User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Tap House, Lancaster City Centre, Lancaster

2 Gage Street
Lancaster
LA1 1UH
Phone: 01524842232

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Tap House

This pub has changed hands since my review of 2014. The main change seems to be in the beer policy, as the two Hawkshead beers were joined on my visit by the mainstream Pedigree and Jennings Cumberland from the Marstons stable. (See Real Ale Ray's photo of the pump clips in 2014, when two dark beers from micro-breweries featured.) I was the first customer, I think, as the lass behind the bar was still busy with a few bits of setting up, but she found time for a chat: I had lived in Lancaster for 10 years and it turned out she had spent a similar length of time in Sheffield, my adopted home city. I was able to tell her a little about the pub in its previous guise as the Fat Scot, when it was a hang out for scruffy bikers and hippies. In the absence of joss sticks and marijuana they'd probably have felt quite at home with the dim lighting and a candle on every table, though I'm sure that's not what the owners of the Tap House are aiming for.

On 17th February 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2419 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Tap House

it's ok if a little bland. a few decent ales always well kept. centrally located but off the main drag and quiet later on so a decent place to end a crawl.

On 10th August 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 706 recommendations about 688 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Tap House

Somewhere I’ve managed to miss when previously drinking in Lancaster. Not too easy to find, as it’s not on or directly off one of the main thoroughfares. A fairly small interior inside with a modern ambience - slate tiled floor, exposed brick and grey walls, tall furniture and some old casks incorporated into the walls. Plenty of customers on my Saturday mid-afternoon visit and a mix of ages and sexes too. Six pumps with only three on, 2x Hawkshead and Hardknott. There was also a selection of bottled beers and a handful of cwaft keg. My pint of Hawkshead was very enjoyable. Pork pies advertised for 2 quid a go, which gets my vote. I quite liked it here, a good stab at a modern craft beer bar that doesn’t fall into the clichés too much. 7.5

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Tap House

One room with six hand pumps, two not on, the rest not that strong. A better craft selection was on offer.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1598 recommendations about 1596 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Tap House

Modernised into a craft beer bar with all the usual blandishments of laminate floors, pastel walls, tall furniture and some nice dark slate tiled walls, furnishing is of course light woods and there's a wall of clocks. Five pulls but a slightly bland range of beers, admirably kept though.

On 6th March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Tap House

I turned up along with a few other Luton Town supporters at opening time, only to find the door closed and no sign of life. (A few of them, looking disconsolate, can be seen in my photo.) I returned about an hour later to find the pub open and an array of six hand pumps on the bar, though just four beers available on a Saturday afternoon. These were from XT, York and two from Hawkshead. This is a very smart, modern take on the alehouse style and quite a change from the last time I was in, probably 40 years ago when it was called the Fat Scot and had a rather grungy feel to it, with a mixture of bikers and hippies for clientele. The only other customer at the time of my visit was also an out-of-towner, and we got into a discussion with the barman on the relative merits of English and foreign hops, my point being that I wouldn't have wanted to stay and drink all four beers on the bar because I knew that at least two would not be to my taste. Well, there's no pleasing some folk, is there?

Date of visit: 13th December 2014

On 13th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2419 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Tap House

A nice looking pub, both inside and outside. The Tap House is one relatively small room with some bench seating around the outside and lots of high tables & chairs. Quite a few craft keg options and on our visit a choice of 4 beers on handpump. My pint was in good nick as well. On a Thursday night there were a bunch of fairly loud, slightly sweary blokes leaning on the counter hiding the ale pumps from view. Apart from this we enjoyed our visit here and would call again.

On 13th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2800 recommendations about 2724 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Tap House

A well run one roomed pub, with six handpumps. The interior is modern, but still retains the traditional pub feel with a teak boarded floor, slate tiles in front of the bar. The pub has sash windows and cast iron radiators and some undressed brick near the entrance. The walls were painted with purples and greys. The gents loos were new and had images of some ladies on the wall facing you, similar to Zerodegrees in Reading. There were some wall clocks and mirrors, adding some interest in the main room. No music playing on our visit, no gaming machines or food served.
Beer wise we went for the Hawkshead Windermere Pale, which was excellent. There were a good few porters on handpump on this visit. A good pub this one, so highly recommend a visit. Note opens at 4pm during the week.

On 24th February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Mood

Spooners is now called the mood.

On 30th November 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2101 recommendations about 2065 pubs]