User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

Skinners Arms, WC1

114 Judd Street
WC1
WC1H 9NT
Phone: 02078376521

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about Skinners Arms

An impressive street corner Victorian pub,the doors marked Saloon and Public Bar hint at a former layout,these days it's open plan but with a raised section opposite the bar,and a lower ceiling section at the rear with a bench seat.The interior is dark with lots of wood panelling,drapes and slats covering the top half of the large windows which partially obscures some good stained glass.The glazed tiled fireplace looks operational.The overall feel is traditional,even plush in parts.The flatscreens were playing BBC News on mute while the muzak was a touch too loud.
It's in the 2020 GBG and has three handpumps offering Three Sods Session IPA,GK Old Golden Hen and St Austell Proper Job (£3.75 ,NBSS 3.5).The food offering is very reasonable for the area with small plates,wraps and baguettes £6,mains £9-£12.
If you are waiting for a train at St Pancras,this pub may well work.Good for a quick one but maybe not the ale range for a long session.

On 6th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Ian Mapp left this review about Skinners Arms

Good Beer Guide 2019 entry.

Would expect the bar staff to know a bit more about the offerings - rather than answering the question "what is the Sambrooks Lavender Hill like" with "Its an Ale, innitt".

It was a very good ale.

High seating overlooking a traditional wooden bar with "Skinners arms" in the detail.

Mistakenly, I sat outside. The last time I was hassled by gentlemen of the street this much was outside the Bree Louise.

On 7th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Skinners Arms

Easily the busiest of the pubs I visited in my brief crawl of the Kings Cross area, which is not surprising as it's very close to Euston Road and the stations there. The fact that a number of people were eating, or had recently finished doing so, meant that there was quite a strong smell of chips and the inevitable salt and vinegar, which I find rather off-putting when I'm out for a beer. Nevertheless I approached the bar counter where I saw six hand pumps with five beers available. I went for the Reunion Opening Gambit, which was well kept and to my taste, so the most enjoyable beer of my little jaunt around Kings Cross. I might give this another try, but if the problem of chip smells persists, I would be inclined to give it a miss.

On 6th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Skinners Arms

A fairly traditionally laid out London pub,It did seem a little Nicholsons like to me but this is a Greene King pub that thankfully has a reasonable guest policy.The pub has been well visited recently so no need to repeat the discription here apart from the beers on, across the six hand pumps were two from GK, IPA and Abbot, St Austell Liquid Sunshine and Oakham JHB,two pumps were vacant on my visit,an Ok selection and indeed an Ok pub and I would look in again if passing but it didn't set my pulse racing.

On 15th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Skinners Arms

Spent a very enjoyable evening in this traditional back street Kings Cross pub. The ornate decor with leaded stained glass and dark wood panelling has been well described already and it seemed to be catering well to the after work eating and drinking crowd. As previously reported there is quite a lot of Green King branding but fortunately none of the evil brews were on for our visit. There is in fact six hand pumps in two banks of three and what initially confused us was that the three available beers are spread over both. So on initially walking up to one set and thinking there was only one beer on we fortunately glanced two more available at the other end.
This seemed to be a cunning plan as during the several hours we were there new beers appeared on the spare pumps as the others went off.
We started with Kings Heritage Brighton Best, Oakham Scarlet Macaw and Sambrooks Junction and as these ended, Oakham Citra and Inferno and Redemption Pale Ale replaced them.
Will certainly search this one out again when in the KK area.

On 23rd June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Skinners Arms

Largely as described below, quite an ornate pub with leaded stained glass, dark wood panelling, carpeted with traditional furniture and Pugin-esque wallpaper. There's also a real log fire which sadly wasn't in use, despite the inclement weather. There's a mixed crowd here with families, locals and some tourists. Music was muted and a TV, off, was spotted. Food is more along the lines of chicken and ham pie and sausages, so certainly not a gastropub then. I too spotted an old bloke on crutches being helped by the staff and the landlord took a great deal of time and care when taking a food order from a group whose English wasn't great.
On the down side, the ale choice is limited. I spotted only three pumps, one not in use and the other two dispensing St. Austell's Tribute and Greene King IPA at a reasonable (for the area) £2.00 a half and OK.

This is a good pub and is certainly worth a visit if in the area, but it's let down by the limited ale choice.

On 30th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Skinners Arms

A Greene King branded place but no sign of their wares inside, Young's Bitter, Adnam's Southwold, St Austell Tribute and Moor So Hop were on, one unclipped, on reversed which actually may have been GK IPA. This is a nice proper pub, carpeted, slightly raised area in front of the bar, the bar back is attractive and has the pub name inscribed above. A fireplace with nice looking tiling had a proper blaze on the go, stained glass over the entrance doors with "Bar" and "Saloon" still showing, stacks of framed stuff of interest to read and look at, all the stuff that tends to appeal to me. The main room extends back and tapers towards the rear. Nice friendly service and pleasing to see when a bloke struggling on crutches entered that the barman gestured him to sit down and served him at the table.

On 1st February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Skinners Arms

Pretty much as I recall from back in the day, but seems to have had a scrub and the impressive Skinners Arms bar topper above the impressive wood and glass bar back is now more prominent. Fairly homely feel, what with the heavy drape curtains, William Morris wallpaper, carpets, dark brown wood and low wattage lamps, though the music choice left a bit to be desired. Six ales on, GK heavy with their Fireside, Belhaven IPA and Morlands Original. Of more interest were Adnams Lighthouse, St Austell Cornish Best and local Southwark Routemaster Red which was decent and at £3.70 refreshingly cheap. It's certainly a better place now than it was and worth a look-in.

November 2006
A single room (with raised area to the rear) wood-panelled pub close to both the British Library and Kings Cross/St Pancras stations. Not impressed upon entering, asking for a pint of TT Landlord (advertised on a big placard by the bar) only to be told it was 'unavailable'. Bah. Had a couple of enjoyable pints of Abbot though and this appears to be a Greene King house. A decent place but very, very smoky and not helped by having fans at ceiling height blowing all the smoke back down towards the punters - what's that about? If you need ventilation, open the damned door. An OK, if relatively underwhelming experience. Rated 6

On 1st December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Skinners Arms

Impressive large bar gantry serving 2 real ales( 6 taps) and food during my visit. Doors suggest it was once a bar and saloon now one large area.

On 29th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Skinners Arms

A well run traditional Victorian pub, which always has a couple of interesting guests ales on handpump. We went for the Siren Love of Work, which was top notch. The pub has William Morris wallpaper and Lincrusta putty paper under dado height. The original bar and back servery in mahogany also adds interest to the pub.

On 26th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]

Page: 1 2