User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Black Horse, West End, Leicester

2 Foxon Street
Leicester
LE3 5LT
Phone: 01162540446

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Black Horse

The Black Horse is a long standing Everards pub on Braunstonegate near Leicester City Centre. It has not long ago had a refit and the result has the pub painted a very light sky blue that I think looks very bizarre but the interior has remained traditional and unspoilt as you the pub has three distinct area the main room, the back “snug” and the back room with dartboard. The main room is the largest with the lion’s share of the seating and the small bar at the back. This also serves the snug behind it from the other side that is reachable from an door on the right hand side that passes between the two. The decor is very traditional with bare boards and a lot of wood panelling that I like in a nice old boozer. The snug 9really more of a cosy back room also has a lovely fire in winter with nice cushioned bench seating. The bar usually ahs six hand pulled beers in operation but there are more pulls between the two sides that double up to display to each end making it sometimes appear that there are more beers available than there actually are . Four are reasonably priced regular Everards beers: Beacon £3.15, Tiger £3.25, Sunchaser £3.45 and Original £3.35 with two guest beers usually available but a bit on the steep side at £3.70 and these have on my past few visits been from the likes of Batemans, Lacons, And York brewery. It must be noted that Keg beers are noticeably on the expensive side here with Guinness a whopping £4.50! And most lagers topping the £4 mark. Beer quality is on the whole pretty decent but there has been a number of times that the Beacons has had a distinct hint of Vinegar probably because it is the smallest seller of the everards range, I’ve never had a problem with he big sellers like Tiger but I would have thought a little better of a proper ale pub like this, once is forgivable but its sadly been quite a few. Overall this a very pleasant real ale boozer ( A rarity around these parts believe me) but doesn’t really compete with similar offerings in Nottingham and Derby. I would definitely return again as it is one of the better options near town. Good but not great but closer to an 8 than a 7

On 18th January 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Black Horse

I enjoyed my visit to this friendly pub and had a wander round to discover an amazing roof garden. There is a front bar area, and a smaller room also served by the bar further back, and a few more tables down the passage where the toilets are. There was a selection of Everards beers plus 2 guests from Fullers-Gales, and Beerd I believed brewed by Bath Ales. Those we had were excellent. It is a good friendly community pub.

On 16th July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Lewis left this review about Black Horse

This pub really is the diamond in the rough on Braunstone Gate. The pub has been my local for the past few years now having moved to the area and I fully endorse the reviews below which describe all the great things that this pub has to offer. Many of the regulars travel several miles to this pub which tells it’s own story.

The refurbishment carried out a few years ago still looks fantastic and the pub is always clean and welcoming. The pub has live music several nights a week and generally always on Friday and Saturday. The quiz on a Wednesday night is one of the best in Leicester having a good mix of questions for all ages and interests.

There is always the standard Everard’s offering on tap and always at least two guest ales to try. There is also a wide range of wines and spirits to cater for all tastes. Although no hot food, there are homemade cobs with generous fillings.

The Landlord is doing a tremendous job here and he is always approachable. His wit is always at the ready, too!

On 27th April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Howard left this review about Black Horse

Quality little traditional pub! I have heard it has had its ups and downs over the last few years but it would seem the current management are doing a great job! They obviously stock the Everards standard beers but its nice to see original on tap, for those moments when Tiger just doesnt have enough gravity! The constant live music and jam sessions just adds such character to this little pub in an area dominated by bars and overly loud music. This small traditional oasis has a great feel weather you go in with friends or alone. And if you're not an ale person there are some different lager choices and spirits...especially the scotch! In general theres a nice little feel to the place and I have made it one of my regular stops as its olde world feel and quality ales make a hard day seem easier.

