User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

Lamb & Flag, Covent Garden, WC2

33 Rose Street
WC2
WC2E 9EB
Phone: 02074979504

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Lamb & Flag

lovely pub hidden away in an alley near Covent Garden and Leicester Square. as below, full range of Fullers ales and the ESB was very nice. Loads of history which is well documented around the pub. Two floors, the upper one being mostly for food, all creaking floors and all very olde worlde. Liked it but it’s basically a tourist relic. And does a pub with this much atmosphere really need the Fullers corporate Six Nations tat and the big TV?

On 16th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Lamb & Flag

Tucked away Fuller's pub with the full range of their beers, including, thankfully, ESB. Not the largest of pubs but worth a revisit.

On 9th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lamb & Flag

Fuller's pub hidden away on a side street. Old style interior with dark wooden flooring and a snug area at the back. Fuller's beers plus guests served.

On 24th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lamb & Flag

Overdue first re-visit since its acquisition by Fullers, but glad to see little in the way of change in the fine historic interior. Plenty of features of interest, although it is often so busy that it is difficult to take it all in. Mind you, it is also famous for having most of is customers standing outside in the street at office closing time. Very traditional furniture and decor. Now has two more handpumps than previously, with seven of eight in use this time and dispensing Seafarers, Pride, ESB, HSB and Bengal Lancer (£4.30) plus Wandle and Butcombe Rare Breed as guests. A nice place to escape the tourist madness that is Covent Garden (and try the Dryden Room upstairs if you are having trouble finding a seat).

On 4th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lamb & Flag

Another trip down memory lane this one. One of the most distinct features as Blackthorn mentions, is the narrow passageway, which I remember well. I especially enjoyed getting a seat in the rear snug on this visit, which still retains the dark oak panelling. I suppose the only notable difference is, it's now a Fullers house, so I went for the Bengal Lancer. A quirky pub this one and well worth a visit.

On 13th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Lamb & Flag

A tucked away pub down a small side street, I initially wondered if I was going to find it. If you approach from the Floral Street end you seem to be wandering down a back alley full of large bins, but my perseverance paid off and it was well worth the effort. Alternatively of course, just approach from the other direction and it will be much more obvious.

Downstairs it’s mostly one single room with a long bar counter on the left, although there is a sort of snug area at the back. It’s quite an attractive place with leaded windows at the front and brown paintwork. The snug at the back has some wood panelling, and apart from in here the seating options are fairly limited with just a few stools in the window and a few more opposite the bar.

Upstairs is a further room that does have more seating, although this is probably used more by diners. Here there are dark wooden boards on the floor and the paintwork is a mixture of purple and cream. There was an old dresser and a marble fire-place, although I’m not sure if this is used. There is also a smaller bar counter with a more limited range of beers. An interesting mural of books is painted on the wall of the staircase to this upper bar.

A decent enough “pub grub” menu was offered, with dishes such as Burger, Fish & Chips, Ham Egg & Chips, Sea Bass, etc., and these were mostly priced around the £9 mark. My Sausage & Mash with a Red Wine Onion Gravy was tasty dish and a generous portion with three sausages and plenty of mash.

Beers on tap were nearly all from Fuller’s with their ESB, HSB, London Pride, Chiswick, Bengal Lancer and Seafarer’s Ale. The only guest appeared to be Butcombe, and the solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 18th February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lamb & Flag

Called in late afternoon today after most of the day spent in the Harp and a successful short visit to the cross keys in Endell Street.Hadn't been in since the Fullers takeover so wanted a look.Wallked in expecting to see lots of Fullers available and this proved to be true,I was hoping for a couple of guests to be available but as far as I could see the only alternative was Butcombe Bitter, not a bad pint but after Darkstar in the Harp and Brodies in the cross keys this didnt excite me,so I had a quick scan of the pub ,still looks ok, but not being a great fan of Fullers ,left without buying a drink and headed back to the Harp.Pubs still a good looker but I cant get to excited about the beer.

