User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon), Blackburn Town, Blackburn

15-19 Darwen Street
Blackburn
BB2 2BH
Phone: 01254676400

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a pretty big Spoons, in the old style with the dark blue and gold signage and lots of dark varnished wood inside. Three banks of hand pumps at the bar. Two of the banks have six pumps and these are at each end of the bar. In the centre is a bank of three, offering the usual Spoons trio.

The right hand bank had the Spoons trio duplicated, plus Deuchars IPA, Polar Eclipse by Beartown and DB Point Blanc. The left hand bank has two ciders (one was a Thatchers 6%, the other a Rhubarb one) and four guest ales not duplicated from the other banks.

Full of a mix of drinkers and diners at around 11am today (Friday). I was surprised how full it was really. I've been in the afternoon before now and it has been quieter!

Fairly nice old building in itself, possibly a bit tired on the inside, but good to see a decent real ale selection. My Polar Eclipse was a rather pleasant stout and only set me back £1.95 or £1.99.

On 29th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon)

As noted below this JDW is based in what must be the largest Post Office building I've ever seen. It's a very wide room with some alcoves along the front windows and raised areas to the far right and left. The fixtures and fittings are fairly typical. Most of the trade on my Tuesday afternoon visit seemed to be drinkers.
The bar has two sets of six hand pumps and one of three, the three being wasted with the JDW Trio Of Doom duplicating the appearance on the other two sets. The remaining nine had two unused, two available soon, Settle Mainline Bitter, Beartown Bear Faced & Peach Melbear, Oakham JHB and Coach House Gunpowder Mild. I went for the Mainline Bitter and the Peach Melbear which were both £1.95 and there aren't that many Spoons around now with a standard guest price less than £2.00. Both were in good nick although the Peach one tasted predominately of tinned peaches.
Considering the fifteen hand pumps the beer choice was only average but other than that it seemed OK.

On 9th August 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon)

By far the best pub,real ale wise, in Blackburn town centre. Actually its probably the best pub. A large pub as described below and the best bet in Blackburn town centre to be honest.

On 18th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon)

This Wetherspoons pub is located in a huge building in the shadow of the cathedral, which, as the name suggests, used to be the city’s former general post office. The interior is incredibly large, and consequently feels pretty empty, even when there are quite a few people in. Essentially a single room set up, the mid section of the wide, rectangular room has the servery running along the back wall (one of the longest bar counters I’ve ever encountered), with a large vertical drinking space in front of it. Beyond is a row of high tables and stools whilst on the front wall there are a series of simple, padded booths which were quite nice to settle in. The right hand side of the room has a raised platform with mainly standard table and chair arrangements, whilst the left side was a bit of a confused space with various pillars, walls and staircases breaking up the area which has more seating throughout, although ongoing decoration work meant much of this space was off limits on my visit. The vast array of seating options means you should be able to get your preferred choice of seat and I was able to bag a booth on both of my visits. There were TV screens throughout which were showing muted Champions League football on my Tuesday evening visit, and rolling news coverage when I visited for breakfast on a Thursday morning. I found the whole pub rather bland, with very little of interest, despite the promise of a grand interior hinted at by the impressive façade.
There are thirteen hand pumps which are spread the length of the bar, requiring a good bit of walking to take them all in. I counted eight guest ales, four ‘Spoon’s regulars and a real cider on my first visit, which is a pretty good ratio to my mind. Across both visits I sampled Acorn Barnsley Bitter, Robinsons Hoptimum Prime and Nine Standards Double Standard Porter, all of which were in good shape. The service varied a fair bit, ranging from very friendly to surly depending on which barmaid was serving.
I thought this was a fairly sloppy ‘Spoons which in any other town wouldn’t really be worth giving second thought to. However, in the ale oasis of Blackburn, this remains an essential pub and easily the best bet for a good pint in the city centre.

On 22nd April 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2423 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Postal Order (JD Wetherspoon)

Huge post office conversion in a prominent position, with multiple seating areas in and around the main bar. I counted 15 handpumps in total, with 12 for real ale (e.g. Double Maxim priced at £1.99) and three more dispensing cider, so plenty of choice.

On 26th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


William Purnell left this review about The Postal Order

The correct name of this pub is 'The Postal Order' - no Pub at the end
[edit: actioned 19/10/09]

On 19th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 218 recommendations about 205 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Michael Boyes left this review about Postal Order Pub

The real ale on offer for the last few months has been on top form. Very busy on Friday and Saturday nights also the curry club on Thursday's is very popular. The pub itself is a little worn and thread bare but don't let this put you off as the beer choice is very good, but service can be hit and miss. A full Wetherspoon's menu is served all day including breakfast.

On 21st September 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 55 recommendations about 55 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Richard Sharman left this review about Postal Order Pub

Typical Wetherspoons pub, but well overdue for a complete refurbishment. However the beer and food are good value. If you are looking for a decent pint of real ale in Blackburn town centre this is your best bet.

On 6th September 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 43 recommendations about 43 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Postal Order

This old post office has been converted in typical Wetherspoonesque fashion to a busy town centre pub,which is popular for it's beer range and good value food.It does have the occasional beer festival,and is normally a meeting point for the start of the weekend pub crawls. NB It is quite a hike to the toilets.

On 18th September 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2108 recommendations about 2072 pubs]