User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Strawberry Gardens, Fleetwood

Poulton Road
Fleetwood
FY7 6TF
Phone: 01253771991

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Colin Walker left this review about Strawberry Gardens

The Strawberry Gardens is cask marque accredited pub with a bistro. They also sell continental & world beers. The bistro used to be run by the comedian Syd Little & his wife, but they have moved over to The Steamer on Queens Terrace. The pub is a venue for the Annual Folk and Blues festival in September and holds a beer festival every year. The bar is open Fri - Sat: 11am – midnight, Sun - Thurs: 11am - 11pm. Meals are available Mon 5pm to 8pm, Tues-Thurs 12pm to 8pm, Fri-Sat 12pm to 9pm & Sun 12pm to 6pm. Entertainment is provided by having on Monday – Dominoes, Tuesday – Pool, Wednesday: Quiz Night which starts at 9pm, Thursday - Darts and Dominoes, Friday – Darts and for use at any time a pool table. There is parking at the rear & side of the building.

On 14th August 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 711 recommendations about 706 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Large 2 bar pub.Cheap signage to outside.Loads of cask beers but the two I tried were in poor condition.Good keg selection for lager drinkers.Bottled beers in fridge.Lively with a pool team comp on our visit.Outside seating to front and rear.Friendly locals.Dozy barmaid.

On 22nd July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Another visit to sample the great ales along with a 50p per pint CAMRA discount. We both had a mixed grill this time which was excellent value and well cooked. It was very busy in late afternoon, so we may even have to book next time. A pub that just keeps getting better.

06/03/2013
Called in again after the beer festival. A good range of beers on the bar again and CAMRA discount given. The food operation has been take over by Syd Little & his wife. We both had mixed grills which were well cooked and good value for £9.50 each and were served by Syd himself with a smile and a "joke". It's still getting better is this pub, we'll be back again.

07/03/2012
Good looking pub on the edge of Fleetwood town centre. It's been taken over by Fuzzy Dick brewery fairly recently and looks to have been given a bit of a spruce up. There are two rooms, the tap room on the right and a large lounge and dining area to the left. The lounge is on two levels with lots of decent comfy seating and to the far left is another area set up with dining table and chairs. It was reasonably busy when we arrived with a few people in the lounge, but rather more in the tap room. By the time we left there were another 10 or so people eating in the lounge as well. A couple of Fuzzy Duck beers on the bar plus a whole range of guests. I think there were 10 beers on in total when we visited plus at least one real cider. The prices are reasonable and there's a 50p per pint discount for CAMRA members. We decided to eat here and my mixed grill was good value and the other half had pie, chips & peas which she said was fine as well. It's a good pub and is a very welcome addition to the beer scene in Fleetwood. We'll be calling in next year after the beer festival as well I expect.

On 25th March 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Easily reached from Fisherman's Walk tram stop and a short walk from the town centre, this is a large, two bar pub and restaurant with an emphasis on good ale. You enter into a lobby area with doors on either side, leading left into the lounge bar and restaurant, or right into the public bar. Taking the right hand door you emerge into a raised carpeted seating area filled with half a dozen tables and some standard chairs. The walls are wallpapered and there are some nice old pictures decorating the walls. A couple of steps lead you down, past a darts area, to the bar area - a narrow space with the servery running down the left hand side and a good deal of Fleetwood Town FC memorabilia on the walls. The room opens out again past the bar where some more seating is available around an area dominated by a pool table. The theme back here seems to be the local lifeboat service and I noticed at least two customers wearing lifeboat polo shirts, so the pub clearly has some link to the service. A TV was also showing coverage of a darts tournament.
Over on the other side of the pub, reached via the front porch or a passageway at the rear, a smart carpeted bar area with the servery on the right side, offers a comfortable alternative to the more basic public bar side. The room has dark, half panelled walls, lots of stained glasswork and more old pictures on the walls. At the front, there is a partitioned snug type area with comfy seating and a fireplace, screened off from the rest of the room by dark wood walls. The servery is also in dark wood, running with an unusual kink in it and fitted with some nice brass features. Beyond the bar there is a compact area with some sofas under a collection of tankards and glasses whilst to the left there is a raised seating space with banquettes and some old paintings, although as I was leaving, the area was being cleared for some live music. Directly opposite the bar, there are a couple of formally set dining tables which flank the entrance to the actual dining room, which runs down the left side of the pub. I stopped here for a bite to eat and enjoyed the gammon, egg and chips from the reasonably priced menu. As ROB mentions, the restaurant manager is Syd Little, which came as something of a surprise. He seemed to have a good rapport with his customers and the waitress who served me was very pleasant as well.
Ales are split between the two bars and I found it a bit tricky establishing exactly what was available, but I noted Blackedge The One Citra, Revisionist Dark IPA, Thwaites Nutty Black and Game Line, Cumberland Corby Blonde, First Chop AVA and DOC, Banks Sunburst and Bitter, Cross Bay Zenith and one other whose clip I couldn't decipher. Jennings Sneck Lifter had seemingly just gone off and two handpulls were dispensing some potent real ciders. The Citra was a cracking pint and having decided to stay for another I opted for the AVA which was also in good shape, if not entirely to my taste.
This is a cracking pub, offering a bit of something for everyone and therefore having a nice mixed crowd in on my Saturday evening visit. The food and drink was top notch and the atmosphere was jovial and relaxed. I would say this is a must visit pub when in Fleetwood and well worth making the tram journey to if staying in Blackpool.

