User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What are you going to do now ? with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Chandos, Charing Cross, WC2

29 St Martins Lane
WC2
WC2N 4ER

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Chandos

Proper pub, with the full range of Sam Smiths beer and four handpumps, but these usually only offer OBB (£3.50) of course. However, I made this visit to try the Yorkshire Stingo (£3.70, half) which is never usually sold in cask form. Apart from the wooden side booths, there is very little furniture in the main bar, although there is a darts alcove at the back. Worth trying out the upstairs Opera Room bar (unless it is very busy in which case you will probably fall over one of the closely-packed sofas...). Also take a look up at the top corner of the facade above the main door. Very convenient for the National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Charing Cross station, etc.

On 30th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Chandos

Sam Smith's tied house with their usual olde worlde pastiche interior,clean but quite souless.There are a series of seating booths below the front windows,wooden floor and a small alcove area at one end on the ground floor.The more interesting part of the pub is the first floor Opera lounge,which initially has a series of leather sofas,then dining style tables and a very calm,carpeted atmosphere.Food is available up here,but there is no dedicated dining area.The bar upstairs is as well stocked as the one on the ground floor,with a wide selection of SS keg beers and lagers,Old Brewery Bitter on handpump with a Christmas Special of cask Yorkshire Stingo which drew my visit.(NBSS 3.5,8%,£3.70 the half).This saved the visit,but for the rest of the year Old Brewery Bitter would never be sufficient to sustain anything but the most fleeting visit.
Just pop along to The Harp for decent ale,it's a mere stagger.

On 27th November 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


hondo . left this review about The Chandos

Sam Smith’s pub so you no what your getting beer wise. A quirky interior with snugs along one wall and some ornate tiling.

On 29th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Chandos

First visit for over 10 years and the start of the Sam’s London Challenge. Before you go in under the lovely stained glass Opera Room canopy, have a look up to the apex to see the animated cooper bashing his barrel. I frequented the downstairs this time, though the upstairs appears largely unchanged when I nosed in. So the main drinking room on ground floor is a pleasing green, white and brown colour scheme with some pretty floral tiling and plenty of polished woodwork. There are a number of snugs/booths which make for a pleasant drinking environment and most (if not all) have a lattice stained glass window with a relief – ours had a chap with a large bag of malt. Off to the bar with its impressive gantry and there was a good chunk of the Sam’s range available; I started the day with a pint of Man in a Box AKA Alpine Lager. I enjoyed my stop here and will be in again sooner rather than later.

July 2008
First visit on Sunday, was pleasantly surprised too. We did the upstairs bar (Opera Room) which has a nice relaxed vibe, just the kind of place for a long relaxed session. Size of the place means that the full Sam Smiths range is available which is a blessing. Interior is classic Sam Smiths; a blast from the past, like a lounge from the 1970’s. Two bars - one downstairs and another upstairs. Worth a stop and a good place to take five whilst pottering around the local landmarks. Rated 7

On 29th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Brainy Pool left this review about The Chandos

expected this to be a Greene King or something from the outside so was very pleased to find this. a budget valued traditional Sam Smiths pub just off Trafalgar Square? what a fine place to relax in central London. the usual ornate interior with cosy booths aplenty. Excellent.

On 13th May 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Chandos

A nice looking pub internally ,nothing over fancy in the single room apart from the wooden booths, the walls adorn many black and white pictures of the brewery and related stuff. of course only OBB is the solitary real ale choice in this Samuel Smiths pub, but my keg Extra Stout was rather good.A decent pub but you are more likely to find me around the corner in The Harp.

On 11th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1321 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about The Chandos

THE CHANDOS - One of my favourite pubs in Central London, if not THE favourite..! Read 'Roger Button's comment below (dated:20/10/09) that's a few years ago now, but its still an up-to-date account of the wonders of this unique pub. I don't know of another pub quite like it... anywhere! I ALWAYS use the upper (Opera) bar area, it's laid out a bit like a 'library' with leather sofas & armchairs. And it is a million miles away from the chaos & the hubbub that is 'London' outside the windows! Thousands...nay, millions of people bustle passed this thriving pub all day & every day...and DON'T know the haven that is hidden from their view that is The Chandos! LOOK UP before you pass by or enter this pub. See the drayman at the top of the building, hauling up the beer barrels..!! Marvelous! What a pub, do visit it, you will thank me for recommending it !! :o) TJ 8/10

On 15th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Chandos

Have to say on this visit we didn't take the time to have a look upstairs. Maybe this is where we should have headed as the downstairs room, apart from some booths on the right hand side was like a fairly non-descript saloon from an old western film. I had visited this pub many moons ago, when some female dancers called in after a show. Now that would put the ratings up!

On 14th January 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2971 recommendations about 2971 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Chandos

This popular Sam Smith's house was extremely busy on the ground floor when we visited, and for some reason we could not get upstairs. Sam Smiths was the only ale on (unsurprisingly) and was too gassy by a long shot. The barman was a stroppy Australian who didn't do a lot to enhance the experience. Of course I shall continue to drop in when passing as I find it convenient, but there is better beer to be had nearby when time allows.

On 12th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2529 recommendations about 2507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Chandos

Post theatre drink of OBB, in very good nick, pub was very busy, staff very quick, nuff said.

On 18th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]

Page: 1 2