User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Round Table, Leicester Square, WC2

27 St Martins Court
WC2
WC2N 4AL
Phone: 02078366436

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Round Table

Rebuilt in 1894, this was a regular of mine in the late ‘80s up to the late ‘90s, so a revisit it was, after more than 20 years.
It’s still pretty much how I remember it, but some of the aged wood panelling has been pared away to reveal trendy [not] bare brick; there’s some tedious dark grey paint too, with white ceiling, but of course this is a Greene King pub; I can’t remember if the floor had modern bare boards back then; probably not. Furniture is mixed high and low, but the bar back is attractive, with the name etched into a mirror; the curved bar front is unusual too, whilst a yard of ale hangs above it; lighting is low and brassy; there are some knickknacks in a glass fronted cupboard.
Ales: three pumps, with GK IPA ‘coming soon’, GK IPA ‘already here’ and one unused, so once again, Bavertown’s shares went up a fraction.
This is quite a decent little place, one of the more characterful and less touristy places in the area, so worth a minor detour if in the area, but only if something other than GK beers are on offer; this would get the score up by a point.

On 5th November 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1316 recommendations about 1295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Round Table

A reasonably cosy pub in a courtyard off Charing Cross Road, with a mixture of painted wood and bare brick walls and numerous dangling light fittings doing their best to brighten up the dark interior. There is an upstairs bar signed also but not visited. Not a large pub but boasted no fewer than 16 assorted keg and draught fonts, with handpumps including Abbot, IPA, London Glory and a guest of Exeter Brewery Fraid Knot, plus a couple of Lilley's ciders.

On 2nd October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Round Table

Tucked away off Charing Cross Road. Four hand pumps - I had Old Peculiar which was OK. Quiet on Tuesday afternoon. Watch out for the precipitous steps to the downstairs toilet!

On 15th February 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Round Table

Small Taylor Walker pub down an alleyway. 6 real ale taps. I found the interior a bit more characterful than most Taylor Walker pubs.

On 17th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2803 recommendations about 2745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Round Table

At busy times, this pub benefits from being in an alleyway just a few feet off the beaten track between the Covent Garden and Leicester Square areas and thus it doesn't get so crowded as many similar establishments nearby. However, during quieter periods it can feel distinctly empty... Inside, the small single-bar layout is typical Taylor Walker in terms of furniture and decor. I don't think the pavement seats ever see the sun, but there is also further seating upstairs (never visited). The bar staff are usually efficient. Now has six handpumps, four of which were in use on my latest visit, offering 1730 (£4.60), Doom Bar, Pedigree New World and Truman's Runner.

On 24th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Round Table

Three ales on during my mid afternoon visit – Abbot, London Pride and Young’s Bitter (£3.00 a pint). A fourth pump advertised the forthcoming availability of Surrey Swift; luckily I avoided that Greene King trap. This pub is down the alleyway (St Martin’s Court) from The Salisbury, and is very gloomy inside due to the tall buildings towering over it. There are some attractive leaded lights in the front windows, reminiscent of those in the Red Lion in Crown Passage. Inside, the flooring consists of dark varnished boards, standard issue tables, chairs and stools, plus some settles. The bar counter takes up almost the entire left hand side of the room, and the back wall is exposed brickwork hung with a few prints and the like. There were a couple of small TVs on the walls (they looked like old analogue jobs to me) but switched off leaving just the sound of the usual type of pop music. It was very quiet during my visit, with just myself in there, the barmaid having disappeared to do something in the back. During my visit it seemed just another soulless West End pub, but I’m sure it would be more vibrant at another time. But it serves its purpose, and although not somewhere worth seeking out, it’s OK for a quick pint.

On 16th April 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Round Table

Don't be fooled by the exterior - this is a pretty basic boozer (OK I had been spoilt by the 'wow' factor of several pubs that day before we dropped in here). Inside is a very small, unpretentious (alright, dull) little place that had a couple of ales on (Bombardier and Theakston's Old Peculiar) in average condition. I enjoyed the old skool music selection, made the stop-off a little more memorable, hope they stick with that policy on a regular basis.

On 28th February 2007 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]