and are more straightforward and unmemorable. Five ales on at the bar which was a bonus, including two from Mauldon and a Dark Star seasonal. Both of my ales were in good shape and service was fairly good. There’s a collection of old pump clips displayed which indicates a good ale rotation and selection policy (I’m led to believe that this pub is free-of-tie). There’s enough here to make me mark this one down for a revisit sooner rather than later.

On 4th July 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]

Page: 1 2