User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Old Millwrights Arms, Aylesbury

83 Walton Road
Aylesbury
HP21 7SN
Phone: 01296393711

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Old Millwrights Arms

From the outside a fairly average-looking pub with a large Greene King sign, but going in I was pleasantly surprised by a nice row of handpumps facing the door. Generally U-shaped round a central bar, tastefully furnished with tabled areas to each side and soft chairs in the middle, plus a garden behind. Perhaps a little bit too comfortable for comfort, and the large screen showing a jungle waterfall for no apparent reason was rather unnecessary. On the pumps were an excellent range of beers from the likes of White Horse and Hook Norton, while I was drawn to a rather nice Elgoods Blackberry Stout in excellent condition (Cask Marque). Well worth the walk out from town.

On 27th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2270 recommendations about 2217 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Old Millwrights Arms

Pleasant L-shaped bar, lots of space, a little bit out of the mail town centre. Good choice of real ales

On 18th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Old Millwrights Arms

A substantial street corner pub located just a short stroll across the canal from Aylesbury town centre, first impressions weren’t great with a Greene King sign outside but fortunately there was a very extensive range of beers on tap, by no means just the run of the mill offerings that one associates with that brewer. Add to that a delightfully cheerful barmaid (despite her tattoos and purple hair) and I could quite imagine settling in here for a few had I not had a table booked at the nearby Broad Leys.

Internally, it’s a single, open-plan L shape room with a wood strip floor. Dark brown painted wood panelling was on the lower part of the walls, with some flock wallpaper and plain plasterwork elsewhere. A large map on the ceiling was an unusual feature and a small brick fireplace with wood burning stove was off to one side. One table had a massive pile of board games stacked up on it, whilst a large TV screen was showing a football match. Some pale brown Chesterfield style bench seating was at the front of the pub, whilst a number of chairs had apparently been laid from old beer barrels – not just sawn off to make a stool, but a proper arm chair. A courtyard garden was at the back of the pub, and whilst not especially attractive this was still a pleasant enough spot. We didn’t study the food menu, but did see a few pizzas and burgers coming out.

Beers on tap were Tring’s Colley Dog, Greene King IPA, Tring’s Side Pocket for a Toad, Loddon Reading Best, Farr Brew Bitter, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Abbott Ale, whilst a board on the wall displayed a further selection that was coming soon. Ciders too were well represented with Abrahall’s AD, Farmer Jim’s Rootin Tootin and Aspall’s Suffolk. All in all, well worth a visit.

On 8th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Old Millwrights Arms

An old exterior but a modernised interior, don't be put off by the Greene King sign outside only three out of nine beers were tosh and the line up included 2 Yorkshire beers, Black Sheep Bitter and Taylor's Landlord (the pub's landlord is from Scarborough) in excellent condition which would put some Yorkshire pubs to shame. A large U shaped room with a mix of furniture ancient & modern and nice wooden floorboards. Only a few old photos as decor. I did make it a two hander with the Bricklayers before a stroll back over the canal to the town centre.

On 25th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Old Millwrights Arms

Nearing the end of a pleasant stroll along the canal into the centre of Aylesbury, the heavens decided to open, so we made a quick dash to this smartly refurbished Greene King pub, to wait for the storm to pass. We found a rather pleasing U-shaped pub which seemed to be angled towards diners, although our late Saturday afternoon visit found several groups of locals enjoying drinks and not a single plate of food in sight. Entrances at either side of the building lead into the main bar area where a sturdy looking U-shaped servery stands to the rear, with some new mirrors on the bar back bearing the pub's name. Comfy seating was arranged under the windows in the space opposite the bar including some rather excellent looking tub chairs fashioned from old wooden barrels. To the right of the bar there is a fairly large area which seemed to be popular with the locals and offered more comfortable seating and extended into an additional space to the right, with a fireplace and various pointless knick-knacks dotted around the place. Large windows to the rear here made this quite a bright space, in contrast to the more muted lighting in the main bar area. To the left of the bar is a smaller area with tables and chairs down the left hand wall, although some of this had been cleared away in preparation for some live music which was due on that evening. Lots of interesting old local photos adorn the walls here, alongside a few bits of breweriana. A good playlist was chugging away in the background throughout our stay and there were a couple of friendly, if rather damp, dogs mooching around looking for a bit of attention.
The pub's last refurbishment seemed to coincide with an expansion of their guest ale policy, as evidenced by the Greene King/Morland staples IPA, Old Speckled Hen, Old Golden Hen and seasonal Back of the Net being available alongside XT 4 and XPA, Hornes Triple Goat Pale and Weston's Old Rosie cider. I'd never heard of the Hornes Brewery, but having been told it was a Buckinghamshire based micro, I decided to give it a try and received a well kept, if rather one-dimensional pint. The staff were very polite and seemed to have a good rapport with their regulars, although my other half interpreted this differently, leaving with the impression that the place was a bit cliquey.
The decision of this pub to go down the food route seems a little at odds with its location on the periphery of the town centre and the refurbishment couldn't entirely hide the fact that this is a local's boozer at heart. I found it a smart and comfortable place to shelter from the rain over a well conditioned pint and would suggest it makes a good addition to a crawl around Aylesbury.

