User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon), Bristol Central, Bristol

43 Corn Street
Bristol
BS1 1HT

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Well described below, I was particularly impressed with the magnificent cupola dominating the main bar area, part of its former glory, and I couldn’t help feeling a little sad both by the presence of a forgotten celebration balloon still bobbing up there out of reach, and the unfortunate juxtaposition of tacky mute gaming machines partially obscuring a large oil painting, which while it may have little historic significance, is still a work of art from the pub’s days of beign a gentlemen’s club (a proper one, not the Spearmint Rhino variety). Twelve ales on including Abbott, Doombar, Ruddles and guests from Steam Box Bitter, Oakham’s Citra, Twisted, Moles, Quantock, Exmoor, Arbor and Beero plus one whose clip I couldn’t read. One of the better ‘Spoons I think. Staff were excellent, good humoured and friendly, again a cut above many other ‘Spoons. I’d definitely include this one in a town crawl.

On 25th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2424 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

The Commercial Rooms is a Wetherspoons pub that is housed in a grand old building.
Once inside there is a large square shaped room which has a very high ceiling,there is a U shaped bar facing which serves on three sides of the room,the seating is the normal Spoons type with a few tall tables and chairs and more normal ones.
There is an L shaped room which is behind the bar.
There was a decent choice of guest beers on the bar,i had a drink of Plain Ales Arty Farty which went down well on my pre 10am visit,the other beers noted were Mumbles Life Saver,Hobgoblin,RCH Double Header,Jennings Snecklifter,Butcombe Chinook,Exmoor Beast,plus Spoons regulars GK IPA and Doom bar.
I quite liked this Wetherspoons,a good start to my pub crawl.

Pub visited 25/6/2016

On 7th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a Spoons with little of the usual external JDW signage set in part of a grand old listed building. As described below it's a high ceilinged room with a U shaped bar at the rear and a separate dining room at the rear left.
The bar has two sets of six hand pumps which had the IPA variation on the JDW Trio of Doom, Marston's One Is 90, Butcombe Bitter, Great Western Derek, Exmoor XPA, Mumbles Oystermouth Stout, RCH East Street Cream, Twisted Oak Old Barn & Sheriff Fatman and Exmoor XPA. I went for the Sheriff Fatman (£2.95) which was a good beer in excellent condition.
Apart from the city centre prices this was easily the best JDW of the three central Bristol ones and my only real criticism is the reverberating acoustics.

On 20th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


adam bell left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

Good Evening All, just to let you know of a situation that happened a couple of weeks ago here. Below is a copy of my email to our local CAMRA branch. My girlfriend contacted Wetherspoon and just got a non apologetic response literally "blaming our party"

The fact it was two of us having a quiet after-work drink this made me pretty angry, so just to let you all know if you want a quick beer in the last hour of opening expect some abuse from the "heavies"..... OR DON'T BOTHER!!

I have to advise you all of an incident last night at The Commercial Rooms, Corn Street
Myself and my girlfriend were having afterwork drinks in the place, which has opening hours until 0100.

At 0020 the bouncers came round and told my girlfriend to "hurry up" her drink as they were closing. This being at the same time as I was being served drinks at the bar!

After bringing drinks back to our table I then questioned their actions at the bar, and was told by the bar staff they are "a law unto themselves"

In the meantime they selectively let some customers( usually women wearing very little) in and physically "pushed" others back out through the pubs swing doors.

They also carried on aggressively telling people to drink up and "get out" while they let people in and the bar staff carried on serving!

My girlfriend was very shook up and when I went in to try and find the manager I was physically pushed by a bouncer back out of the pub.

We spoke to the door staff next door who work for a separate company and they said they are always hearing complaints from customers who have experienced similar.

This has been a re-occurring problem for years now at this one particular JDW establishment, and the "heavies" that they employ really let down the good efforts put in from the majority of the staff that work there...

