User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Market Tap, Preston

33 Market Street
Preston
PR1 2ES

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Market Tap

Nice plush market side pub with leather benches

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Will Larter left this review about The Market Tap

I'm not sure what the pub gains by being called Market Tap instead of Market Tavern, but it is worth a visit under either name. The interior had had some restoration or renovation done - the booth seating and screens are recent additions, I am told - and it's looking good. The bar features six hand pumps, and what I hope was a temporary bad smell in its vicinity. Once seated away from the bar we had an enjoyable and pleasant visit, and mine wasn't the only beer in good condition: one or two of my drinking companions exclaimed at how good the John Smiths Cask was.

Date of visit: 23rd August 2019

On 10th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Market Tavern

now called the Market Tap, Market Tavern or Market Tapern depending on which sign you believe. nothing else has changed except an increased focus on the craft operation including 9 cans of the trendy stuff. a very nice pub that is second best in Preston only to the Black Horse in my opinion.

On 29th September 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 747 recommendations about 728 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Market Tavern

A decent traditional pub. It looks like its been done up as it seemed very spick and span. A single room with a comfortable feel to it. 6 handpumps on the bar in 2 banks of 3. 3 of the ales were localish beers. A pleasant pub.

On 6th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3387 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Market Tavern

One room with raised portion to the right. No real ale, just keg crap.

On 7th July 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Market Tavern

Can remember the bar on the right hand side as you walked in it looks tired now and grubby needs a good clean used to be very busy

On 3rd June 2014 - rating: 2
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Market Tavern

Now in the hands of Star Inns and is the sister pub to the Stanley. This pub is traditional and has all it's original features intact. We were so impressed with the interior of this pub, that am surprised it's not in the Camra Inventory. This is a small one roomed pub, with a dog leg shape room, wrapped around the bar. The bar counter was low and was finished in black marble. There was a raised area on the right, with a fine example of a cast iron fireplace with an ornate cast iron mirror above the mantle.
There was also two private booths opposite the bar, which were also finished in mahogany and leather seating. The ceiling area between the booths and bar was finished with an elaborate timber design. I also noticed some fine examples of Victorian wall and floor tiling.
There were three ales on, we went for the Hopback Crop Circle, which was in top condition. You can also get a hot pie in here.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BEN UNSWORTH left this review about Market Tavern

Called hear on our Preston visit and was not at all impressed. The standard of cask beer was very poor and i took it back to the bar and had it changed for another pint which was just as bad.We will be giving this pub a miss on our future visits to Preston

On 19th November 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 69 pubs]