User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Greyfriar, Reading

53 Greyfriars Road
Reading
RG1 1PA
Phone: 01189580560

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Greyfriar

Modern light pine fix, a few real ales, quite trendy in beardy kind of way

On 2nd November 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


john gray left this review about The Greyfriar

Quiet pub on a Sunday night..Seven cask beers on.My Binghams -vanilla stout was decent.

On 7th December 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Greyfriar

Another high quality real ale oasis in Reading. They are quite blessed with boozers.

Enthusiastic staff, unusual beers perfectly kept and high quality music at just the right level.

Probably the best Central pub in Reading.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2yuLhXK

On 6th October 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Greyfriar

You can't miss the Greyfriar - it's grey and next to the station.
Inside is modern and open plan with tellies showing the news and a very long and well staffed bar.
The beer selection was good on our visit and comprised Hogs Back HBB, Red Squirrel Hopfest Pale Ale, Pheasantry Lincoln Tank Ale, Binghams Williamette, Weard Beird Five O'Clock Shadow and Mauldons Black Adder. Some interesting beers there they're not afraid to go up the strength scale. Everything tried went down well but we did only stay for one.
The beer selection would make it one of the first I'd head to in Reading.

On 4th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Greyfriar

Seems to have come through its sticky period all guns blazing - the ale is consistently excellent now, with some casks that you wouldn't see elsewhere in town. Does suffer a little from its location - rammed directly after work and quite often quiet in the later evening, though local developments nearby might well see this even out a bit more. Keep up the good work...

August 2015
Swings and roundabouts here - some days the ale is A+, other days it is barely a C-. Cellar issues?

June 2014
So things have gone a bit funny here. The lass (Ashleigh) who was doing such a good job in the cellar has gone (to the Sultan in Wimbledon) and quality has dropped off somewhat. Hmm.

March 2014
Newly-opened craft beer outlet, run by a licensee who has credibility in the local area (ex Nags Head, Rose & Thistle). Six ales with a heavy local slant and some choice brewers (WEBREW, Siren Craft, Bingams, Two cocks SVB). Local real cider available (Tutts Clump) as well as some interesting premium keg (Siren Craft Limoncello on Thursday gone). 20% discount on pints for card-carrying CAMRA members (until the end of April 7th). Décor is London-esque, a bit minimalist for some tastes but there is still internal works ongoing so may get a little cosier in due course. Antipasti dishes planned for the evening crowd once the kitchen is up and running in a few weeks. Papers available. Well-worth getting off the train for, only a few minutes walk down Garrard Street whilst Station Hill is closed. In current climes, a gentle Alehouse-Greyfrair-Nags ale crawl can be done in less than two hours, with plenty of other options available inbetween.

As the Malthouse, closed 2011
Used to be an old man pub called Tudor Arms (GBG 1982 entry). Then got a makeover into a gay boozer, with a thudding late disco on Friday and Saturday nights. Now being seemingly converted into flats.

On 16th July 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Greyfriar

I was impressed by this ale house and it's proximity to the station mean it would be a good place to start and /or finish a crawl around Readings real ale pubs.It's open plan with the bar running down one wall,with 6 handpumps offering a mix of mainly local micro brewery output.My Binghams Williamette Extra Pale Ale was on song,and my colleagues also reported good quality pints.We were on a crawl ,so didn't hang about ,but I would certainly return and it should feature on any crawl around town.

On 15th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Greyfriar

I was in here yesterday and noticed a 20% discount for CAMRA Members,this was hand written and pinned up behind the bar,(which I cleverly failed to see until after my purchase),there was a North Hants CAMRA group doing a tour yesterday so this is maybe a one off.Beer selection was OK and my Anarchy Smoke Bomb 3.9% was particularly good.
FEB 2014
This looks like being a very good addition to the Reading pub scene,decoration works are still ongoing inside so a slight smell of paint still hung in the air,it is a single room pub with plenty of seating available about the room, or if you prefer stools at the bar which stretches along the rear wall.A good selection of ale was available from the 6 hand pumps,on my visit these were, Growler Hound Dog,Siren Craft Undercurrent ,Windsor& Eton Windsor Knot, Windsor & Eton Conquerer, Darkstar Revelation and Binghams Coffee Stout. There are 6 taps for various craft/lager offerings ,I didn't make a note of these but I did notice one of the taps was dispensing Delirium Tremens ,something you don't see every day.I liked it here and it should be a fixture in an future Reading crawls, as Arnie once said,
"I'll be back".

On 12th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tony Watt left this review about The Greyfriar

@Quinno _. Quality hasn't not dropped off what so ever. Made a trip down from london and was very surprised just how good the greyfriar is. I was there when the 'lass' managed the pub and i must say if anything the pub has improved. the staff are extremely friendly and the selection was great (even for london standards). its such a shame when people like yourselves put silly reviews up when i can imagine you've only been once or twice? camera discount is still on too.

On 1st September 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Greyfriar

23-year-old landlady-in-waiting, Ashleigh Harris has been busy getting ready for the grand opening, which it is hoped will take place later this month.

On 6th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]