User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Lucas Arms, WC1

245A Grays Inn Road
WC1
WC1X 8QZ
Phone: 02078374340

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Lucas Arms

Popped into this one during the World Cup to see if they had the GK football brew Unbeerlievable, allegedly brewed with the help of Chris Kamara although how much he had to do with it outside of having his face on the pump clip, is questionable. It was on as one of the three GK brews available and it was actually an OK golden Ale and I would have forgiven Chris if it wasn’t anyway due to the fact that he provided one of the funniest commentating moment in football history when he missed the red card at Portsmouth, that I had the pleasure of watching and enjoying in a pub in Leicester.
As for this pub it hasn’t changed since the previous reviews and is still a comfortable yet unremarkable place just up the Greys Inn Road with its split-level interior and patio garden outback.
The other two beers on alongside Chris Kamara’s mug shot was the usual IPA and Abbott and although I didn’t try it, the food menu looked like the usual traditional and reasonably priced pub nosh you get in this type of GK house.

On 31st July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Lucas Arms

This place is, in effect, a glorified estate pub. Mainly a locals' hang-out with some studenty types and the occasional lost tourist and chirpy Welsh folk from the nearby London Welsh Centre. Carpeted and traditional to a point (it was rebuilt probably in the 1930s). Pub grub served from pictorial menus, e.g. egg and chips with the omnipresent smell of fried food. Little in the way of décor, with chintz tie-back curtains. There's a games machine and TV showing the news with the sound down.
Ales: Greene King's IPA, London Glory and Westerham Brewery's British Bulldog at an extremely reasonable £1.90 a half, though this was a very dull ale.
Customers seem to enjoy this place but I require something with an overall greater punch. I won't be returning, but I wish it all the best; The Queen's Head is just around the corner.

On 26th April 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 996 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Lucas Arms

Greene King pub with a split level interior. 3 real ales and food served.

On 29th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lucas Arms

The Lucas Arms is a split level Greene King pub with a front seating area that leads to a raised L shaped bar at the rear. During a recent Monday afternoon visit the bar was stocked with standard draught and the three hand pumps were drawing Greene King IPA and Scrum Down alongside Twickenham Brewery’s Naked Ladies. Pub grub is available all day with the majority of mains costing less than £10. A plasma screen in the bar was showing muted rolling BBC News and World Cup Rugby was advertised. I didn’t see any signs for Sky Sports. Upstairs is a function room that I did not visit, but I did note that it hosts Celtic comedy and cinema every last Wednesday of the month… Yippee!!? Out the back is a covered seating area that is mainly for the use of smokers.

I found the service to be very friendly and I thought that this was a decent enough pub that I would have no problem popping back into if I find myself in the area again.

On 12th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lucas Arms

Having given up on getting served in the nearby heaving Queen's Head, I decided to pop into this split-level Greene King pub instead. Entering through the Cromwell Street entrance, you find yourself in the main bar with the servery directly opposite. Some U-shaped banquettes formed into booths provide a nice spot to relax under the front windows, with regular tables and chairs to the left and in a darker rear recess past the end of the bar. Two steps lead down into a lounge with padded banquettes around half of the walls and standard tables and chairs filling up the rest of the space. The room is carpeted throughout and there are several old photos on the walls , mostly railway themed, which is apt given the pub's proximity to Kings Cross station. A nice fireplace can be found in one corner and there is what I initially thought was a video juke box in another corner, although I actually think it might have been some sort of advertising screen. Music, mainly in the form of '90's chart hits, played fairly loudly throughout my stay and a TV in the main bar was showing muted BBC1 programming. Some limited bench seating is available outside the front of the pub and there is a small courtyard to the left, whilst signs indicated that a function rom is available upstairs.
Just the two Greene King beers were on when I arrived - IPA and Down the Dragon - with Old Speckled Hen having recently been taken off. I asked for a pint of Down the Dragon and the very friendly manager insisted on offering me a taster, warning me that it was a chilli and chocolate beer and might not be to my taste. I was tempted to tell her that it is much more drinkable than Greene King IPA and went ahead with ordering the pint, which was in good nick, if a bit heavy handed with the chilli. The manager remembered what I had ordered and popped over later on to see how I was getting on with it.
This is a fairly unremarkable pub that I found was easy enough to settle down in, despite the loud music, but lacked a bit of character. The service was probably the most memorable feature of my visit and despite the limited beer range, I thought the pub was a pretty decent back-up for my original plans.

On 19th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lucas Arms

This is a well run GK pub with a friendly and jolly manageress on our visit. The pub was fairly full with diners on our Sunday eve visit. The only off putting thing for me on this visit was the lingering smell of cheap pub grub meals throughout the place.

On 12th February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Lucas Arms

A re-visit over Xmas found three Greene King beers on and I had three very good pints of Abbot Reserve. There seemed to have been a subtle shift of emphasis away from the lad, lager and football element (the pool table has gone, thankfully, and one of the tv sets had vanished) and there was more of a mixed crowd. I’ve got a soft spot for this one and I’d say it’s worth a visit if you’re nearby.

April 2008
Usually a decent bet for a pint before a gig at the nearby Water Rats or Scala. Normally three decently-kept Greene King brews are on offer at a decent price (£2.50). The inside is two rooms on a split-level separated by a knocked-through wall. Football is usually blaring away in the back, along with a permanently-occupied pool table (the back is where the toilets also are, so you need to traipse through a hoard of lairy mockneys to get there when a game’s on). Basic pub food is available. Not bad.

On 11th January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Lucas Arms

This one is a Greene King pub, and had on OSH, IPA, and something called Phoenix (£3.20 a pint), branded as a Tolly Cobbold ale, undoubtedly using the name of one of the breweries that they’ve gobbled up over the years. They do food, and the menu contained the usual fairly cheap and cheerful pubco pub grub, including deals like a burger and a pint for £6.99.
It’s carpeted, contains normal tables and chairs, has TVs on the walls (on when I visited, but muted and rather pointlessly displaying only a screen menu), and I spotted a games machine. A pop music radio station was also being played. The tables were all clean, and in fact the place was generally clean and tidy throughout. But overall I think this is another of this area’s uninspiring pubs. In my view there’s nothing particularly good or bad about it, although it helps if you like Greene King ales. I doubt whether I’ll go out of my way to return.

On 25th February 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lucas Arms

Nothing fancy, but one of the better pubs near Kings Cross station. Fairly anonomous from the outside, but it appears to be a Greene King house with only a small brewery sign near each door giving the game away. Inside it is fairly basic, with plain furniture, massive TV screen and a pool table. However, it did have one of the fancy new(ish) St Edmonds fonts dispensing the golden beer which actually tastes OK despite the low temperature at which it is served.

On 18th June 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Lucas Arms

Nice traditional no-nonsense boozer. There's a split level bar with a big screen for sports, fruit and quiz machines and also an ATM. Greene King beers, only OSH was on but it was in good nick, the food looked good but I didn't eat, and service was friendly. There's a large and well presented outside patio area which I imagine is well used during the Summer months.

On 20th January 2008 - rating: 5
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2