On 13th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Old Millwrights Arms

ORIGINAL REVIEW February 2014
This Greene King owned pub has had a refurb and is now part of their "Local Heroes" tenancy agreement whereby 50% of real ales are free of tie,while the tenant receives his GK beers at a discount.The promise of 8 handpumps was enough to tempt a visit,especially as the free of tie ales are meant to be sourced locally and there are lots of good micros close to Aylesbury.
The interior is fully open plan and winds around a modest sized bar.There is a large leather banquette to the left side,the wooden floor nods to an alehouse,but the presence of candles on each table gives the interior the feel of a gastro pub,but it all felt sadly souless .The food did seemed good value with mains plus a free desert £10,and good value lunchtime snacks.
Sadly there was a big let down on the real ale front,lots of pumpclips reversed and only one guest (Chiltern Brewery Foxtrot) besides the dire GK brews.The chalkboard mentioned beers from XT,Vale and Rebellion but this was not matched up by what was available on my Thursday evening visit.
You may be luckier ,but I cannot justify a revisit while GK's insipid beers still dominate the selection.There are far better real ale options elsewhere in town.

UPDATE
A huge improvement in both the real ale range and quality has lead to a big upgrade.The interior is now shabby chic and there is a small wood burner opposite the bar and a bicycle to one side with its basket full of local CAMRA pamphlets.The friendly barman explained they have to have 50% of their ales from GK,and he asked us if any of their output was decent.He had a Belhaven brew on to try and disguise his dilemma but did admit that a lot of the GK dross gets poured down the drain.However his guest ale policy is very enlightened and I had excellent pints of Windsor &Eton Zinzan's Drop and Tree Tops ,and Loose Cannon Abingdon Bridge.The coming soon list shows that a lot of local brewery output will guest here and so this pub should definitely visited on any real ale tour .I also liked the chatty service and would consider staying here for a decent session.Well done to the team now in charge.

On 20th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Millwrights Arms

Sizeable corner pub, partially opened-up a some stage to leave a 'L'-shaped bar with a further seating / dining area beyond. Attractively refurbished by Greene King in a semi-modern style with a mix of furniture and generally light decor. Pretty good selection from seven of nine handpumps, ranging from the inevitable IPA and Old Speckled Hen, through Olde Trip and London Glory to the rum-infused Rumrunner, with Chiltern Brewery Gold and Beechwood Bitter (£3.50) available as guests.

On 23rd August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Beer Haze left this review about The Old Millwrights Arms

To be honest after reading the previous reviews on here I figured that it was pretty much a done deal that this would not be a great pub, however being that I was in the guest house down the road I thought I would give it a try this afternoon, and was more than pleasantly surprised, I have never seen such an array of hand pulls and well kept beer, even some of the local CAMRA boys were quaffing away in the "cool" seats opposite the bar. Food was not being served as it was mid afternoon, but the menu looked quite extensive and I will be back

On 19th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Old Millwrights Arms

This place feels like a 'Spoons Lloyds No. 1 on a slightly smaller scale, without the atmosphere, with higher prices and a smaller selection of, mainly Greene King, beer.
It's an open plan affair. To the left as you enter is an area with tables laid for food while to the right are a few tables where you can 'enjoy' a beer.
The menu looked interesting and decent value so perhaps this works best as a lunchtime venue.
Beers on were: GK London Glory, GK Old Golden Hen and GK Abbot Reserve with the sole guest being Chiltern Foxtrot. The Abbot Reserve was in decent condition but is a foul brew which I couldn't finish.
I'm pleased to have visited as I know not to again.

On 18th February 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gene morris left this review about The Millwrights Arms

Lovely Pub,
Good People, Good Ale, Good Food
What else do you need?

On 3rd February 2004 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]