User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New server with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Lemon Tree

4 Bedfordbury
WC2
WC2N 4BP
Phone: 02078311391

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Lemon Tree

A revisit after many year on the back of a GBG listing ,but ultimately disappointing. The previous USB was the memorable decolletage of a former landlady,but sadly these days it all much more PC.Open plan at the front,a urinal on the ground floor level,but up the stairs to the shitter,beyond which is a "secret " lounge with around 4 tables in a square room with an unused fireplace.
There are 5 handpumps drawing on my visit Doom Bar,Harveys Sussex Best,6X and a tired Hop Stuff Fusilier.The food was thai,but unmemorable and I just cant see why the local CAMRA branch feel this is worthy of the GBG. Much better options within a stones throw.

On 5th July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1560 recommendations about 1560 pubs]


Lester Ford left this review about The Lemon Tree

A late Friday night visit for a pub tick and a quick pint.

Not a very wide pub so it felt extremely busy, though was a bit emptier away from the small bar.

5 hand pumps with 5 ales on, my pint of Trumans Swift was decent at £4.50 a pint, in addition there was a couple of ales on keg.

I'd never been here before, so from this visit I'd say its a decent pub with a mixed clientele and well kept ales.

Appears in the 2017 GBG.

On 3rd May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lemon Tree

The compact, attractive little pub is well positioned between Covent Garden and Charring Cross, although it tends to be overlooked by many in favour of the Harp which is just around the corner. The pub has a very typical Central London single room set up, although a sign at the rear of the room pointed out that there is a 'Secret Lounge' upstairs which several punters seemed to be taking advantage of. The ground floor room has modern floorboards and some decent half panelling around the walls. A long, wide drinking ledge under the front windows allows you to do a bit of people watching from one of the high stools here and there is a similar ledge down the right hand wall plus a smaller one to the left under a large plain mirror. More high stools serve the single table in the centre of the room, with the rest of the space given over to vertical drinking only. A small servery stands in the rear left corner with a smart curved counter and nicely lit mirrored bar back. A huge pictorial map of old London covers much of the right hand wall and it was quite interesting to spend a bit of time studying it, whilst it is flanked by technical drawings of various landmark London buildings such as the Globe Theatre. Pop music of dubious quality was playing in the background throughout my visit whilst a muted TV to the left showed BBC News 24. A very reasonable Thai menu was available with nothing on it priced any higher than £9.00 - no-one seemed to be eating from it on a midweek evening visit, but it struck me as good value for the area.
The pub is listed in the 2017 Good Beer Guide and there were four ales on the bar - Harvey's Sussex Best, Sharps Doom Bar, St Austell Proper Job and Trumans Swift. A very friendly barman served up a top quality pint of the Proper Job which went down very well and quite a few other customers seemed to be enjoying the ale too, suggesting they might enjoy reasonable turnover here.
This is quite a nice little venue that doesn't really do a great deal to distinguish itself from many similar Central London pubs apart, perhaps, from the quality of their beer. I found it was quite easy to settle down here, although things could be very different at busier times, and agree with previous reviewers that this makes a good double header with the nearby Harp.

On 11th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1945 recommendations about 1945 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lemon Tree

Friendly small pub, tucked away on a back street between Covent Garden and Charing Cross station. The façade has become more attractive in recent years, with hanging baskets and some new signage, and the bright interior has been refurbished in a semi-modern style. A notice at the back points up to the 'Secret Lounge', but I've never ventured to first-floor level. The previously cramped servery has been rearranged since my previous visit several years ago, and there are now five handpumps on the counter with Doom Bar, Harvey's, Wandle, Cronx Kotchin and Truman's Zephyr (£4.30) available this time. Was always worth popping in if the nearby Harp was too crowded, but now definitely worth a call in its own right.

On 11th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4346 recommendations about 4346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Lemon Tree

Popped in again last night, pre theatre, great atmosphere,Harvey's on top form. Give this place a visit, its worth it.

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Lemon Tree

In last night, couldn't get in the Harp so decided on The Lemon Tree, glad i did, friendly, fast service, and a great pint of Deuchars, ok they are never going to have the range of the Harp, but what they are doing, they are doing well. Good atmosphere, buzzing at the bar and good beer. Worth a visit.

On 18th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Lemon Tree

Popped in last week, very friendly Aussie barman, quite busy for a Monday, although it is only a small place, so not many needed to make it feel busy. The Doombar was in good nick, i just feel this place needs a little tweaking to make it a "must visit"

On 9th December 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Lemon Tree

They had four real ales – London Pride; Harvey’s Best; Hobgoblin; and Deuchars IPA. I only had time for the Deuchars, and it seemed in pretty good nick. This pub is very much changed since my last visit some 30 years ago. The bar is now straight ahead, whereas it used to be on the right, with a small area where the landlady used to make some of the best sandwiches you could get. Now the furnishings are pine coloured high stools at a couple of pine coloured high stools in the middle of the room, as well as at the bar and ledges around the sides. To be fair it is a very small room and this configuration does allow more drinkers to get in there, albeit I suppose at some times it would be standing room only. I remember how absolutely crowded and cramped it could get in there for those not lucky or early enough to bag one of the tables.
For a small pub slightly off the beaten track it fits the bill for someone in need of a swift pint. It’s not a classic pub in that there is nowhere comfortable to sit, but I can see how someone might enjoy his time in here with chums and fellow punters in there for a good time. The barmaids were all in seasonal Christmas attire, albeit not the shirt-skirted Santa uniforms that they were apparently wearing a few days earlier. Understandably they seem to have opted for the longer-skirted versions yesterday in view of the fact that it was absolutely brass monkey’s weather! I found it still to be a friendly and welcoming pub, but I don’t think that it would become a regular haunt of mine.

On 16th December 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2203 recommendations about 2137 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lemon Tree

This is a small basic boozer with friendly staff and no tourists. The furniture looks and feels like the cheapest Ikea rubbish, even down to a screw falling out as my fat behind rested on one of the tall stools. The pub is down a side street mainly used by van drivers so the view from the bay window at the front isn't the most inspiring, but this obviously isn't any fault of the pubs.

Explorer, Spitfire, Pride and Harveys Best were all available during my brief visit along with a few standard and premium draught products. My Guinness was very nice, but it could have done with spending a little more time being filled.

There is a TV, but this was off and I spotted no Sports advertised, but I have heard that Sky Sports are shown.

This place is ok for a quiet beer off the main drag, but there are better pubs in the area.

On 22nd November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3249 recommendations about 3230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Lemon Tree

From the outside, the Lemon Tree ersembles an Irish bar with its blue exterior and bright but not too overpowering interior. The simple single room bar is fairly typical for the West End with a well worn wooden floor, picture windows and, this being Theatreland, several theatrically themed photo's adorning the wall. The pub is significantly well hidden to avoid the general Covent Garden throngs and doesn't generally get too uncomfortably packed. The decent enough beers include Adnam's Broadside and London Pride and it is a pleasure (and a rarity) to find a barmaid who takes care pouring a pint and makes an effort to ensure you do not get short measures. Mainly Thai Cuisine (main meals around £5-£6.50) plus a limited menu of more standard fare (Fish and Chips, Baguettes etc). Sky Sports is shown on widescreen TV above the door, unobtrusive piped music and a single fruit machine. Overall, quite a refreshing pub: traditional but with a bright, airy relaxed feel. Well worth popping into if you want to get away from the crowds.

On 27th March 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1237 recommendations about 1232 pubs]