User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Jolly Brewer, Lincoln Central, Lincoln

27 Broadgate
Lincoln
LN2 5AQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Jolly Brewer

A pretty idiosyncratic place! Red and bright green colour scheme. Glitzy tables (see pics), cinema seats, art on the walls for sale – sounds potentially awful but has been done in a genuine enough way as to not feel contrived. Looks like the original long bar (as you enter) has been extended as the old wall and windows remain, presumably taking in a horseway to some former stables? Some salvaged bits of normality included an Art Deco stained glass bar gantry and tiled divider. Six pumps all on, mainly local micro brews - my Wellbeck Abbey Henrietta was a very nice drop. Inevitably draws the alt crowd, with the Rock soundtrack permeating and live music advertised. I couldn’t quite settle on my opinion of the place, but its leftfield feel and range of good quality ales means it should be sampled when crawling Lincoln. 7.5

On 17th December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Jolly Brewer

Real ale drinkers this is the place for you in Lincoln you can not stop for one nice girl behind Steph the bar it was mid afternoon.
Had a couple of good pints Walter Tully Soldier Footballer. Northamptonshire brewery

On 3rd September 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Jolly Brewer

This is a terraced pub and live music venue, with a large beer patio area, part of which was being used as a stage area at my visit. The pub looks Victorian, with the upper stories in white render with green window sills and lintels. The ground frontage is in green, with a large window and an old horse passageway to the back.

The interior is an open plan room, split strangely to former a narrow area on the one side. The main room has the long serving bar to the left on entry. It is in light green and bright red, with a dark green ceiling and a wood floor. There is a brick fireplace, lots of art deco glass, strange art (some for sale) and a full wall picture of a lady. I didn't see a TV, the music was 80s at our visit and at a decent level. There is a dart board, an old video game and a table footy game. The Service was fine and the clietele is really mixed - at it was very busy!

Beer; usual tap stuff with Newby Wyke Roundel, Tom Wood's Bomber County, Dixie Marine's Red Rock, Brewster's Imp Athlete and Caythorpe Dark Gem MILD - I tried all and they were well kept.

A really good place. You cannot stop here for one. As the CAMRA says, a real cosmopolitan place.

On 28th June 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Jolly Brewer

An interesting boozer well detailed by Mr Fastard.
The highlights for me were the very well laid out and tended garden which I'd imagine is very popular on sunny days. Also of note is that much of the artwork on display is for sale.
6 handpumps offering Tom Woods Lincoln Gold, Youngs Bitter and Idle Black Abbot as regulars with guests on our visit of Brentwood Porter, Caythorpe One Swallow and Copthorne Finest Hour. £ of these were labelled LocAle not including the Lincoln Gold which is brewed in north Lincolnshire and may not quite qualify. All that we tried was in good nick but nothing was outstanding.
Worth a visit if in Lincoln.

On 29th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Jolly Brewer

Situated on the dual carriage way that is Broadgate,dont be put off by the modest exterior,there is much inside to wax lyrical about.You enter into a wooden floored room with the bar running along most of one side,a fireplace ,bench seating opposite the bar and an interesting backlit art deco frieze running above the bar.At the far end of this room is a small temporary bar and an alcove housing a table football machine ,while there is another room parallel to the bar room,with bench seating on both sides and a quieter feel.Opposite the corridor with the loos there is a drinking shelf running the full length while the paved garden area splits into different sections and levels,some covered which looked a very good option in fine weather.
As befits a GBG regular there is a wide choice of real ale although there is a concentration on micros in the area rather than award winning ales from further afield.Condition of my Idle Brewery and Tom Woods beers was good without these being the sort of pint you just can't put down.
There is a focus on music here with live performances advertised and the juke box issues forth some real classics even if it not fed with money.It's full of character and should be included in any ale tour of the city,for my money this is the best pub I have visited in "lower" Lincoln.

On 24th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2004 recommendations about 2004 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Jolly Brewer

This large music venue pub attracts a good mix of people of all ages, and you'll definitely see some characters in here. It was great to hear a bit of rock music in the background whilst having a drink. The walls are mostly painted green, with some art deco glass dotted around and lots of fun drawings. There's also a large beer garden, with more art deco glass, which was very impressive. Six ales on, I went for the Sleaford Brewery Pale Ale, which was cloudy and the main reason for this is they don't use finings to clear the beer, so don't panic, it's a good session ale.

On 8th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2862 recommendations about 2862 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Coles left this review about Jolly Brewer

The only pub in Linoln that i realy feel at home in. Good jukebox, even better Live Bands, Good company, no Judgement on anyone, Each to there own!!!!

On 22nd September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Jolly Brewer

In every town or city there’s always one pub that attracts a really eclectic range of customers, this is Lincolns. Leather jackets, beanie hats, piercings, tattoos, dreadlocks and well dressed middle aged couples, they’re all here and all made equally welcome. One large floorboarded room with an unusual drinking corridor to the right. A real fire in the main room and an impressive variety of things on the wall. I especially like the cartoon drawings of all the staff over the fireplace. 6 handpumped beers on offer, TT Landlord plus changing guests. The pints I had were fine. They also have four, yes four, real ciders available. It’s not a pub for the faint hearted as it’s pretty raucous in a friendly sort of way, but it’s well worth a visit.

On 27th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2736 recommendations about 2664 pubs]