User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Lamb & Flag, Covent Garden, WC2

33 Rose Street
WC2
WC2E 9EB
Phone: 02074979504

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Lamb & Flag

Much nearer to the White Swan and the Round House then expected, but quite difficult to find after a couple of pints. I walked straight past the entrance to Rose Street, turned right and found it from Floral Street, though even then I turned left instead of right. I'm glad I found it in the end, as this was one of the highlights of my stay in London, and easily the best pub of the day. The man running it was doing a great job, not just efficiently serving beers but sending those seeking food either upstairs (young and able bodied) or to the rear of the pub (old and decrepit). This narrow building has two apparent front doors, but the one on the left is blocked off, creating a seating opportunity the other side. For such an ostensibly small pub there were a large number of beers on offer: eight hand pumps, with just two doubled. My half of Dark Star Hophead 3.8% was in excellent condition, though so it should be at £2.85 the half. It was too busy to note the others, and too dark for a photograph, but this is a Fullers pub so it's not hard to guess. I'd like to come back here some time when it's not as busy - if there is such a thing.

On 2nd February 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3115 recommendations about 2929 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Lamb & Flag

An interesting history lies here, in that this was the Coopers Arms in 1772, the current name dating from 1833, but with a façade which was rebuilt as recently as 1958. It’s grade II-listed and features on CAMRA’s list of pubs with historic interiors, this being of Regional Importance.
A very traditional and atmospheric interior greets the visitor which is well described below; a 360° tour can be taken on the pub’s website. It was apparently visited by Karl Marx and Charles Dickens; where didn’t he visit?
There was the full Fuller’s range, but on the upside, there were three Dark Star guests: Skylab, Pale Ale and Hophead at £2.80 a half and nice.
This is a must-visit if in Covent Garden and indeed Westminster, making for a great inclusion for a crawl of the area. It also goes to show just how much a Fuller’s pub can be improved with the inclusion of a selection of good guest ales.

On 30th October 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Lamb & Flag

lovely pub hidden away in an alley near Covent Garden and Leicester Square. as below, full range of Fullers ales and the ESB was very nice. Loads of history which is well documented around the pub. Two floors, the upper one being mostly for food, all creaking floors and all very olde worlde. Liked it but it’s basically a tourist relic. And does a pub with this much atmosphere really need the Fullers corporate Six Nations tat and the big TV?

On 16th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 907 recommendations about 880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Lamb & Flag

Tucked away Fuller's pub with the full range of their beers, including, thankfully, ESB. Not the largest of pubs but worth a revisit.

On 9th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lamb & Flag

Fuller's pub hidden away on a side street. Old style interior with dark wooden flooring and a snug area at the back. Fuller's beers plus guests served.

On 24th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2833 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lamb & Flag

Overdue first re-visit since its acquisition by Fullers, but glad to see little in the way of change in the fine historic interior. Plenty of features of interest, although it is often so busy that it is difficult to take it all in. Mind you, it is also famous for having most of is customers standing outside in the street at office closing time. Very traditional furniture and decor. Now has two more handpumps than previously, with seven of eight in use this time and dispensing Seafarers, Pride, ESB, HSB and Bengal Lancer (£4.30) plus Wandle and Butcombe Rare Breed as guests. A nice place to escape the tourist madness that is Covent Garden (and try the Dryden Room upstairs if you are having trouble finding a seat).

On 4th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lamb & Flag

Another trip down memory lane this one. One of the most distinct features as Blackthorn mentions, is the narrow passageway, which I remember well. I especially enjoyed getting a seat in the rear snug on this visit, which still retains the dark oak panelling. I suppose the only notable difference is, it's now a Fullers house, so I went for the Bengal Lancer. A quirky pub this one and well worth a visit.

On 13th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3116 recommendations about 3116 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Lamb & Flag

A tucked away pub down a small side street, I initially wondered if I was going to find it. If you approach from the Floral Street end you seem to be wandering down a back alley full of large bins, but my perseverance paid off and it was well worth the effort. Alternatively of course, just approach from the other direction and it will be much more obvious.

Downstairs it’s mostly one single room with a long bar counter on the left, although there is a sort of snug area at the back. It’s quite an attractive place with leaded windows at the front and brown paintwork. The snug at the back has some wood panelling, and apart from in here the seating options are fairly limited with just a few stools in the window and a few more opposite the bar.

Upstairs is a further room that does have more seating, although this is probably used more by diners. Here there are dark wooden boards on the floor and the paintwork is a mixture of purple and cream. There was an old dresser and a marble fire-place, although I’m not sure if this is used. There is also a smaller bar counter with a more limited range of beers. An interesting mural of books is painted on the wall of the staircase to this upper bar.

A decent enough “pub grub” menu was offered, with dishes such as Burger, Fish & Chips, Ham Egg & Chips, Sea Bass, etc., and these were mostly priced around the £9 mark. My Sausage & Mash with a Red Wine Onion Gravy was tasty dish and a generous portion with three sausages and plenty of mash.

Beers on tap were nearly all from Fuller’s with their ESB, HSB, London Pride, Chiswick, Bengal Lancer and Seafarer’s Ale. The only guest appeared to be Butcombe, and the solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 18th February 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1814 recommendations about 1738 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lamb & Flag

Called in late afternoon today after most of the day spent in the Harp and a successful short visit to the cross keys in Endell Street.Hadn't been in since the Fullers takeover so wanted a look.Wallked in expecting to see lots of Fullers available and this proved to be true,I was hoping for a couple of guests to be available but as far as I could see the only alternative was Butcombe Bitter, not a bad pint but after Darkstar in the Harp and Brodies in the cross keys this didnt excite me,so I had a quick scan of the pub ,still looks ok, but not being a great fan of Fullers ,left without buying a drink and headed back to the Harp.Pubs still a good looker but I cant get to excited about the beer.

On 6th July 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lamb & Flag

Wonderfully situated roughly halfway between Covent Garden and Leicester Square, this is a pleasant traditional pub tucked away slightly from the main tourist procession thanks to it being positioned down a short side street. The pub has a long, narrow interior, with the bar running along the left hand side of what is essentially a single room, although there is a sense of partitioning towards the end of the bar, just before the room opens out slightly. There is plenty of dark wood throughout which, combined with the limited amount of natural light, helps to create a nice ambiance. It's not too cosy though, with very limited seating and large numbers of customers meaning that you're likely to end up drinking you pint stood up, unless you bag one of the few tables at the rear of the room or a stool along the drinking shelf opposite the bar. The walls are decorated with all sorts of seemingly unrelated pictures and adverts and the servery is lined with old pump clips. There is a second bar upstairs, but I overheard a barmaid saying how busy it was up there, so I decided to stay propped up at the main bar rather than go exploring.
This was a Young's house not all that long ago, but it is now run by Fullers, so it was their beers dominating the hand pumps, with London Pride, ESB, HSB, Bengal Lancer, Seafarers and Chiswick to pick from, plus guests in the shape of Wytchwood Hobgoblin and Butcombe Bitter. I found myself standing next to a number of brass plaques displayed in memory of former patrons of the pub and I very nearly earned a plaque of my own when I was told that my pint of Bengal Lancer would set me back £3.90. Thankfully I just about survived this shock and was able to savour every last drop of what was actually a decent pint. A simple sandwich and pub grub menu was on display and I noted that main meals came in around the £7.00 mark, which seems much more reasonable.
I thought this was a nice old building with a decent beer selection and well worthy of a stop off, although the lack of comfort meant that I didn't fancy staying for more than just the one. A decent option to have for this part of town, but brace yourselves for tourist prices.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3