Needless to say I shall never return

We even spoke to police who were on patrol and almost laughed it off saying that it's private property and up to the pub how they run it

On 7th April 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 31 recommendations about 31 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

This remarkable Grade II listed building was built back in 1810 as a private members club for the city's heads of commerce and retains a sense of this when visiting today, despite the fact that it is quite clearly now part of the Wetherspoons pub chain. Entering through some particularly heavy double doors, you emerge into a vast main room with a huge amount of seating space running towards the rear where a large island servery can be found. The room is dominated by a huge cupola over the bar area which acts as a spectacular centrepiece and allows plenty of light into the rear part of the room. A dial behind the bar is/was apparently attached to a weather vane on the roof and allowed the merchants to decide whether conditions were favourable enough to allow them to navigate the Avon Gorge. The walls display huge boards listing previous club presidents, secretaries and treasurers and are flanked by large portraits of notable Bristolians such as Brunel, who were presumably also members. A wide variety of seating options are available from front to back and there are two smaller rooms behind the bar which offer a slightly less cavernous drinking environment. We popped in for a late morning breakfast and found a good number of customers in, many also looking for a morning-after fry-up fix.
I think I counted twelve hand pumps in total - some are at the front of the bar, whilst another bank runs down the left hand counter, so be careful not to miss them. They were dispensing four 'Spoons regulars and seven guest ales, with one unused. It was a bit too early to get back on the beer again, so a nice mug of tea had to suffice on this visit.
This is an attractive and interesting building that Wetherspoons have thankfully managed to preserve to a degree, allowing the general public the chance to snoop around the kind of place you would otherwise never have access to. I enjoyed this visit and would be keen to return with a clearer head in order to sample some of their beer.

On 11th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

I've been to a number of 'spoons over the years, and would have to say that this is probably the most magnificent of the lot. It certainly doesn't look much like a pub as you approach the main entrance with its massive stone columns giving all the appearance of a Greek temple. Apparently it was originally a private club, and evidence of this remains inside, including wooden boards listing past presidents, secretaries etc. There are also enormous portraits of various luminaries, alumni possibly, most notably that of IK Brunel, plus a magnificently decorated dome that lets in some welcome natural light.

The furnishings are the same as all other 'spoons, and a bit unusually this one has a central island bar with drinking areas wrapped around it. There were two banks of handpumps - one on the counter facing you as you enter, and another around to the left, with total of ten or so ales available. The traditional breakfast was the same as all other 'spoons of course, and washed down with a pint of decent ale made a good start to the day following the PuG crawl. As 'spoons go, this is a good one.

On 19th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2551 recommendations about 2469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

We entered this Spoons from the side entrance via Small St, so didn't see the splendour of the pub until leaving through the front and remembering to stop in the front lounge and to gaze up at the magnificent dome ceiling. The pub was very busy on our Thursday Eve visit and was told this Spoons is always busy. We went for two curries, washed down with Otter Bright and Kelham Island Pale Rider, no need for Cobra or Kingfisher.

On 18th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a pretty good Wetherspoons conversion of a former gentlemen's club built in 1811 to accommodate the worthy merchants of Bristol. Grecian in appearance from the front with symmetrical columns, a pub is the last thing the building looks like as you approach. Inside, the bar is to the rear of the large high-ceilinged front room, were there is a large and ornate circular rooflight with statue figures in relief around the circumference. Large boards line the walls in here, listing the former Presidents and treasurers of the club. Portraits of former patrons fill in the gaps, with the likes of Isambard Kingdom Brunel amongst their number.
To the rear another more sedate room also has a feature rooflight; there are various potted histories and newspaper clips pertaining to the building in here. To the side of here a narrower space links back round behind the bar area providing further seating.
There were a decent range of guest beers on here (I reckoned on seven) and the service was refreshingly swift and friendly. Very good indeed especially for a 'spoons.

On 20th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

The standard ex bank type Wetherspoons conversion with a big central U shaped bar and further rooms towards the rear. A pretty good selection of ales from the region available but this place does get busy in the evening along with the other usual chain bars surrounding it in this pedestrianised bit of old Bristol.

On 6th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Commercial Rooms (JD Wetherspoon)

As others have said, this is an very impressive building with a high ceiling topped off with a glass dome surrounded by statues. The colours are a bit garish, but overall it’s a pleasant enough pub, although this was the first ‘Spoons to open in Bristol and it is starting to show it’s age a bit.

There’s one very large central room, plus a smaller bar off to the rear. This is pretty nondescript and doesn’t really have much in the way of an ambience. There’s also a small rectangular room behind the bar, but it’s quite narrow and is used as a corridor for people on their way to the loos.

Usual impressive selection of beers on tap, which on this occasion were Headless Huntsman, Rudgate Brewery’s Battle Axe, Ruddles Best, Yachtsman, Wickwar’s BOB, Directors, Abbot and Otter’s Head. Ciders were Old Rascal, Thatcher’s Gold, Blackthorn and Strongbow.

On 15th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1709 recommendations about 1645 pubs]

Page: 1 2