User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon), Leicester Square, WC2

28 Leicester Square
WC2
WC2H 7LE
Phone: 02078392837

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Not having visited for many years, this was smaller than I remember it but still a reasonable size, if somewhat long and narrow. In direct contravention to other pubs locally and most 'Spoon's, the toilets are on the ground floor, although they get their own back by making it a long way in. It does seem to remain a fairly reliable source of a good range of decent beer at reasonable prices for the West End though.

On 2nd October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Usually packed solid, with an inconvently narrow bar, but good value for the heart of the West End. Not as much choice as some of the other, larger Wetherspoons in central London, but usually several interesting guest beers on offer from the ten handpumps (e.g. the local Hop Air Balloon from By the Horns at £3.55 on my last visit). The outside seating at the front used to be a good spot to watch the world go by, but is now more smoky than the interior ever was in the old days. Overall, better than one might expect.

On 7th October 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Strange Spoons but adequate real ale which came at a reasonable price with one of my CAMRA vouchers. Probably would return if pressed.

On 9th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

This was the first West End Spoons to open back in 1992. Like many Spoons it is more like a large continental cafe than a pub.

At around 11:00 on a Friday morning it was virtually empty, so there were no problems getting served. Sadly half of the beers on offer were not from a small local brewery or taken from the official guest ale list, but a plus point was that there was no GK Ruddles or IPA. The beers were GK Abbot and Fuller's London Pride doubled up, Doombar, Marston's Wakatu Single Hop, Adnam's Explorer, Thornbridge Jaipur IPA, Twickenham Naked Ladies and Windsor & Eton Conqueror Black IPA. I went for the Conqueror IPA (£3.15) which was in good condition. On the price front it's worth noting that the pint I had here was only 30p less than the one I had in the Harp, so Central London Spoons can not be called cheap.

I've not been impressed by Central London Spoons, but this one was better than I expected it to be.

On 28th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Popped in again the other week out of convenience and appreciated it a little more than previous, though being 9pm on an end-of-month Monday probably helped. I counted 10 ale pumps with 9 seemingly operational though a number were doubled-up with the usual JDW standards. The pint of Hambledon I had was perfectly acceptable. Seems to have had a bit of a refurb if I’m not mistaken. Prices are generally lower than the nearby competition but much higher than the usual JDW town centre prices, even Mullet Man can’t resist a cheeky dip into people’s pockets. Upped my score by a point.

September 2010
Fairly perfunctory Wetherspoons that suffers from being in perhaps the busiest part of London yet is one of the smaller JDWs I’ve been in. It gets stupidly busy and often the ale range (which is already smaller than usual at a 'Spoons) is decimated as the staff are usually too dozy to sort it out when a pump runs dry. So why go? Basically, because it offers ‘Spoons prices and at least some form of ale choice in the area, even with all the aforementioned drawbacks (although the more switched-on punter knows that the sublime Harp is, in fact, mere moments away in the right direction). If you fight your way to the bar, you might just get lucky – it depends how gagging you are for a beer, really. Score: 4

On 5th April 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Not a good 'spoons by any stretch of the imagination but I have been in a few times - most recently last Christmas Eve when it was absolutely heaving and five deep at the bar - the staff were magnificent and I got served within about two minutes! I still wouldn't make a habit of coming here though with so many other decent pubs in the locality.

On 12th July 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly average Spoons with the usual decor, cheap fittings and indifferent bar staff. The single large bar is quite depressing, given its location - a great shame and not somewhere I would want to come when there are so many better pubs within a few yards. Seven ales on, I had a pint of Adnams Gun Hill which tasted OK, but was, as ever, too cold.

On 13th January 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2586 recommendations about 2560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Small Wetherspoons pub in the heart of tourist land, I had low expectations but came away fairly pleased. A half decent ale selection, with the Wetherspoons standards plus three guests. Tried the Caledonian Escape Claus which was very nice. Staff were very friendly and even enjoyed a bit of banter.
The layout comprises of a series of seats arranged along a wall opposite the bar, with a gangway between and a small open area to the front. The closed confines seemed at odds with the Wetherspoons style - but to the pubs benefit.
Was busy but not crowded at 6pm on a Sunday and served well as a pit-stop before moving on elsewhere.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

A below par Wetherspoons in the heart of London's most toursity hot spot and for such a prime position this is hardly a great representative of Wetherspoons at its best (although cynics may argue Wetherspoons don't have a best). The interior is narrow with low ceilings and despite mirrors down one side that make it appear bigger than it is, it all feels very cramped and claustrophobic. Naturally you will be lucky to find a seat, let alone a table so it's not particularly good if you are in a group or intending to stay for a long session. The 2 plasma screens are so low that they are virtually useless if the pub is packed, as it invariably always is. Even the beer selection is generally inferior in choice to most Wetherspoons with beers frequently off on my visits and quality being a bit hit and miss. Overall, a very disappointing place given its location and not a particularly great advert for the chain.

On 21st November 2008 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Moon Under Water

Smallish Wetherspoon's which never seems to have much in the way of guest beers when I visit.Gets packed.Round the corner from Leicester Square station.

On 5th February 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]