User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Red Lion, Littleborough Central, Littleborough

6 Halifax Road
Littleborough
OL15 0HL

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Red Lion

A really nice traditional pub. Soft lighting, brass and porcelain plates dotted around the walls, comfy seating, wooden beams, porcelain drey horses above the stone fireplace and separate rooms. 3 hatches at the bar with a lot of pumps. Though there were only 4 real ales on they were a decent choice. Very friendly manager, staff and customers. The best pub in Littleborough by a mile.

On 25th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Red Lion

The modest exterior does not hint at the extensive interior with four distinct rooms and an island servery.There is a large lounge to the left with fireplace and fitted bench seating,while the first room to the right has the feel of a public bar.The other two rooms are given over to darts and pool.I liked the traditional layout,and found it charming.The main bar access is from the corridor,but the ale selection blackboard was not up to date and I had to wander around to discover just what was on.Marstons Bitter,TT Landlord,Clarks Juicy Lucy,Red Lion Bitter (Robinsons) Marco Pierre White The Governor (Lees) and Phoenix White Tornado ,later replaced by Navvy.The Phoenix beers were served through an unusual optic,so you can see before you buy,which I havent seen in years,a real feature.The drinks menu included a "Mix" which I decined.It's in the GBG and this was justified by the quality of our Phoenix pints.Close to both the station and Rochdale Canal,this is a pub I would be happy to return to.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2032 recommendations about 2032 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Watson left this review about The Red Lion

Visited in Autumn I got a warm welcome from the bar staff there is a great selection of beers and snacks very old fashioned décor nice pub

On 6th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Red Lion

I've called in here several times since my last review, including last night. Nothing has changed, still 5 ales available the Little Valley Dutch Courage was in good nick. Very busy at 7 on a Friday.

10/06/2010
Fine old stone pub just under the railway bridge from Littleborough centre. It's pretty chintzy in the main rooms but less so in the front bar. There's also a couple of side rooms one with a dartboards & quiz machine the other with a pool table. Has 5 handpumps, one of which has a really weird dispense system with a high neck, very interesting. Comfortably furnished, well behaved dogs appear to be welcome as there's always been a couple in whenever we've called in. The ale is pretty well kept as well. Don't expect to be able to get a phone signal either inside or outside the pub, it appears to be a dead zone. It's a nice pub.

On 28th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2779 recommendations about 2703 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Red Lion

Called in on the 13th of feb nice pub the dogs looked happier than the customers this had the most in it used to be a Wilson's house still got the old signs out side typical old tenancy full of crap behind the bar. I made a mistake had a pint out of that weird hand pump it was like the old raped dispensers but vertical instead of horizontal it was warm. Would call again

On 14th February 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Wynne Route left this review about The Red Lion

Address
6 Halifax Road

Admin note:-
Updated street address

On 23rd September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 401 recommendations about 384 pubs]