User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Moorbrook, Moor Park, Preston

370 North Road
Preston
PR1 1RU
Phone: 01772823302

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Moorbrook

A little out of town this one. Fairly basic boozer that feels somewhat haphazard and jarring in places, the main bar area especially just felt a bit odd to me. I settled with the others in the carpeted front room. Seven cask on if my notes are correct, I went for Squawk Pavo (NBSS 3.5) and Durham Equinox (3). Also a selection of craftykeg. The beer was fine but I just didn’t take to the place. GBG ’22 listed. 6.5

On 19th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about The Moorbrook

A bit of a hike from town The Moorbrook is well worth the effort, traditional in style with a modern outlook on the beer it serves, Revoloutions Switch #24 went down well. Certainly in the top five Preston pubs.

On 15th May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1558 recommendations about 1539 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Moorbrook

Excellent alehouse-style pub with quite a plain bar area but two more traditional snug-like side rooms. With eight of the ten handpumps in use, we found an excellent selection of real ales including the Squawk Pavo Pale, and numerous craft keg beers are available too. Well worth the walk out from the city centre, and the distinctive arched windows are visible from some distance across a rather road-centric area to draw you inside.

On 4th May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Steve C left this review about The Moorbrook

I was pretty battered and talking bollox when I visited the Moorbrook late afternoon a couple of Fridays ago. I recall there being a dartboard and the bar was on the right wall. I counted eight handpumps, six of which were in operation, and there was also a premium and craft keg range. At the end of the bar on the rear wall is a fireplace. I spent my visit in a room to the front left of the pub, where there is an etched Preston North End FC mirror. This isn’t the biggest pub, but it was worth the walk north of the town centre.

On 2nd May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3928 recommendations about 3904 pubs]


Tris C left this review about The Moorbrook

Situated on the edge of a trading estate and home to the foundation of West Lancashire's CAMRA chapter in 1973, this pub is a bit of a fag to get to, but is worth the effort, being well described below.
A half of Durham's Equinox (£2.00) has no tasting notes.

On 25th April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1513 recommendations about 1493 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Moorbrook

A good solid pub this one with a good choice of cask and Craft beers. The staff were all very welcoming and chatty. The interior has been well described by my fellow reviewers below, only for me to add that there was a good sized patio area out the back, along with a table tennis table and an R2D2 shaped wood burning patio stove.

On 25th April 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3090 recommendations about 3090 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Moorbrook

Steve of N21 says it all,not much needs adding.The pub is a way out of town down the A6 in an unpromising location but don't let that put you off.Originally a Thwaites house judging by the etched glass windows to the front,these days an outstanding ale house.The crawl visit produced the following line up Revolutions Azzacca Cashmere,Twisted Wheel All Mod Cons,4T's Elvis Peachley,Jester Sauvin and Session IPA,Squawk Pavo Pale (NBSS 4),Durham Equinox and Wilde Child Glutinous Maximus.The craft keg looked interesting too.
Outstanding,a must visit when in Preston.

On 23rd April 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about The Moorbrook

This is a fine traditional pub slightly marooned by unsympathetic road development as Will mentions below.
Internally it is three separate spaces, none of which are particularly large, but when put together provides a decent amount of vertical drinking space in the main bar room and seating areas also in the main bar and then the two additional rooms to the left as you enter. The first room on the left to the front of the pub is light and airy benefiting from the large windows where as the back room is perhaps slightly more cosy but darker with no natural light except for that coming from the glass panel on the top of the wall between the two rooms.
The serving area to the right of the main bar room virtually runs the length of the room and supports 10 real hand pumps and 10 keg taps. But these are spread out across the bar and it’s initially difficult to see what is on and it’s actually easier to peruse the large chalkboard to the right of the entrance as you come in.
For my Thursday evening visit all 10 keg taps were in operation and eight of the real ale pumps were in use providing a good mixture of non-mainstream brewers and different ale styles.
These included Anarchy Brewing Dance in the Desert IPA, Empire Brewing What a View Pale Ale, 4T’s Elvis Peachley Peach IPA, and Twisted Wheel All Mod Cons. I tried the remaining three during the course of the evening, Wild Child Glutenous Maximus sticky toffee milk stout ( absolutely bloody gorgeous), Phoenix Brewery Arizona ( very decent considering it must have been near the end as it had finished before we went back for another) and Durham Brewery Equinox ( very decent also). All ales up to 4.6% abv were priced at £3.80 a pint with a couple of higher abv ones at £4.20 and my initial 4.8% stout at £4 a pint.
The craft keg offerings were also from an eclectic mix of brewers, some of which I have never heard of and included brews from Cassels, Burnt Hill, Vault city and Squawk Brewing. The usual 1/2 and 2/3 measures with most priced at £5 and above for 2/3rds.
Food is available from the kitchen out the back in the form of a varied pizza menu and we went for a couple of these during the evening and they were substantial and reasonably priced. I was attracted to ‘The Northerner’ due to its black pudding topping. But be warned you really have to like black pudding if you go for this option.
Not sure if it is every Thursday but our evening was interrupted by being bingo night and the arrival of a bingo caller selling cards for a quid I believe, where you can win a free drink for all four corners, your money back for a line and the heady sum of 15 quid for a full house.
Initially thought it would be naff but the guy played it for laughs ( very politically incorrect call for number 10 for example) and most of the pub participated and it actually generated a lot of conversation between the tables.
Had lined up the Cassels Triple Cream Milk Stout as the most expensive beer available at £7.50 for 2/3rd but got nowhere near a sniff of all four corners.
This is a fine pub for good ale and conversation and you won’t be distracted by TV’s in here. But if you are the type that must have a TV with your pub going experience then the nearby Princess Alice is just a five minute walk away.

On 22nd April 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1810 recommendations about 1748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Moorbrook

A traditional pub in an area now dominated by road traffic to the detriment of the neighbourhood and drinkers in particular. A recent white paint job with stencilled signs makes this pub more attractive on approach than last year's reviewer found, but inside nothing much has changed since a couple of ancient iron pillars were inserted years ago (a hundred, perhaps?) to make the main room larger than the original builders had allowed for. As well as the main bar room, there are two snugs, the one at the rear having a window through to the one in front in an attempt to purloin some daylight.

The bar counter has hooks for hanging your bag, cap or jacket. More importantly, there were nine beers on the ten hand pumps at the time of my visit - too many some might say, because what is the turnover likely to be in an isolated beer house like this? My half of Bexley Redhouse was perhaps not as lively as when it went on, but still in reasonable condition. Of the others, one was a house beer brewed by Blackjack, three from Raw and the rest from all over the country. "Not to be missed", my note made at the time says. I'll be back!

Date of visit: 23rd August 2019

On 10th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3044 recommendations about 2864 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Moorbrook

not quite the best in Preston but not far off. looks scruffy as anything from outside but you walk into a comfortable traditional real ale pub. good choice today on the 8 (I think) handpumps. convivial atmosphere in the bar and pizzas were available. decent place that is worth the short walk from the city centre.

On 28th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 898 recommendations about 871 pubs]

Page: 1 2