User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th Decenber 2019) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Marquis Cornwallis, Bloomsbury, WC1

31 Marchmont Street
WC1
WC1N 1AP

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

One of those pubs which takes on a new identity every few years. Currently trying to be a slightly trendy place, with a dark grey colour scheme, some areas of distressed wood and a bit of brickwork for luck. Two high ceilinged rooms show some original pub features underneath, but with the main bar room mainly equipped with high tables and lower tables in the next door room aimed more at diners. A couple of Meantime lager tanks stand between and an upstairs 'Drawing Room' bar was not visited. Draught ales were Landlord, Doom Bar, Dark Star Partridge and a special from Brew York, with a 5th pump reversed. Fair enough but wouldn't go out of my way.

On 4th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2096 recommendations about 2050 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

A bit understated but decent enough place with several real ales to be had. Toilets upstairs - must be looking at Wetherspoons!

On 25th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1520 recommendations about 1518 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

As described below a mixed style interior. 6 real ales, meantime served from a tank and food served.

On 29th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

I'd not been here before so it was a surprise just how big this place is, especially when climb the rather grand stair to the large upstairs separate bar. It's a mix of traditional and modern with some industrial lighting, a tiled bar apron, some high tables and chairs and a granite bar top.

Ales: Britannia's Navigation, Sharp's Doom Bar, Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Thwaites' Wainwright at £4.55 a pint and decent enough.

I'd come here again, but it's a bit corporate and soulless. I'd make the 5-minute walk to The Lamb and Perseverance.

On 5th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 936 recommendations about 922 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

I used to frequent this pub in the mid-90's. Back then it was an average corner street pub, keg lagers, no food served. It was quite a surprise to see how much it has changed, especially now in its gastro pub form. Gone are the old carpets, now it's bare boards and leather settees. Five hand pumps on, only two in use, so I went for the Sambrook's Wandle, which was pricey, as expected for the type of pub.

On 16th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Marquis Cornwallis

Two room pub, partly opened out, and refurbished in gastro-pub style. Brightly lit, with mixed height furniture. Four of the five handpumps were working when I visited, with Doom Bar, Great Heck American Classic, Dalesale Old Legover and Wherry (£3.95) available. Also has the Drawing Room bar upstairs with three further handpumps but no different beers. Wooden patio furniture out front. Just as busy with young crowd as when I last called by in 2008.

On 13th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Marquis of Cornwallis

There’s a decent ale selection in here – London Pride, Doom Bar, Tribute, Adnam’s Soul Star and Mauldon’s Silver Adder (£1.90 a half) were all available when I visited on Wednesday afternoon. But this is still a food led gastropub, even though the menu wasn’t too expensive by London standards. Sandwiches were mainly £5 - £6, and they advertised a fixed price (and no prix fixe here) 3-course menu for £13, featuring stuff like gammon steak & chips, and fish and chips (or more precisely “breaded hake with crushed minty peas, tartare and fries”). Main courses on the a la carte menu were mainly £10 - £11.
This looks like an old Victorian boozer, but inside it’s all sofas, banquettes, and normal shaped but chunky tables and chairs all in neat rows. In the gastropub way, all the tables in here bore a single stemmed flower – on Wednesday it was a single yellow tulip. Some large potted ficus benjaminii added to the saloon lounge atmosphere. The high ceiling which is typical of pubs of this era, coupled with the bare-boarded floor, allows the ambient noise to bounce around the place making it quite noisy. But it was doing a very good trade so must be a thriving concern and is presumably giving the customers in this area what they want. It’s not the sort of pub in which I’d want to spend an entire evening, but it’s OK for a swift one. The Silver Adder was good as well.

On 6th April 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2553 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Marquis of Cornwallis

This is one of M&B's "Metro Professional" brand which I guess is supposed to a pubbier variant of their awful All Bar One chain. It certainly does seem to attract the same sort of younger well-heeled types who go here for a four quid pint of daftly named beer rather than an ABO for a seven quid glass of Pino Grigio. It is pleasantly appointed if rather noisy due to bare boards and high ceilings, and doesn't suffer too much from the huge leather sofa disease, and yes you will get a pint of something unusual. Service is a bit haphazard though and there was an unpleasantly strong cooking smell when we called the other afternoon.

I wouldn't stay for more than the one pint before moving on.

On 3rd December 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 467 recommendations about 459 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Marquis of Cornwallis

For the array and diversity of beers you can't fault this place. There's 3-4 cask beers, Addlestones Cider, Fransiskaner, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, and some premium lagers. The fact that most of the staff seem not to know anything about them or how each needs pouring is a tad worrying. It's not cheap and can seem a bit pretentious but go at a quiet time and it's OK.

On 21st January 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Marquis of Cornwallis

I popped in here on Saturday evening and had a very nice pint of Landlord. The other three ales all seemed to be off for the night and the only other offerings were premium lagers. I found the barman to be friendly and knowledgeable enough and the other punters seemed like a good crowd.

The downstairs bar had a DJ who was playing some pretty good tunes, but I wasn't really in the mood so I disappeared up to the quieter bar, which is sign posted as “The Drawing Room”.

If I lived locally this would probably be the ‘lets go there for a change' pub on the odd Friday/Saturday night.

On 6th April 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]

Page: 1 2