User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Continental, Preston

South Meadow Lane
Avenham
Postal town: Preston
PR1 8JP
Phone: 01772499425

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Continental

After a decent walk from the station I got to this pub which overlooks the railway bridge and the River Ribble. Lots of different areas to sit including a conservatory and beer garden. 9 beers and ciders on on 6 visible handpulls. A good pub despite it being a bit of an arse to get to.

On 26th July 2023 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Continental

10-15 mins walk from town but a pleasant enough stroll through a more upmarket area of Preston. The pub lies adjacent to the railway viaduct over the river Ribble. A large place that has been given an upmarket sheen and is pitched at the Preston pashmina pudding brigade, though they still happily serve topers and didn’t bat an eyelid when 20 of us piled in en masse. Safe and upmarket decor but with a touch of class; light and airy interior with the highlights being the jumbo rear conservatory and lovely garden with large pink blossom trees in full flower. Live music advertised, which I wasn’t expecting. GBG ’22 listed and there were seven cask on over nine pumps plus a cider, which worried me a bit given the location, however my Vocation Bread & Butter was in great shape (NBSS 4) served-up by a friendly barman. I was rather taken with this place, they seemed to know exactly what their aim was without losing the air of inclusiveness. The walk back into town through Avenham Park is also rather nice. 8.5

On 19th May 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Continental

As mentioned a bit of a trek from the main town, but a pleasant one. The pub itself comes across as a bit foodie but this is more than made up for with a pretty good beer range. Wort a look for the beers but there is little else that would attract me back.

On 15th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1919 recommendations about 1892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Continental

It's a fair old schlep to reach this pub, especially if you go back up the steep hill in Avenham Park. It looks a bit strange standing on its own under the railway viaduct, but there's a good choice of beer for most people, but Rochdale pubs always have Vocation and Pictish on, so not as good for me. My pint was in good nick though. It's not really my type of place as it's mainly set up for diners.

On 8th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3232 recommendations about 3143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Strongers . left this review about The Continental

The Continental’s entrance leads to the main bar area with serving counter on the right wall that supports six handpumps, all of which were in operation, and a premium keg selection. The bar faces a chest high wooden wall that separates it from a row of tables and some booths that run along the left windows. To the right of the entrance is a door that leads to a square room that is also served by a bar, I counted another three handpumps that I think were duplicates from the main bar. I was reliably informed that this area used to be the original pub before the large extension was built on the rear. At the rear is a large conservatory that was being used by both drinkers and diners, the burger and chips is priced at £13. Out the back is an enormous and very well-tended beer garden that looked inviting as pink cherry blossom was blown across it from the many trees.
There was some background music playing during my Friday lunchtime visit and I noted that live music is held here every Friday and Saturday. The service was polite. This pub is too far off the main drag to stumble across, but it was worth the walk.

On 2nd May 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Continental

A very surprising and rather good pub, tucked away in a backstreet backwater between the river and the park, which seems to be a conglomeration of several buildings joined together with modern extensions. Notable things are the large garden area, the live music list but especially the beer range, as described below. The Naughty & Nice stout was indeed dangerously drinkable. For those who don't fancy the walk, the 119 bus stops just down the road.

On 28th April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Continental

One of our party described the Continental as a food pub that happens to do good beer, and I would concur with that observation.
The main modern decor bar area with the bar to the right and a seating area to the left. is bright and airy. Then there is further seating in the large conservatory section at the back and beyond that is a really impressive outside garden space which I can imagine is a great outside space for an alfresco pint in summer.
Despite the space in front of the bar that is conducive to vertical drinking all of the inside spaces have a restaurant vibe with the exception of the lounge room to the right as you enter. This is very easy to miss, as I did and didn’t spot it until leaving. This room is apparently the original pub before all the modern bits got added on.
The bar has six hand pumps but two of theses were double clipped providing a choice of seven ales plus a Sussex cider. These were Marble Beers Pint, Lacon's Legacy Pale Ale ,Farm Yard Ales Chaff session IPA, Handsome Blonde, Pictish Alchemist Ale, and two from Vocation, Vocation Bread & Butter pale ale and Naughty & Nice chocolate Stout. I went for the chocolate stout and it was really good.
Not really a traditional pub experience ( with the exception of perhaps the small side room) but with the ale range available this is a fine pub to visit for a pint in the garden if and when walking the nearby river valley.

On 26th April 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2172 recommendations about 2044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Continental

An interesting looking building where old meets new architecturally. This large spacious pub had three main areas, main bar and lounge, conservatory and a further and splendid looking lounge housed in the Victorian part of the building. There was a good range of eight ales on handpump on our PG Crawl, I went for the Farm Yard Ales Chaff IPA which was an excellent session beer and could have easily stayed for more. This pub was a 15 min walk from the Train Station and is well worth a visit.

On 25th April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3416 recommendations about 3416 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Continental

Best approached from lovely Avenham Park, as a departure through it can give the knees an unexpectedly stiff workout, this is a pub which one of our number described as '...a pub-themed restaurant'; indeed most customers seemed to be eating and the place didn't seem that pubby. Still, I had a half of Vocation's Naughty & Nice (£2.01), which at 5.9% is a bit naughty and certainly nice, but I'm not sure if the pub's worth the effort required to reach it.

On 24th April 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2033 recommendations about 1998 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Continental

Well worth the walk down from the centre,this pub is on the banks of the tidal River Ribble and below the railway viaduct.It has a large interior with a series of seating booths to the right of the entrance,a large side lounge to the right and a conservatory beyond the bar.Food is popular here ,and it does have the feel of a restaurant in parts but drinking is clearly welcomed with an impressive array of handpumps.There is a regular house beer in the shape of Marble Continental Pint (NBSS 4,despite being last pint out),together with on my trip Lacon's Legacy,Vocation Naughty & Nice and Bread & Butter,Pictish Alchemist Ale,Farm Yard Chaff,Handsome Blonde and a Seacider.There were also craft beer taps.
I enjoyed the crawl stop here and would spend longer on my next visit.Very solid pub,but the walk back through Avenham Park is quite hard work !

On 23rd April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2775 recommendations about 2775 pubs]

Page: 1 2