On 25th April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Black Horse

This traditional two room pub has made it onto the CAMRA Real Heritage Pubs list by virtue of a fine interior including some pleasant post-war panelling in both rooms. The front bar is a smart, compact space with bench and standard seating, a small fireplace and a shelf with a few bits of beer and pub related literature. The bar divides the two rooms, with a bare brick corridor down the right hand side, which is lined with old enamel beer adverts, leading to the fine rear lounge. This room has a chequerboard tile floor, smart button backed settles and some well upholstered low stools. A tiled fireplace on the end wall acts as a bit of a focal point and there are a number of books lined up on a shelf above. We got chatting to a couple of locals who couldn’t say enough good things about the pub and, given the surroundings, it was difficult to argue with them. The corridor leads out to a partially covered garden and an outdoor toilet block.
This is an Everards house, so their ales dominated the bar, with Tiger, Sunchaser, Original and Ale to the King available alongside Castle Rock Sheriff’s Tipple plus a real cider or two. I couldn’t visit Leicester without sampling the excellent Tiger and thankfully it was just about spot on here. I’d heard a rumour that I might be able to find a Leicester Cheese Skittles table in this pub, but the friendly barman told me that it had long since been removed.
This is a great pub for the traditionalist and I can imagine enjoying an extended session in here. This was a bit of a late addition to our crawl but it turned out to be one of the day’s highlights and is worth the short walk from the centre in order to visit.

On 24th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2783 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Black Horse

Tucked away in the student ghetto area, this is, as mentioned below, the antidote to the numerous low-grade bars nearby. A traditional two-roomed interior served by a central bar (public bar at the front and a lounge-type snug at the rear), with much wood panelling (original or refurbished?) and traditional touches, such as jugs on the high shelves. A shame the fire in the attractive fireplace wasn’t real though. Five ales plus proper cider were available, my Everards Sunchaser was in good shape and there was also a quality guest in the shape of Castle Rock. The trip to the traps is under a PVC roof to the original outbuildings. Service was cheerful and efficient. All in all, this is a bit of a hidden gem and it’s worth a trip out of the city centre to sample.

On 21st April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4361 recommendations about 4347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Black Horse Tavern

Another visit to this Everards back street pub and good to find it on top form. Usual well kept Everards Ales and good to see the guest beer from Castle rock on this visit.
Time to finally forgive them for when they had run out of beer on the day I chose for an inaugural visit and increase my rating to the level this pub deserves.


24th June 2010:
The Black Horse is a traditional oak-panelled end-of-terrace back street pub situated on Braunstone Gate to the west of the Western Boulevard.
It is one of the few traditional places left in this area and provides a contrast to the ultra-modern chrome bars that have sprung up in this area to service the large student population housed in the new accommodation blocks to the east of Western Boulevard.
It’s a two bar pub with the public bar at the front and a saloon snug bar round the back, each with their own entrance from the street. The public is plainer with a plazma tele and basic seating and the saloon is more homely with wood panelling and patterned carpet. And the serving area sits in the middle with handpumps on each bar top.
The toilets are outback, and although now connected to the main building by a Perspex roof there is no hiding that these remain the traditional brick outhouses of old.
An Everards house, it usually has three Everards Ales on and then changing guest beers. My first visit to this pub was a disaster , in that, despite a proud display of six hand pumps they had completely run out of ale and the place was dry.
Fortunately on subsequent visits up to Leicester, all six have been functioning and the quality of the beer has been high. On my last visit the beers available were Beacon, Tiger and Sunchaser from the Everards brewery, plus CW Waggledance, Anchor from the Titanic Brewery and a Scrumpy Cider
According to the chalk board the pub also hosts regular acoustic music nights and pub quizzes .
So in conclusion, the Black Horse is a decent traditional style back street pub with good ale and a decent range and is a good place to avoid the Leicester student population and their chrome bars, if that is what you are after.

On 2nd April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1807 recommendations about 1745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Black Horse Tavern

I'm with Ray on this one,I thought this small street corner local was a gem.An Everards tied house,the corner door gives entry to a narrow front bar with much original wood panelling ,some bench seating and two high tables.The highlight however is the back bar reached down the side corridor,cosy,more old wood panelling and an ornate Victorian fireplace,not working but possibly with a coal affect gas fire which would be a shame.However the leather upholstered benches are very fine,this is the place to base yourself for a few beers.The traditional feel is maintained by outside loos and there is a small square courtyard with a few tables for a tab.
Five real ale choices,including a guest from Castle Rock on my trip ,and a real cider.My Tiger was in great nick.It may not be in the GBG ,but that's no reason to miss this little oasis among the faceless bars that seem to dominate Braunstone Gate.

On 23rd March 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2309 recommendations about 2309 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Black Horse Tavern

This 128 year old traditional Everards house is well worth a visit, in fact it's a gem. The interior was spectacular and all their ales were very well kept. A very comfortable and well run establishment. Five ales on handpump, I went for the Everards Sunchaser and the Banks and Taylor Black Dragon Mild.

On 8th May 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]