User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Freemasons Arms, WC2

82 Long Acre
WC2
WC2E 9NG
Phone: 02078363115

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Freemasons Arms

interesting experience in this pub as I seemed to stumble into a gathering of ‘very important men’ with strong East African accents. Always liked Sheps ales and they were in good form here. ornate-ish interior. A good pub once you get over those bloody prices, argh!!!

On 13th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 907 recommendations about 880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Freemasons Arms

A standard Sheps London pub, obviously as Tris found it a few days before me,Sixs pumps with the usual range, uninspiring.

On 31st December 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Freemasons Arms

I came here once before some years ago as a first so don't really recall it that well, but went here the other night with three friends.
It's much as described below and presumably takes its name from Freemasons' Hall across the road, familiar to many as it was used as Thames House in the TV series Spooks.
I didn't get the impression that there's much of any significance to the interior though there's an attractive bar back with a pot shelf above the bar itself. Otherwise there are button back dark leatherette banquets to the perimeter with conventional furniture and a handful of tall tables and chairs, a lantern beneath which there may once have been a pool table. The floor is part modern bare boarded with carpet to the raised area to the rear. TVs showed football with the sound down so as not to clash with the music which played at an uncomfortable level and the pub was rammed with office workers fuelled with much Christmas cheer, or more likely Bishop's Finger.
Ales: the standard Neame line-up, served well and at reasonable prices for Covent Garden.
There's not much to mark this place out, though the same can be said for pretty much every pub in this area so I can't see any compelling reason to return, especially with such loud music.

On 22nd December 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Freemasons Arms

Decent Shepherd Neame pub with a good selection of real ales. Bishop's Finger was on offer. Would have got a 7 but for the old mistake of being poured a pint when I asked for a half. As the pub was virtually deserted there was no excuse for not hearing me. Would revisit.

On 1st February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Freemasons Arms

Shepherd Neame pub interior as described by Rex Rattus below.

On 9th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Freemasons Arms

Originally The Bull's Head when it first opened in the 18th Century, this Shepherd and Neame house is famous for being where the Football Association was founded. There were 2 ales on. I had Nun's Delight which was past its best but still drinkable. Staff were very pleasant indeed. Freshly cooked food was OK. A calm, pleasant atmosphere for a London pub.

On 13th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2912 recommendations about 2879 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Freemasons Arms

The name of this pub is wholly appropriate, considering the main UK Masonic hall is the other side of the road. This is still a Shepherd Neame house, with the usual offerings available. A half of Master Brew was £1.75, which is the going rate now. I was in at around 6.0 PM on a Wednesday, and although I spotted a barman behind the bar brandishing a menu, there were no menus on the tables.

The pub itself is deceptively large, stretching back beyond the bar counter to a raised area at the back with a half dozen or so tables and chairs on it. There are large heavy looking curtains by the windows, and the floor is carpeted, which is all good news as it tends to reduce the noise levels. Decor is mainly Shepherd Neame advertising mirrors, but there were a couple of framed display cases at the back, one featuring London Irish Rifles military memorabilia. There are apparently two further rooms upstairs – again acknowledging the Masonic connection by being named The Lodge Bar and The Chapter Room.

This is a better pub than most of the large pubco places in the area, but like just about every other pub around here it gets desperately busy when the office workers pour out onto the streets. But I had no trouble getting a seat at the back once I had pushed past the groups clogging up the bar area. I will probably end up in here again sometime, but it’s not one that I would actively seek out.

On 11th November 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Freemasons Arms

Busy, but fairly spacious, Shepherd Neame pub with highly ceilings and tastful decor giving the place a civilised and airy feel. Reasonable range of sensible seating, with a well-presented traditional bar. Two function rooms upstairs. Usually has four ales from the eight handpumps - Master Brew and Spitfire plus a varying selection of others (e.g. Early Bird and Bishops Finger on my recent visit). Overall, one of the better bets in the area.

On 8th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Freemasons Arms

The Freemason’s claim to fame is that the Football Association was formed at a meeting here in 1863 although the current building dates from 1896 when the beautiful game was at a far more advanced stage.

The interior is a single bare floor room, slightly larger at the front and with a raised rear section and a mix of banquette and normal seating. There is also a sign for an upstairs Lodge Bar for overspill when busy or for private functions although I have not ventured up to look. It all looks quite smart and traditional with lots of ornate carved edges to the bar, rear section divide and fireplace suround. A skylight provides a bit of welcome daylight to the rear of the pub. A small outdated notice just inside the front door tells the story of the Football Association beginnings and to the rear is a small display of football artifacts as well as some military nick nacks. A picture of the Queen, various Shepherd Neame mirrors and a few portraits jostle for wallspace between the (I think) 6 screens – both Sky & ESPN are shown and I suppose it is quite an apt place to watch a game given the pub’s football connections.

The pub is currently operated by Shepherd Neame and of the 8 hand pumps, 4 were available (Kents Best, Master Brew, Spitfire and the seasonal Dragonfire). At £3.60 the Dragon fire was pretty expensive and, whilst drinkable, not the best quality despite the pub’s Cask Marque accreditation. Servuice was very friendly but the pub was very quiet given that the offices were just kicking out when I was there.

I quite like the place but the beer choices are a bit limited and the prices a bit upmarket for me to warrant more regular visits.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Freemasons Arms

A good traditional Shep Neame pub far enough away from Covent Garden to not be affected by the tourist hoards.
A decent amount of seating including a raised area with leather seats at the back and then enough plazma screens to be a good place to watch the football and keep up the tradition of the place.
Four handpumps which included Spitfire, Master Brew and Late Red and the Late Red was a very decent pint.

On 26th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1849 recommendations about 1785 pubs]