User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Cheshire Cheese, Temple, WC2

5 Little Essex Street
WC2
WC2R 3LD
Phone: 02078362347

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


moby duck left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Nice little old pub tucked away down a side street, now owned by Shepherd Neame so unfortunately (unless you're a fan) only a couple of there beers on, Whistable Bay and Spitfire. Liked the pub ,not so keen on the beer.

On 8th March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1257 recommendations about 1245 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Nice old pub; with hanging baskets outside and lattice windows, very traditional furniture and an eclectic selection of memorabilia on the walls and ceilings within. Dining room upstairs (never visited) and Games Room downstairs (ditto). On this visit, I found Harvey's, Tribute, Old Dairy Gold Top, Vale Brill Gold and Hogs Back Surrey Nirvana on the five handpumps (which is better than previously, so rating upped accordingly).

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Decent looking pub, but no ale of any note. Half of cider, I'm afraid.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1423 recommendations about 1421 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

This pub seems to have more of a friendly local atmosphere compared to the larger pubs up the street. The pub is quite homely and the barmaid was very welcoming. Lovely dining room upstairs. There were five handpumps in operation, but nothing really grabbed me, until I spotted Gravesend Brewery Shrimpers bitter. I did try the Gravesend, only to find it to be a boring brown bitter, not the pub's fault.

On 29th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paul Rodger left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

A bit of a gem, really. Small, welcoming and old school, the bar boasts a fine collection of jugs and pots hanging from the beams; feels much older than it actually is. The beers were good (I had Bombardier, but they also had Tribute and Doombar on) and the lunch was good pub grub, freshly cooked and great value. I was told the upstairs room was available for functions.

On 12th March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Not to be confused with Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese a few hundred yards away (they apparently get a constant stream of confused tourist drinkers here wondering why the interior does not correspond with their guide book), this delightfully enticing corner pub is tucked away down the back streets and has a certain charm of its own. Although the pub has been around longer, the current building was surprisingly built as recently as 1929.

Once inside, your mind is transported into a country pub atmosphere a million miles away from the rush of the nearby Strand. Run by a very welcoming and genial landlord, the pub has slight Irish feel but does not fall into any kind of stereotypical theme pub category.

The pub is spread over 3 floors with the main bar being a carpeted single room with paneled walls, latticed windows and displays of plates, police badges, chamber pots, cheese dishes and steins hanging from the rafters. A small TV was showing golf on Sky Sports. Upstairs is a restaurant and there is also a downstairs bar, apparently with darts and bar billiards although there always seems to be a private function in progress when I call so I have never actually managed to get a look for myself.

There are 3 ales available across 5 hand pumps, Bombardier, Tribute and a guest (Old Mill Blonde Bombshell on my recent visit). Prices were what you would expect in the area (the guest beer was £3.50) and quality was decent enough. I didn’t get a chance to peruse the food menu other than note the specials on a blackboard outside at around £5/7 which seemes pretty good value for the area.

Seating is a bit limited and it can get full quite easily but I have always found it to be a reasonably welcoming place with a mature customer base and is well worth the effort to find in conjunction with the 3 or 4 other pubs within a couple of minutes walk.

On 3rd August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Cheshire Cheese

This is a pretty good boozer that is hosted by a jovial Irish chap that made me feel very welcome. Deuchars, Bombadier and London Pride were the ales available and Amstel was also on offer along with a standard draught range of which the Guinness was very good.

There was a bit of back music playing and I spotted a plasma screen which was off, but there was a list of upcoming London Irish games stuck underneath it.

I liked it in here and would return.

On 8th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3458 recommendations about 3437 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Old leaded windows, some Victorian features and a nice internal ambience lift this little boozer above the average mark. A couple of ales on, OSH and Bombardier. My Bombardier was a little musty-tasting, unfortunately. There was also a muted TV on showing the cricket, which did seem a little out of place but I guess it draws the punters in, so why not? [edit - apparently there also is a bar billiards table!]

As a pub, I actually prefer this to the Edgar Wallace over the way but the EW does far better beer. If you could mix the two you'd have the best pub in the area by a mile.

So worth a quick stop as tick before heading to EW. I'll try this place again as I'd be quite a fan if the beer quality was good...

On 18th February 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3886 recommendations about 3874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Nice old saloon bar with lots of dark wood, low level lighting, pots and steins hang from the black beams. Old leaded windows. The bar itself has coloured glass above the counter, seating is a mixture of stools, benches and settles. Another room upstairs was not visited, there seems to be another downstairs but this was roped off.

Not unpleasant for a stop off but a more adventurous beer range would improve this place. Bombardier, OSH and Adnams Bitter yesterday. I believe the pub closes at weekends, as is common in the area.

On 15th November 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Quite small, fairly dark and gloomy inside, it nevertheless felt warm and welcoming to me. This seemed to me to be a fairly ordinary little pub with a handful of tables, thankfully no high tables and stools, and a couple of real ales (nothing special) on. I actually prefer it as a pub to the nearby Edgar Wallace – and it is far better than the Devereaux – but the EW does do better ales. But I would recommend it for anyone who wants a quiet drink.

On 10th September 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2513 recommendations about 2431 pubs]

Page: 1 2