User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Boat Inn, Melton Mowbray Town, Melton Mowbray

57 Burton Street
Melton Mowbray
LE13 1AF
Phone: 01664500969

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Boat Inn

My final pub in a quick tour of Melton, and necessarily brief as this and one other both open at 4 and my train was at 4.30. I received a friendly welcome as I walked in, and identified the accent as Scottish, the owner being a woman from Broughty Ferry though 30 years in these parts. The beers were what some would describe as "dull mainstream" (see photos), but my half of Adnams Southwold Bitter was in very good condition and I enjoyed my brief appearance here before skedaddling to the station. Apparently the pub sponsors some local sports teams, and this encourages their members to drink here, so everyone is happy! As described below, this is a very nice pub, well set up and fulfilling its role as a community pub. I'd be more than happy to call again if in these parts.

On 23rd May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2335 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Boat Inn

The Boat consists of a long narrow room with the bar on the right and a cosier seating area on the right as you enter as well described below. It was doing a good trade on my Saturday afternoon visit.
There are just four hand pumps here which had a dull mainstream selection of Marston's Bass, Oakham JHB, Well's Bombardier and Adnam's Broadside. I went for the JHB (£3.30) which was in excellent nick.
I was intending to stay for more than one here but after seeing the depressing choice of beers I necked the JHB down and went to get a train to Peterborough and hour earlier than planned. Despite that it seemed a decent local's boozer.

On 21st December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn is the closest pub to Melton Mowbrays train station.
Once inside there was a long L shaped room which ran to the rear of the pub,the floor was tiled and the ceiling was low beamed giving the room a cosy feel to it,the seating was bench type which faced the bar and small stools.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Bass which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Thwaites Lancaster Bomber,Bombardier and Theakston best.
The pub was fairly busy on our late Saturday afternoon visit,we quite liked this pub,it is the sort of pub i could settle in for a session.

Pub visited 19/10/2013

On 19th October 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Boat Inn

A traditional single roomed pub with dartboard. This pub was very welcoming and we enjoyed our Shepherd Neame Spitfire and Wells Bombardier here. Seemed to be more of a locals community pub.

On 14th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1297 recommendations about 1187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Boat Inn

The first pub you see when walking from the railway station and can't be missed. The pub is 250 years old and has a lot of history to it. There's a lot of fotos and memorabilia displayed. Was rewarded Pub of Merit 2011. The pub consists of an L shaped bar including a snug, also an open fire. There are low black beams, red floor tiles and panelling. Four ales on handpump Wells Bombardier, Theakston, Deuchers and Doombar which was the guest. You get a good welcom. Will call again.

On 8th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Boat Inn

We phoned ahead to check whether we could eat our locally purchased pie here & the guv said no prob, although when we arrived he did admit to having thought we were on a wind-up! Small pub, nicely furnished with surround settles at the front, plasma & dartboard to the rear. Look out for the bank of four interesting handpumps (decorative) opposite the bar – unfortunately the bar itself offered only IPA, Abbot & Bombardier, but the latter was in fine fettle. And the Thompson pies were splendid with local pickles & mustard.

On 5th May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]