User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Volunteer Riflemans Arms, Bath Central, Bath

3 New Bond Street Place
Bath
BA1 1BH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

A tiny pub tucked down one of Bath’s picturesque side streets but only a stone’s throw from the main shopping area, it’s a traditional, single room pub with a few outside tables in the pedestrianized alleyway at the front.

Décor wise it’s perhaps a little down at heel, but certainly nothing that a lick of paint and a new carpet wouldn’t put right. There is red painted wood panelling on the lower part of the walls with cream plasterwork above and wooden pews around the perimeter. The walls are liberally adorned with military posters and photographs, as well as a few brewery mirrors and a couple of Bath rugby shirts. A plasma was up above the door, but this was not in use on our visit and there were some plastic pot plants on the tables. Food is offered only between 12:00 – 4:00pm.

Beers on a recent visit were Butcombe, London Pride and the local Bellringer whilst a fourth pump appeared to have run out. Ciders were well represented with Blackthorn, Ashton Press, Black Rat and Moles West Country Gold.

On 18th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1740 recommendations about 1676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

This is a small, narrow fronted pub down a small passageway in the centre of town. In the main bar area downstairs there are a few settles and some standard tables and chairs; the walls to dado level are painted crimson; and the walls are covered with aviation themed and mainly WWII prints and memorabilia. There are a few homely touches like plants on the tables and magazines available for customers to read. There’s a dining room upstairs, although I didn’t have cause to visit it, and one or two benches outside at the front.

There were three ales on – Bass; Abbey Bellringer; and Mole’s Jailer’s Daughter. I didn’t see a menu, but I suspect we were in there too late in the afternoon for lunch. This is a nice enough little pub. It’s certainly not a destination venue, but worth dropping in for a swift one if you happen to spot it down the alleyway.

On 30th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

Compact side-street pub with an upstairs dining room (not visited) plus a couple of patio tables on the front pavement. Traditional furniture and decor (mostly with a military theme). Customers appeared to be split about 50:50 between regulars on the bar stools and visitors at the tables (although most of these seemed to be on a return visit, given the banter going on). Four beers on handpump - TT Landlord, Butcombe Bitter, St Austell HSD and the 'house' Best Bitter (which may be made by Moles, £3.30). Overall, looks an inviting place when you walk past, and certainly worth popping in.

On 1st February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

Good small back-street pub with a military theme, friendly staff and well kept ales. Good place for a break in the middle of the morning shopping session (if you can get away with it!). Above average.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

This traditional small single room pub is tucked away in a side street in the centre of town.

As the name suggests, there are plenty of military themes throughout the pub by way of pictures, cigarette cards and posters all mixed in with sporting memorabilia and signed sports shirts (this is apparently a Bath rugby stronghold). There are also Theatre posters down the stairs to the loos.

It was pretty quiet for our early evening visit with just a few fairly young locals congregating around the bar who were quite chatty and, whilst not unfriendly, I did feel a hint of feeling like I was invading their territory.

The pub was pretty good for ales although I only noted Exmoor Gold and Cotswold Spring Honey Bear however this wa our penultimate stop after a lengthy day so notes and memories are a bit faded but I wouldn’t have any problems in popping back on a future visit to fill in the blanks.

On 9th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

A lucky dip pub that surprised us by sporting four interesting ales. However my first choice was bad but it was replaced without fuss for an Exmoor Gold, the condition of which was fair. Atmosphere was very local with one or two earthy characters in attendance. Not necessarily one I’d rush back to but it was OK in context.

On 6th February 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

Hidden away down a narrow alleyway in the centre of the city is The Volunteer Rifleman’s Arms, a smallish traditionally furnished L shaped bar that features a lot of RAF memorabilia.
On my recent early evening visit, the pub was virtually empty and a French gentleman, who appeared to be the landlord / tenant was engaged in a full and frank discussion with one of his bar staff. Whilst their difference of opinion never really threatened to turn ugly, it did, unfortunately, dominate the pub and lead the overall atmosphere. I didn’t feel inclined to linger too long and, after downing a good pint of Butcombe, I was on my way. I seem to recall there were 3 other beers on – details not recorded.
I do hope there’s a more convivial atmosphere if you decide to call in.

On 26th November 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

One to rival The Couer de Lion in the smallest pub in Bath stakes. A friendly welcome from the jovial landlord who was exchanging constant banter with the customers. As the pub name suggests, a bit of a military theme, collections of army and tank cigarette cards, fighter aircraft pictures etc. Poppies sold on the bar. Plenty of Bath Rugby stuff too including a framed signed shirt. I noticed an England signed shirt too.
A carpeted room, just four tables with bench seats and small stools plus a few occupied bar stools although the customers moved aside to allow a view of the beer pumps. Weymouth Durdle Door, Cotleigh Golden Seahawk, Poppy Otter and the rebadged Volunteer Rifleman's Arms Pantie Dropper (something from Bath Ales I believe). Very enjoyable.

On 18th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

There is a selection of beers, not that good when we visited.

On 27th January 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Volunteer Riflemans Arms

Another of Bath's small pubs, this one has some outside seating and an upstairs bistro. There's a military theme to the décor and a large Abbey Ales mirror that dominates one wall. Some small pubs can be a bit intimidating for a stranger walking in but we were welcomed in this one and space was made for us at the bar. Good selection of ales which were supplemented by the Bee Sting real cider, one of two or three they serve I think.

On 8th October 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2