User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Seven Stars, WC2

54 Carey Street
WC2
WC2A 2JB
Phone: 02072428521

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Seven Stars

The Seven Stars hasn't changed a bit since I first visited some thirty years previously. Some may call it shabby but for me it sits just the right side of comfortably traditional.
I was greeted by a friendly, Irish barmaid, barrister cat with his Judge's collar and a log effect gas fire. Perfect on a chilly day.
The food board offers an interesting range and if you're feeling athletic enough to climb the stairs to the loo you'll catch a glimpse of them being cooked. I didn't eat but everything produced from the dumb waiter behind the bar looked and smelt delicious.
Beers on were Adnams Ghost Ship and Broadside, Harveys Sussex Best, Whitstable Native Bitter and Sharps Coaster. The Ghost Ship was in decent shape without being the very best I've had but that's a more interesting range than I remember from previously.
A top boozer and I'd hope that it remains unchanged for the next 30 years - at least.

On 22nd January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Seven Stars

An iconic back street local in an interesting part of town. As BF says below, it's a quirky establishment. The cat was occupying a seat at my table, but we agreed to ignore each other. The pub has a good feel to it, being a little scruffy but clearly well-loved. Tables are all covered in chequered oilcloth, woodwork and paint are a little the worse for wear, and the carpet has seen better days - but on the other hand, would the pub be any better for a new carpet? Perhaps they could get hold of one second hand. There were five hand pumps on the bar - see photos for the beer offering. Toilets are upstairs, but these are steep and twisty; hope that doesn't put anyone off going.

Date of visit: 21st November 2017

On 10th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Seven Stars

A wonderfully old school pub ,unchanged since I worked in the area in the previous millenium.The interior is small,with a traditional bar and two wings either side,with check patterned table cloths ,wood panelling and a fine selection of old brewery mirrors.The descent from the upstairs unisex loo is as perilous as I recall,and the cooking by landlady Roxy Beaujolais is terrific. There is a chalk board with about 10 dishes available,all freshly prepared and a treat.
The new cat is less assertive but I wasn't going to argue with it while it was decked out with a choristers collar,and the ale selection from 5 handpumps was also quite traditional ,namely Adnams Southwold Bitter and Broadside,Sambrooks Session,Harvey's Sussex Best and Whitstable Kentish Reserve (absolute top form).
You dont truly know London pubs unless you have visited this quirky establishment,popular with the legal profession ,it's still a joy to behold.

On 18th June 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Seven Stars

Not been into this historic inn in a back street behind the law courts for over six years, but very glad to see that it hasn't changed. Small bar located in the centre of the building, with seating in distinctly compact rooms (little more than snugs, really) at each each. However, if the weather is any good then most of the customers can be found standing outside the front. Plainly furnished but plenty of memorabilia on the walls. Efficient (if not exactly cheerful) service. Adnams Broadside, Dark Star Hophead, Cornish Coaster, Old Speckled Hen and Harvey's IPA (£4.10) available from the five handpumps on this visit. Worth seeking out if in the area.

On 5th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Seven Stars

Small old pub with a central bar and rooms either side. It's compact and bijou so I was happy to catch it mid afternoon a great contrast to the nearby spoons & fuller's. 5 real ales and food served.

On 25th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Seven Stars

Nobody in the General Counter today, just the side rooms. Adnams Broadside at the bar, which tasted good. Can imagine this place absolutely rammed later on, so my three o'clock call was well timed. A nice pub.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Seven Stars

Dating back to 1602, though probably rebuilt in the 1680s, this is a fantastic old little pub and one of my favourites for over 20-odd years. I can't add much to that below: The pub is presided over by the robustly constructed no-nonsense Roxy Beaujolais (née Jean Hoffmann) with her neon-pink hair and sidekick Ray Brown, a black and white replacement for the inscrutable Tom Paine who died in 2011.

Indeed the pub can get cramped and the staircase is extremely precipitous, becoming more so the closer you get to closing time. The food is very good indeed (as are the Bloody Mary's) and is prepared in a tiny student kitchen next to the gent's loo, which in turn is next to the office. The pub is populated largely by lawyers and the occasional tourist. The staff are generally efficient rather than effusive and the beer is always well kept; the pub would appear to be a free house - it's no longer owned by Fuller's. A word of warning: the bowl on the bar which would appear to contain bar snacks is in fact Ray Brown's dinner.

This pub is very much worth a detour and is a must-visit if in the area.

On 30th May 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Seven Stars

Why would you not want to go to one of the few buildings to survive the fire of London. Have a pint in a place established in 1602.

Small, interesting interior. Watch the door in case the much loved cat bolts.

Doombar was in fine fettle last night.

Worth Seeking out.

On 10th March 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Seven Stars

This is an excellent little pub, hidden away slightly but easily reached from Fleet Street and Holborn. Dating back to the 1600’s (1602 if you believe the date on the front of the pub) you can enter through one of two etched front doors which are signposted with the unusual terms ‘General Counter’ and ‘Private Counter’. Both take you into the same shallow but wide bar area with the servery in the centre of the back wall and a narrow strip of room opposite with a drinking ledge and a couple of cramped tables. The whole place is fitted with dark wood including the bar back which features some subtle glasswork and an integral clock. A patterned ceiling with criss-crossing beams makes for an attractive feature, especially as it is lined with hops, and there is a fireplace to the left of the bar with a small stove inside and a collection of books above and an eclectic display cabinet to one side. Several large mirrors can be found throughout the pub, as can some ancient cinema posters for long forgotten movies. The right hand side of the pub has a nice dark panelled seating area with old pictures and photos on the walls and an enormous brewery mirror. A small area to the left, apparently known as the ‘Wig Room’, was in darkness on this visit, but seemingly allows room for a few more tables, although invariably most punters spill out onto the pavement outside. The bar staff seemed very friendly, despite me being the last punter to leave late on a Friday evening.
My late arrival meant that most of the beer had gone when I arrived, with four turned pump clips and only Adnams Broadside still going at £3.90 a pint. I thought the Adnams was in pretty good shape and enjoyed supping it whilst listening to a bunch of sloshed Geordies discuss the existence, or otherwise, of God.
This is a very atmospheric, authentic boozer that remains mercifully unchanged and is all the more worthwhile visiting for it. I was lucky to arrive at a time when the crowds were thinning out, as I can imagine a visit at peak times would present problems, but based on this visit, I’d be happy to return.

On 10th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Seven Stars

This is a great pub, one of my favorites. It may not be to eveyones taste but its quirkyness suits my sense of humour as well as my appretiation of a truely historic traditional pub. the beer range is nowhere near the best in London or even this district but Darkstar is good enough for me anyday. Its a good place to be.

On 18th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3