User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon), Wigan Central, Wigan

7 Market Place
Wigan
WN1 1PE
Phone: 01942323437

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

this is a pretty decent JDW's actually, fits in well on the main pub circuit through Wigan. a standard affair, no atmosphere at all of course, but loads of cosy nooks and crannies for a quiet pint.

On 16th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 708 recommendations about 690 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a decent conversion, with wood panelling on the higher parts of the walls and plenty of local history photographs and displays. The main seating / dining area is separated from the bar by a couple of steps and there are other partitions to break up the space. Reasonable selection of real ales from the 12 handpumps, including a decent pint of the Bateman's Dark Lord (£2.35).

On 16th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5968 recommendations about 5968 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a fairly standard town centre Spoons that seemed to be a bit shell-shocked on my early Thursday evening visit. The cluttered tables
were soon being cleared after my arrival.
It's a large split level room with the bar at the far side after entering and the usual assortment of Spoons fixtures and fittings.
The bar has two sets of six hand pumps but with the usual suspects and some festival beers from a few weeks ago this left a choice between Beartown Ruby Bear, Moorhouse's Pendle Porter and Redwillow Peerless, a reasonable selection of Locale ales. This was the first time I had seen a Redwillow beer in a Spoons so I went for the Peerless (£2.20) which was in excellent condition. Despite being somewhat chaotic on my arrival I thought this was a decent Spoons.

On 26th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Eight ales on handpump on our Monday eve visit. We went for the Butcombe Mathew Pale Ale. This is a decent enough Spoons with its timber wall panelling and Victorian style pearlescent globe ceiling lights.

On 22nd February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2955 recommendations about 2955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large split level Wetherspoons pub on the main pedestrianised street in Wigan town centre, just a short walk from the two train stations. Entering through the main front doors on the right hand side of the building, you find yourself on the lowest level which is the main seating area. It is carpeted throughout with a lot of dark wood panels and pillars decorated with mirrors and crescent moons. The large windows on two sides make this a nice, bright space in the daytime and the walls show off a lot of large photos of Wigan in days gone by. At the rear of the room there is a small recess with a single curved banquette which looked like quite a cosy spot. Steps lead up to the mid section of the pub where the servery can be found. There is more of the same décor but a lot less seating in this space, although there remains ample room for vertical drinking during peak times. Past the end of the bar, more steps lead up to a third level which has a lot more seating in an area split up into all manner of nooks and crannies including one area under a big skylight and several dimly lit hideaways. A side door leads out onto the pleasant alleyway alongside the pub – The Wiend – which is well worth a look on your way out.
I counted twelve hand pumps on the bar with a 50/50 split between ‘Spoons regulars and guest ales available. I opted for a pint of Mordue Workie Ticket (£2.00) which tasted like, and probably was, the first pint through the pump that day. The staff were functional, if not very friendly and there were already a good number of customers in by midday.
This is a fairly run of the mill ‘Spoons which I didn’t really warm to. I thought the upper level with its secluded spaces was a nice feature and probably the best place to settle down, but otherwise this place didn’t leave much of an impression on me.

On 18th January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in one Saturday lunchtime on the way to Haydock races,the barstaff were few and far between

On 4th July 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2106 recommendations about 2070 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Moon Under Water (JD Wetherspoon)

Commanding a prime position on the Market Place, this spacious Wetherspoons is spread across two separate buildings, one of which appears to have been a Bank or Building Society before being put to better use and the other a quite drab modern and faceless block of concrete. The divide is quite evident internally and externally with part of the old wall remnants splitting the pub into 2 halves. Overall it does have quite an elegant and spacious feel although the ornamental moons and stars look a bit tacky. Old town photos and displays of local characters can be found dotted about the interior although the younger generation will be disappointed to find the likes George Formby favoured over the Verve.

All the usual ‘Spoons food and drink suspects are evident and on the ale front there were 6 guests across the 10 hand pumps with Moorhouse and George Wright ales being showcased on my visit.

The connection between Wetherspoons and former Wigan resident George Orwell might not seem immediately apparent but ‘Spoons boss Tim Martin and Orwell seem to share a united vision of their ideal pub and Orwell’s Moon Under Water, a fictional Victorian pub referred to in a 1946 essay, was the template for Wetherspoons when the business was founded. What Orwell would make of this incarnation of his thoughts is anyone’s guess but he would certainly be able to tick many of his boxes although he wouldn’t have been able to forsee the delights of plasma screens and alcopops. I found this to be one of the better Wetherspoons and whilst it may not fully match Orwell’s vision, I’m sure he would be relatively pleased with the resulting efforts.

On 1st March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steven Kacer left this review about The Moon Under Water

Another popular town centre pub.

On 12th June 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 50 recommendations about 50 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


sammy ditcher left this review about The Moon Under Water

Town centre Wetherspoons. Very busy place especially at weekends.

On 26th February 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 30 pubs]