On 6th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lamb & Flag

Wonderfully situated roughly halfway between Covent Garden and Leicester Square, this is a pleasant traditional pub tucked away slightly from the main tourist procession thanks to it being positioned down a short side street. The pub has a long, narrow interior, with the bar running along the left hand side of what is essentially a single room, although there is a sense of partitioning towards the end of the bar, just before the room opens out slightly. There is plenty of dark wood throughout which, combined with the limited amount of natural light, helps to create a nice ambiance. It's not too cosy though, with very limited seating and large numbers of customers meaning that you're likely to end up drinking you pint stood up, unless you bag one of the few tables at the rear of the room or a stool along the drinking shelf opposite the bar. The walls are decorated with all sorts of seemingly unrelated pictures and adverts and the servery is lined with old pump clips. There is a second bar upstairs, but I overheard a barmaid saying how busy it was up there, so I decided to stay propped up at the main bar rather than go exploring.
This was a Young's house not all that long ago, but it is now run by Fullers, so it was their beers dominating the hand pumps, with London Pride, ESB, HSB, Bengal Lancer, Seafarers and Chiswick to pick from, plus guests in the shape of Wytchwood Hobgoblin and Butcombe Bitter. I found myself standing next to a number of brass plaques displayed in memory of former patrons of the pub and I very nearly earned a plaque of my own when I was told that my pint of Bengal Lancer would set me back £3.90. Thankfully I just about survived this shock and was able to savour every last drop of what was actually a decent pint. A simple sandwich and pub grub menu was on display and I noted that main meals came in around the £7.00 mark, which seems much more reasonable.
I thought this was a nice old building with a decent beer selection and well worthy of a stop off, although the lack of comfort meant that I didn't fancy staying for more than just the one. A decent option to have for this part of town, but brace yourselves for tourist prices.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Lamb & Flag

One of the oldest pubs in the area, if not London, the Lamb & Flag was first licensed in 1623. The street outside was once known as Blood Alley and the pub had the equally enticing name of the Bucket of Blood thanks to it being a well known bare knuckle boxing venue. There seems to be much debate as to exactly how old the current building is. The blurb in the pub says it dates from 1772 when it was called the Coopers Arms but reports elsewhere suggest parts are from the 1600’s and much of the visible exterior is late 19th Century. It has been known as the Lamb & Flag since around 1883.

The main bar is a single room with remnants of a divide that would have separated the rear section. The floors are bare wood painted black and the furnishings basic and battered. Several memorial placques can be found baring the names of former regulars now at the great bar in the sky although some are now so worn that the names are unrecognizable. There is planty of clutter on display ranging from a 1714 copy of the Evening Post, the old pub sign, Save the Lamb & Flag bumber stickers (the pub was under threat when the area was being renovated after the market closed in the 1970’s), a 1746 Weights and Measures poster and numerous random pictures, caricatures and oddities.

Upstairs is a separate and surpisingly large bar known as the Dryden Room after the 17th Century peot John Dryden who nearly met his end outside the pub having been set on by a gang. It has its own bar with 3 handpulls and a food counter. Note the “Famous Fights” memorabilia at the top of the stairs reflecting the pasts past traditions and the Channel Five In/Out sign between the bar and rear section (an explanation is on the wall).

The pub has recently been taken over by Fullers (it was once a Youngs pub) but they do have pretty much the whole range of Fullers/Gales beers (Pride, Chiswick, HSB, ESB, Bengal Lancer, Seafarers and the new Black Cab Stout, as well as Butcombe Bitter as a guest. The quality was fine on my visit but the prices are perhaps expectedly high with the Stout at £3.75. Food was quite reasonably priced at around £6-£8 albeit the menu wasn’t particularly extensive.

The area may be a bit of a tourist destination but you can’t help feel that the Lamb has had a succession of regulars who have helped shape its character over the centuries and it does still feel like a local’s pub albeit not as unwelcoming as it would have been in days gone by. It is certainly a pub full of character and one to be experienced.

On 16th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Lamb & Flag

The pub's popularity seems to increase as time goes on. This time it was very crowded, especially upstairs where we could hardly move. This endorses the views of previous reviewers - with which I concur - that the L&F is one of the better pubs in the area. This time there were 5 ales on - I had a pint of Young's Bitter which was in very good condition. I wil certainly carry on coming here and recommend it for inclusion in a crawl.

On 8th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]

Page: 1 2