User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Lamb, Bloomsbury, WC1

94 Lambs Conduit Street
WC1
WC1N 3LZ
Phone: 02074050713

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Lamb

Interesting old pub, with split level rear, around a central bar. Nice wood on the walls and lots of old fashioned portraits and pictures. Tartan carpet, window cill seating at the front and padded bences around. Altogether a really nice feel and has 6 well kept real ales, including Sambrooks.

On 31st January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Lamb

The Lamb, a beautifully preserved and important Grade II listed Victorian pub still has the etched glass snob screens in place above the bar (see my photos above) and where the bar is curved, the snob screens actually have curved etched glass panels. These are set at around head height, and can be swivelled in order to allow drinkers to maintain a degree of anonymity. They are set above a narrow etched glass screen with a small clearance below. To the rear of the pub, where the original partitioning is still evident, are fine examples of etched glass and smart leather banquettes line walls on either side of the pub. Good welcome and efficient service (although this was early afternoon and there was only one other customer). Good range of ales, which were very well kept. Part of my "Victorian Splendour" crawl - see link below.

On 28th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lamb

Well worth seeking out, popped in on a Sunday eve and was surprised how busy it was, seemed to be a lot of regulars, which is good. One barmaid serving and really handled the place. Youngs London Gold very good.

On 6th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lamb

This is a lovely, well preserved Victorian pub with a central servery which has two sections of etched glass snob screens along the bar counter. There’s a lot of etched glass at the rear of the pub, where the original partitioning is still evident as well. Some smart leather banquettes line walls on either side of the pub, with a few standard tables and chairs at the front and back.
The place was packed when I visited on a Friday evening and sadly, this was reflected in the time it took me to get served by the very casual staff. This is a Young's house, so Ordinary, London Gold and Winter Warmer (£3.30) were available, as well as Courage Directors. Two pumps had turned clips, one of which appeared to have been a guest ale. My pint of Winter Warmer was lovely, but the person next to me at the bar ordered a pint of London Gold and I was shocked to see the barman pick up the slops tray, fill an empty glass from it, and hand the resultant pint over to the unsuspecting punter. This is shocking to see in a pub with a reputation for good beer and the same barman did little to endear himself to me later in the evening, when he was incredibly rude when trying to get past me in the crowd.
I'd certainly recommend a visit to this pub, but perhaps when it is a little less crowded. Just make sure you keep an eye on where your beer is coming from.

On 18th December 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Lamb

This is a traditional Young’s house that I have been using since the early 1970s. It was one of the few places that you could find real ale in those days. Perhaps more importantly, it has probably the best preserved set of original Victorian snob screens that I have seen in London. These are set at around head height, and can be swivelled in order to allow drinkers to maintain at least a degree of anonymity. This caused the Victorians some concern as they thought that those using the snugs – who could well be members of both sexes – would use the snob screens to hide their untoward activities. Whatever were they like, these Victorians? Anyway, The Lamb these days is of course the model of propriety, and thankfully has not been the victim of one of the Young’s makeovers we’ve seen elsewhere. The seating is mainly comfortable green upholstered banquettes, plus normal tables and chairs, and it is carpeted throughout. There are no one armed bandits or the like, and there was no piped music when I was in there in the early afternoon. This a real hidden gem (not that it is very well hidden), that is definitely worth seeking out.

On 25th February 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2551 recommendations about 2469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Lamb

Worth a visit especially for the rather splendid interior, especially the island bar with the etched glass reversible screens. The seating either side of the bar has seemingly hundreds of old actor/actress portraits. Otherwise there is wood panelling to the walls, red boarded ceiling, cushioned bench seating. The rear area is set at a slightly lower level. A door leads out to a tiny rear courtyard.
There was an impressive (for Youngs) guest range, with Titanic Iceberg, St Austell Tribute and Deuchers IPA supplementing the Ordinary, Special and Bombardier.
One minor grumble again noted by others was that only one person was serving leading to a bit of a queue building up.
One can only hope that The Lamb will remain untouched by The Wells/Youngs interior design team. A must visit and beautifully preserved London pub.

On 4th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lamb

I found the staff here to be very friendly and the Deuchars and Ordinary were very good. Directors, Bombardier and Special were also available alongside Heineken, Fosters, Kronenburg and Guinness.

The walls are adorned with old sepia photos and there is a polyphone in the corner of the pub that can be heard with a small donation to charity. The actual bar is pretty big for the pub, but I liked the layout. There is no seating outside, but there is a shelf running along the outside of the pub that you can put your beer on.

I liked it in here and will go back again.

On 7th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


matt england left this review about The Lamb

Wonderful victorian pub with cut glass, swivelling'snob-screens' at the bar. A rarity these days. Very popular.

On 18th February 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 61 recommendations about 61 pubs]

Page: 1 2