On 23rd March 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Lovely Pub with Fuzzy Duck beers and the food menu good so we enjoyed a meal with our beers. Sid Little served us our meals and had a chat. They should do well here. The beers were great too, and we had them from Nethergate, Fuzzy Duck, Wychwood and Moorhouses.

On 5th March 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Scott left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Things just got even better at the Strawberry, Syd Little of "Little & Large" fame and his lovely wife Sheree, have taken over the Dining Room and kitchen! They have made some changes to the menu (it's got even better!) and from what I can see attracted some new customers! Syd is on hand most of the time to chat to everyone as well,(his jokes don't get any better though!)I suggest giving it a try, you won't be disappointed, I wasn't.

On 6th August 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Scott left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Going from strength to strength! Plenty of choice in the 12 handpumps, including Banks Sunbeam, Moorhouses Black Panther,Jennings Cocky Blonde.Food selection getting bigger, now a range of (very tasty!) curries, plus Chefs specials board. Cider range has increased to include a range of Gwynt-y-Draig cask and Strawberry Gardens dry and medium sweet keg ciders.Just been voted "2012 Cider Pub of the Year" by Blackpool and Fylde CAMRA branch. All staff are very friendly and welcoming, and offer a "try before you buy" service on the cask ales and ciders.Now home of Fleetwood Folk Club every Thursday evening, plus live entertainment every Saturday night and selected Fridays.

On 10th July 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Called in this Fuzzy Duck pub while in Fleetwood for the beer festival and there were a lot of real ales available with some handpulls in each of the 2 rooms and clips of all beers displayed in both rooms to help you make your choice. Wychwood, Boggart, Hydes, Roosters, Bank Top, Bass, Oakham and 3 of their own Fuzzy Duck beers available, so it is certainly a mecca in the town for real ale drinkers. We also enjoyed the reasonably priced food too. The only thing I couldn't understand was why the place was empty. We were there about 1pm for quite some time, and were the only ones there in the large room we were in. One or two came into the other bar. Staff friendly enough and nothing wrong with any of the beers we selected either.

On 17th February 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BEN UNSWORTH left this review about Strawberry Gardens

Since my last review i have visited quite a few times and can say that the pub seems to be going strong, and has many ex Wetherspoons customers. The pub is getting beers from different areas and giving their coustomers a good choice of cask beers at very good prices and there is a discount for CAMRA members.Top marks to the management and staff who are fast making this pub the place to be in Fleetwood.

On 14th August 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 69 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BEN UNSWORTH left this review about Strawberry Gardens

This pub has reopened once again as it has been leased by the owners of the Fussy Duck Brewery from Poulton Le Fylde.The pub is being refurbished as it is trading selling their own brews plus brews from other mirco breweries where they can do an exchange.The owners have big plans for the pub hoping in time to move the brewery to the pub.The pub is bright and clean and the beer i had was in good condition and at a very reasonal price.Lets hope that the new team can make the pub a winner.

On 19th May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 69 pubs]

Page: 1 2