User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Victoria, Lincoln

6 Union Road
Lincoln
LN1 3BJ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Victoria

Still a great pub. Friendly staff and punters, great ale and a neat interior.

27/04/2010
Two roomed pub with a small snug to the left as you enter with a few settles and tables. Straight ahead is the main room which is long and narrow with the bar on the left. There’s a large outside drinking area directly under the walls of the castle. This used to be a Tynemill house, but is now owned by Batemans. They still sell the Castle Rock Harvest Pale though on one of their 10 handpumps over the 2 rooms. Other regular beers are Batemans XB and Timothy Taylor Landlord alongside a range of changing guests. Both pints I had were excellent, I’ve been coming in here for years whenever I’ve been in Lincoln and the beer has always been top notch. They also sell good value quality food, including hand cut chunky chips, none of your frozen chip rubbish here. The best pub at the top end of Lincoln.

On 24th September 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2926 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Victoria

Well-known beer pub, owned by Batemans but largely stocked with real ales from other breweries, although XB (£3.42, including 5% Camra discount) and TT Landlord seem to be the regular offerings. Anyway, it has a dark traditional interior with an attractive fireplace in the narrow main bar, with pew-type benches in the small side lounge (which also has its own counter in one corner), and it comes as little surprise that this is also the home of the Lincolnshire Steampunk Society. For the better weather, there are a number of wooden picnic benches along the south-facing side of the building, and this is where all the customers were to be found on the day I visited.

On 29th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Victoria

Nice Batemans pub with main room to the right and an area in the front. Beer garden to rear. The bar is to the left with a fair amount of real ales, nothing particularly strong mind you.

On 17th July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Victoria

Uber-traditional and uncomplicated Bateman's boozer up the hill by the cathedral and round the back of the castle. Two rooms within, right hand side is long and narrow with wood flooring and red ceiling, plus a majolica tiled fireplace and to the left is a square snug-cum-lounge for the old boys. There’s a lot of character within the interior, though I have to admit it was perhaps a little shabby in one or two places. Seven ales available from a good spread - White Horse, Bateman's XB, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Black Sheep Blitzen, Hook Norton Greedy Goose, Newby Wyke Festive Delight and Bath Ales Festivity (very good nick). Filled rolls available at 2 quid a pop. Noticed ‘board games Tuesday’ advertised. Whilst busy, it was notably less rumbustious than most of the other Saturday night pre-Christmas boozers. I enjoyed my pint in here and was sad to have to press on in order to tick off others on the list. In retrospect, I’d have stayed in here and the Strugglers all night. A very enjoyable 30 minutes and would default back to it next time I’m looking for the imp.

On 17th December 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Victoria

A Bateman's house but serving a few guests as well, it's a traditional pub just round the corner from the outstanding Strugglers which is in the same mould. There's a narrow public on one side and a square lounge to the other. There is an impressive collection of GBGs behind the bar.

On 31st May 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Victoria

The Victoria is situated at the back of Lincoln castle.
We first went in this pub back in 1989 and have visited it almost every time we have been to Lincoln since then which is quite a few times.
Once inside the pub still has two separate rooms,there is a small square shaped lounge to the front left,this room has pew type seating and small stools and chairs,the bar to the right is a narrow oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,this room also has bench seating and a few normal tables and chairs.
The pub is a Batemans tied house but there are quite a few guest beers on the bar,we had a drink of Castle Rock Harvest Pale which went down well,the other beers i noted were Batemans XB / Yellow Belly and Talyor Landlord,there were more guest beers that i did not note.
We quite like this pub,our only small gripe is that when Lincoln Christmas market is on they serve all beers in plastic glasses even if you sit inside,the Strugglers round the corner manages to serve drinks in proper glasses,so why car'nt the Victoria do this.
We will continue to use this pub whenever in Lincoln.

Pub first visited 21/1/1989

Recent visit 6/12/2014

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Victoria

Good pub good pint of Batemans xb went and sat in the beer garden the inside was full but unfortunately there was a band on that loud you could not hear them just had the one.
BUT WILL CALL BACK

On 3rd September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Victoria

A deceptively large end terrace Bateman's corner pub that is in the GBG. A Victorian build, the facade is somewhat featureless in undressed brick, whereas the sides are rendered in white and coffee, as there is a side patio area here. The interior has a couple of rooms. To the left on entry there is a small snug room with a small bar in the corner. It is in red, white and green, with Queen Victoria and other odd bits of ephemera about. The main room has a wood/tile mixed floor, with white walls and some green paintwork. There is a nice stone fireplace and the walls have a few Burton Ales mirrors on them. The serving bar is further down to the left and there are red perimeter seats and stools. The do food, but we didn't eat. There was no TV that i saw and the music was general and quiet. The service was fine, but it was a little quiet, with just a couple of locals in. Beer; usual stuff with Batemen's XB, XXXB, Tim Taylor Landlord, Skinner's Royal Wave, Spitfire and Castle Rock HPA. All the beers i tried were well kept. A really nice pub and worthy of its inclusion - definitely would return to it when back in Lincoln.

On 21st April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Victoria

The Victoria sits in Lincoln's Cathedral Quarter and is in the lee of the castle.
As the name says, it's a fine example of a Victorian boozer which hasn't been overly messed about with. Split into lounge and bar with a reasonable sized outside space with plenty of benches for alfresco quaffing, it's a welcoming place for a stop.
Beer offered on our visit was: Bateman's XB, Landlord, Mordue Workie Ticket, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Leeds Jubilee IPA and Woodforde's Wherry. A fair selection for a Bateman's house and hats off to them for that. Everything we had was in top nick.
This would probably be my first port of call in Lincoln as it feels somehow more relaxed and less cramped than The Strugglers.

On 10th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Victoria

A very genuine and traditional local with a strong commitment to serving decent real ale.The interior retains a two room layout with a charming square shaped lounge with leather upholstered bench seating,it's own small counter,carpet and authentic atmosphere.The public bar is long and thin with it's bar half way along,again long bench seating along the left hand wall with wooden tables and stools.A vibrant and friendly crowd were in,lots of banter ,a real community boozer.I enjoyed my Mordue Workie Ticket and for a Bateman's pub there was only one of their brews on handpull,the rest were dedicated to guests,many award winning.Pork pies are £2,although untried by me.
A must visit when in Lincoln and a great double header with The Strugglers around the corner for ale fans.

On 8th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2197 recommendations about 2197 pubs]

Page: 1 2