User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Rutland & Derby Arms, Leicester

Millstone Lane
Leicester
LE1 5JN
Phone: 01162623299

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


custodian 42 left this review about Rutland & Derby Arms

Open plan place with the bar in the middle. Four real ales, nothing above 4.2% ABV. Beer garden to the rear.

On 19th March 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Danny O'Revey left this review about Rutland & Derby Arms

Modernised tidy interior, bar board floor, 4 real ales, nice pub

On 9th November 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Rutland & Derby Arms

UPDATE FEBRUARY 2014
This pub has changed profoundly since our last visit. We found the staff this time to be disinterested in any new visits to the pub. Our order for food was taken and they got it half right. Their stone baked pizzas they once served have gone, only to be replaced by some stodgy, tasteless flatbreads, which are overpriced.

March 2013
This pub really struck the big points for me. It's spotlessly clean unlike the the neighbouring pub on the corner beginning with C. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. I had one of the best homecooked pizza I've ever had. Four ales on, the Everards Tiger was fab. Looking forward to my next visit.

On 11th February 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Rutland & Derby Arms

Sadly our visit was nowhere near as good as Rays. Yes the place is spotless, but it's a bit modern with loads of pine around. The barmaid was totally clueless. It may well have been her first day, but she'd been left to fend for herself. My pint of Sunchaser was past it's best and OB's Tiger wasn't much better. I'll not be rushing back with so many good pubs in Leicester I'm afraid.

On 7th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2848 recommendations about 2769 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Rutland & Derby Arms

This old Victorian brick exterior hides what is an ultra modern, bright clean interior more aligned to a cocktail bar than a pub.
I could not work out if it work out if it had undergone a recently refurb, but it certainly looked like it, with comfortable big spongey sofa's, lots of abstract art on the walls and modern lighting, and a pristine wooden flooring that looked like it hadn't had a drop of drink spilt on it yet.
Lots of shiney lager taps but also a couple of hand pumps supporting GK Abbott and Yorkshire Terrier from the York brewery.
Now I'm sure this place is or will be very popular with the 20 - 30 somethings, but I prefer my pubs with a bit more character than an uber modern bar more in the style of an Ikea showroom.
And as excellent as our pints of Terrier were, I didn't feel comfortable and thought I should have been drinking a large pinot grigio or something with an umbrella and a sparkler.
Fortunately the Criterion is a short walk down the road and I was much more comfortable here and I'll leave The Rutland and Derby to you young trendy things…

On 28th November 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Rutland & Derby Arms

A rather nice modern bar (steel and pine) slightly away from the town centre. Serves quite a number of foreign lagers. Three handpulls from Everards in good nick, served by knowledgeable staff. Has hireable board games (all pieces included!) and a very eclectic music playlist which was refreshing. Décor is nice with a beer garden thrown in and the punters vary from students to This Life-style workers. Serves food, but didn't get chance to sample. Has gone non-smoking in advance of the ban. One downside is that is that it's a little more expensive than most of the surrounding outlets - you're paying for the refurb...

On 4th January 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]