User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2020 Spring crawl: Preston on Friday, 17th April with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Toll House Inn, Lancaster

Penny Street
Lancaster
LA1 1XT
Phone: 01524599900

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Toll House Inn

This pub has changed hands since my visit in 2014, though it otherwise seemed much the same, being not so much a pub as a place for people to get warmed up pre-prepared food. Why they feel the need to have five real ales on the go is anybody's guess. As the pub is owned by Holts it would have been good if one of the beers had been their excellent bitter, but they were only represented by Two Hoots, a bland golden ale; as was Wainwrights (which was doubled up) and Hobgoblin Gold. I went for Bootleg Urban Fox, which wasn't bland and golden, but was in very poor condition. I'd have asked for it to be changed, but as I'd already ruled out the other beers, what was the point?

Date of visit: 16th July 2018

On 31st May 2020 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Toll House Inn

yet another place in Lancaster that is firmly lodged up its own arse. i'm not sure I would describe any of it as 'pubby' myself with the feeling very much of a hotel bar attached onto a trendy restaurant.

On 18th August 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 838 recommendations about 813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Toll House Inn

Now called a the Toll House Inn this is a hotel bar that actually is quite pubby. A refurb and a rename since my last visit, though the layout is basically the same. Very foodie with one side virtually set up for dining. Modern furniture and wooden floors throughout. The bar has 6 handpulls for real ale but only 4 were on during my visit with Wainwright, Titanic and Fell beers on. Its an ok place and by the canal so you can walk to the pub on the other bank.

On 19th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3434 recommendations about 3345 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Penny Street Bridge

This large and impressive hotel used to be split into two, the White Cross on the Aldcliffe Road side and the Farmers Arms on Penny Street when I lived in Lancaster. The Farmers did a roaring trade, and not just in traditional pub fare. The bar for that pub is now part of the residential area of the hotel, and the present bar is on the corner. It's a Thwaites pub, with a selection of four of five or their beers at the time of my visit. I was hoping for the Nutty Black mild, but ended up with a seasonal special, Yule Love It, which was as bland as they come. It's very smart here now, but a little lacking in personality. I had a little nostalgic hankering for the old days of the Farmers Arms, with the innumerable Newcastle Brown labels stuck to the window panes. Those were the days!

Date of visit: 13th December 2014

On 13th February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Penny Street Bridge

The interior of this large Thwaites outlet was traditional and hosted a lot of period features, from the original cornice work, down to the eclectic feature and parquet floor. Other features I noticed was some stained glass windows and a period fireplace with eight old wall clocks on the chimney breast.
The bar had a granite counter and a painted timber front. There were six handpumps, I went for the Lancaster Amber ale. The food menu looked very tempting and prices were good, disappointed we didn't dine there on this visit.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Penny Street Bridge

Has now changed it's name to the Penny Street Bridge.

On 30th November 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2107 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Penny Street Bridge

Posh new showcase bar for Thwaites. Looks very nice inside, they’ve done a good job on the refurb and I can imagine this place getting popular pretty soon. Had the usual Thwaites range plus a couple of welcome seasonals over Christmas (Elma Pound and Wainwright). Sadly the beer quality was pretty variable...hope they sort that out soon as I liked drinking in here. I'll try and again and hope for better.

On 3rd January 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]